We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Cromarty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at Sydney House, Cromarty, and could easily have stayed longer. The house is elegant and comfortable, a real family house yet properly adapted for visitors, and the breakfasts were superb. Alasdair was very friendly and on hand to help with anything we needed. They are a Cromarty family born and bred, and Alasdair gave us helpful advice about walks and history and local info. I'd recommend Sydney House to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

The owner went out of his way to welcome us this wonderful B&B. Great big room. Beautiful furniture. Owner very knowledgeable about the area. Loaned us his detailed topographic map for our day of driving around the Black Isle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 466Richard789466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were very well looked after by Alasdair, with delicious breakfasts and immaculate and very comfortable rooms. Alasdair was extremely helpful and gave us lots of information on what to do and where to go. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birthdaygirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in wonderful Cromarty in March 2012. The village itself is really nice and worth a visit.

The Sydney House was recommend by the local Post Office and we are stil happy abou this. Alasdair is a perfect host and you really feel welcome. The house itself is a wonderful old "mansion" that belongs to the Matheson-family for some decades and is perfectly maintained. The room (twin) was really nice and the quality of the beds, furniture and linen was extraordinary.

The breakfast was very nice and had everything we liked: try Alasdair's porridge (old family recipe): delicious!

We can really recommend a stay at this B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a fantastic, professionally run Bed and Breakfast this is! The hospitality is superb. Alasdair gave detailed directions on how to get to Sydney House and was very welcoming when we arrived. Has lots of local information which helped us make the most of our stay. The room was massive and the bed just oh so comfortable - the best we slept during our holiday. We really didn't want to leave. The house is tastefully furnished with antique furniture. Breakfast - superb!
Thank you Alasdair - we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Sydney House for 2 nights. It was a fabulous stay - Georgian Cromarty at it's best.
The room was great,excellent cleanliness & tastefully decorated, also with those little differences which make this B&B so much more. The breakfast was fabulous and if you go for the Scottish cooked you will not go hungry until late in the day. Great atmosphere in the breakfast room not the stuffy atmosphere you can get in some B&B's.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed for one night on the way northwards.

This B&B is easy to find, having a lovely bright red door, and despite being on the main road, it is not bothered by traffic noise - all part of the attraction of this part of the world I guess.

Great communication from the owners certainly helped make it easy for us - they were so helpful even before we in the country, for example, explaining how the local ferry from Cromarty to Nigg worked, which was much appreciated.

Thanks again, Alisdair, for making it all so easy for us..

We had the twin bedded room and it was large, clean and well set uo.

Breakfast was large and delicious.

Parking was on the main road just outside, perfectly easy.

Room Tip: Talk with Alisdair about what you need... he will do right by you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
247 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
389 reviews
8.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
13.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
481 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Bed and Breakfast

Address: High Street, Cromarty IV11 8UZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cromarty
Price Range: $124 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a traditional Georgian House in historic Cromarty and was built in 1849. Sydney House offers warm, comfortable en-suite rooms. All rooms have a comfortable seating area and include tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, Wi-Fi access and digital TV's with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Sydney House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Bed And Breakfast Cromarty, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing