We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first visit and for just one night en route northwards. A really nice room, although having looked at the website we had elected to pay a small premium for a superior room (Room 14). The hotel, which is undergoing an extended period of renovation has a homely feel to it and we would certainly stay there again on a one or two nights basis. Food was good and fairly priced but is served in the lounge bar rather than a separate dining room. Staff very friendly and proprietor, Jenny Henderson, is very "hands on" when there. We needed an early breakfast because of a commitment elsewhere and this was readily provided.
Splendid sea views from the hotel and our own room. No problems worth mentioning. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 249 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is rapidly excelling itself, especially the restaurant! We've been visiting Cromarty and the Royal Hotel for years and the restaurant just gets better and better.
Stunning Sunday lunch with locally sourced meat and seafood is well worth a visit from afar, as are the views, lovely staff providing a warm welcome, plenty of space and open fire when you need it. Perfect for a very special break whatever time of year. Spotlessly clean and comfortable, and always happily accommodating extra little requests which makes visits with children (who love the beach outside) particularly relaxing.
Cromarty has everything to offer as a visitor, whether visiting alone, or as a family or in a group, and locals are always friendly!
Exciting things are happening here, so watch this space and don't miss out!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caswells53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stopped here for an evening meal on our way around the Black Isle. The landlady made us most welcome from the moment we stepped in the door and was really friendly throughout. Half our party ordered starters and half didn't. This wasn't a problem. Those who had starters really enjoyed the high quality food served by a friendly member of staff. They were super big portions. The mains all came at the same time, 3 off the extensive specials boards and one off the standard menu. They were all fantastic, of excellent quality, good presentation, and clearly all using high quality ingredients. I even got a prize (a lollipop) for the cleanest plate the landlady had ever seen - well, it was the best risotto I've had this side of Millan!

We shared some of the puddings (again massive portions) and even though it was quite late and we were the only ones left in the restaurant the puddings were up to the same high standard as the other courses.

Also a good wine list and the beer comes recommended too.

There is a good selection of interesting photos around the walls and some interesting old maps which we enjoyed looking at whilst listening to others in the bar having a good time before hitting the road again.

All in all a lovely place with great landlady and staff who made our evening very enjoyable. I am sure we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel and we were very impressed by the warmth of the welcome and our newly refurbished room. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom. The hotel is gradually being refurbished, but has not lost it's character. Real fires in the lounge and restaurant gave a lovely atmosphere. Local real ale is available in the bar. The food was excellent and although there was only one vegetarian option on the menu other options were offered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reirreug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate twice at the Royal Hotel restaurant this Easter (2013). The first time my experience was excellent. A staff member cleaned the table, chairs and floor before I sat as a "messy" family had sat there before me! The food (sweet and sour chicken) was tasty and a big portion. Well priced too. The owner was friendly, smiley and chatty.
The second time I went with my husband and we had a similar experience with the owner and the generous portions. However, this time our table and seats weren't clean (and we were there before the kitchen opened for dinner, so it was left dirty after lunch). Also, since we arrived early for dinner, I ordered a hot chocolate that they wouldn't make as "the kitchen was closed". They offered tea or coffee instead but I don't drink either (apart from peppermint tea but they didn't have any either).
Overall, very good but not excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EPoliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cracking location - right on the beach with amazing views across the Cromarty Firth and the food is fresh, local and in season - can't get better than that! I've stayed lots of times and its nice to always receive a warm welcome from the locals as well as the owner, Jenny Henderson. She has done a great job at renovating the hotel along with running the local tearoom, The Pantry - its well worth a visit for an afternoon tea & scone...delish!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatrionaM214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Turned up without booking on Easter Sunday, glad we did, had an excellent meal , fresh haddock, chips & salad. Sat in the conservatory on a glorious sunny day with great views .couldnt beat it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyjmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
420 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#2 of 4 in Cromarty
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range: $147 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing