We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
138
66
28
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
66
28
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge barthe ownersteakcullen skinkblack islefishhappy chappyboth nightsoil rignice roomstunning viewsmany yearsopen firelocal seafooddining roomspecials boardself catering accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 257 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Every time we go in here there seem to be some new choices on the menus and the food seems to be getting better and better. The food was tasty and fresh and the portion sizes were as generous as ever. Very enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our second time here this year, this time for a break with friends. For me the food here is just outstanding and all locally sourced. The owner's family farm provide the steaks and meat (from beef reared 5 miles away), the fish is fresh and local, black pudding from Dingwall,... the list goes on of what is sourced within a one hour radius of this hotel. We had great food, great service, a lovely room and we sat next to a roaring log fire the day after a late night in the bar and just relaxed. Bliss. Cromarty too is a lovely place to explore. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here along with several friends, this September for our wedding. The staff and manager were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was superb (huge portions but extremely tasty). The rooms were very clean and modern, recently refurbished. Everyone there really made our holiday unforgettable.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room for a great 'sea view'
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are sitting by a roaring fire in the lounge relaxing after a lovely evening meal of beef bourgignon for hubby and langoustines for me. A lovely room with a fantastic view(1a) and the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. We had to cancel at 24 hours notice in April and rebook for October and Jenny took this all in her stride , no charges for cancellation , and a warm welcome when we finally made it.
We also would recommend The Pantry which is part of their empire, delicious scones and cakes for a snack!
Would heartily recommend this as a lovely relaxing place to stay
The Fernies

Room Tip: Room 1a has a fabulous view and a very comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had an excellent room overlooking the Firth , which gave great views at sundown. We didn't eat in the restaurant , however the menu looked good and there was a good mix of locals eating there. The bar has a great atmosphere and popular with the locals too. Real ale on tap from the local brewery

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews