We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit this hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“visit this hotel!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel catered for our daughter,s wedding ,Fantastic place!.Locally owned Staff attentive, polite and friendly, cannot recommend highly enough.
Our every need catered for and more.
Food fresh home cooked and well presented and a great plateful.
Could not have been better- made our day completely perfect . The setting by the shore of the cromarty firth is beautiful and would make a great base to explore the whole of the black isle and surrounding area. Don't pass by call in and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
59
94
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Myself, husband and baby stayed here for 3 nights from Monday through to Thursday. From the moment we arrived we were treated as extra special guests. All staff have a friendly manner and are always willing to help. Our room (1a) had brilliant views over the Cromarty firth and was a great size especially as we had the travel cot for the wee one. There was still ample room!
The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner and there was always a huge selection to choose from.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a Saturday & Sunday night at The Royal Hotel. The view from the front of the Hotel across The Cromarty Firth is lovely. The rooms are nice and clean and have all facilities you would expect.

The staff are also extremely friendly and helpful.

The one negative aspect is the dining arrangement (hence only 'very good' rather than 'excellent' rating). The Hotel has a lovely dining room which, for some reason, is only used for breakfasts. Evening meals are served in the Lounge Bar along with people who are just there for a drink. On the Saturday night, despite booking, we were assigned a table crammed right up against the bar in the Lounge Bar which was very busy with diners and drinkers (surely drinkers could have been assigned the table right against the bar ?). The food itself was very good apart from the homemade chips which, that night, were undercooked. We ate there again on the Sunday evening and were given a much better table, still in the lounge bar, but with breathing space and elbow room. On the Sunday night, all the food, chips included, was of excellent standard - a much better 'eating experience'. Using the Dining room for residents' evening meals would alleviate the crowding problem we experienced on the Saturday evening.

I should finish off by saying that the 'overall experience' of staying at the hotel was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you take a room overlooking the firth the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Whilst staying with our friend who lives in the Black Isle went to Cromarty for the day. Decided to go to the Hotel for our lunch. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this hotel for the food and service, cannot comment of room as was not staying there.

Linda & Lorraine
July 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

On the night we stayed we were the only guests, however this did not affect our stay in a bad way at all.

Check in was straight forward and pleasant, due to it being quiet had to go into the bar as instructed at the desk to check in but this was no hassle and the chap was very chatty especially as it was our honeymoon and was wishing us well.

The room was lovely, modern but still reflected the history and age of the building. We had the room with the king bed and double ended bath, I think number 14. Bath was lovely and romantic but did take a while to draw as water pressure is poor in the area as a note on the bathroom wall explained, but this was no problem as we were in no rush.

The food was lovely (booked the dbb rate) and they offered a decent selection of local beers. Breakfast also very good, again the staff were very polite, helpful and chatty. Jenny and her team have a place to be proud of here.

Only slight annoyance was incredibly fluffy towels that covered us in a fluff layer after our bath.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodgeeks42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have just spent two nights at the Royal Hotel and had a very comfortable stay. I was in Room 14, which is very spacious, tastefully decorated, comfy bed and wow, a fab view of the Cromarty Firth. The bathroom has a huge bath, which does take a long time to fill, but worth the wait... I didn't eat at the hotel, however, breakfast couldn't be faulted. There has been a lot of work done on refurbishing the hotel and it shows... would certainly recommend it. Cromarty is a hidden gem of a place and well worth straying off the usual tourist track.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms look over the Cromarty Firth, so have a great view. I was in Room 14, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Myself & partner were staying in Inverness and ventured out to several villages around the area.. and we stubbled upon this stunning village. Its got an incredible friendly atmosphere, the locals say hello to you as you walk past, what character! We happened to pop into the royal hotel for dinner after strolling on the beach and have to say it was the best meal of our trip. Everything was so fresh, the steak was cooked perfectly. We were served by a lady called Janet who was very friendly and helped us chose some wine, whilst our waitress was a young girl, not sure of her name but she was very friendly, always smiling. Great staff, great food, great atmoshpere and what great accents the locals have!! Highly recommended for dining, and if we ever visit the area again this will be our first choice. keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egardiner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
356 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
854 reviews
8.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
770 reviews
8.7 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
305 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Property: Royal Hotel Cromarty
Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing