We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got together to celebrate a friend's surprise ruby wedding party at the hotel and have to commend the hotel on the beautiful food which was served piping hot and very generous portions ...all empty plates at end I may add!!! Also the impressive way the waitresses served all our tables simultaneously so we all had our food together. We then moved to the lounge with lovely log fire burning and it was very homely. All the staff were so pleasant. We will come back to eat here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Balnabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Cromarty
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 244 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for a pre Christmas break with my son. We stayed in a large well maintained room over looking the sea and the fishing harbour.

This is a tiny resort - pretty and old fashioned - everyone was really friendly both ion the hotel and village.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas. We loved having a drink after dinner in the lounge with the fire lit. We had dinner & lunch in the bar - good food and ample portions. I thought the prices were reasonable for everything.

We met the owner who went out of her way to make us welcome. We happened to be the only guests in the hotel but this did not affect the atmosphere.

Breakfasts were huge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My 1st visit here for only 1 night but hope to get back.
Had a lovely room overlooking the beach, very quiet and peaceful. Hairdrier didn't work in the morning but got another one no problem.
Dinner was super, large portions and the food all locally sourced, had the fish and chips, excellent.
Breakfast was also superb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asset2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Every time we go in here there seem to be some new choices on the menus and the food seems to be getting better and better. The food was tasty and fresh and the portion sizes were as generous as ever. Very enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our second time here this year, this time for a break with friends. For me the food here is just outstanding and all locally sourced. The owner's family farm provide the steaks and meat (from beef reared 5 miles away), the fish is fresh and local, black pudding from Dingwall,... the list goes on of what is sourced within a one hour radius of this hotel. We had great food, great service, a lovely room and we sat next to a roaring log fire the day after a late night in the bar and just relaxed. Bliss. Cromarty too is a lovely place to explore. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here along with several friends, this September for our wedding. The staff and manager were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was superb (huge portions but extremely tasty). The rooms were very clean and modern, recently refurbished. Everyone there really made our holiday unforgettable.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room for a great 'sea view'
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are sitting by a roaring fire in the lounge relaxing after a lovely evening meal of beef bourgignon for hubby and langoustines for me. A lovely room with a fantastic view(1a) and the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. We had to cancel at 24 hours notice in April and rebook for October and Jenny took this all in her stride , no charges for cancellation , and a warm welcome when we finally made it.
We also would recommend The Pantry which is part of their empire, delicious scones and cakes for a snack!
Would heartily recommend this as a lovely relaxing place to stay
The Fernies

Room Tip: Room 1a has a fabulous view and a very comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
381 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
896 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
9.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
212 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#3 of 35 in Inverness
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range: $128 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing