We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the highlight of our tour of Scotland”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the highlight of our tour of Scotland”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

In September we enjoyed a wonderful two weeks touring Scotland with our Yorkshire terrier in "dog friendly" hotels but this hotel was the best. The steak I had for my evening meal was the best I have ever had. I had it again the second night and it was just as good. We often found that dogs were tolerated in some of the hotels we visited but in this one she was actually welcome, The staff were all friendly and the owners were much in attendance and were very welcoming and helpful. The gardens were beautiful and the fairy garden a complete delight. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    82
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
151
419
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Scotland and based ourselves at the Coul House Hotel.
It was absolutely brilliant in every way, as described by other reviewers. It was also an excellent base for drives/touring: - Loch Ness circular, the Black Isle and forays into the Cairngorms. We stopped off at various waterfalls, Castles and Distilleries of course!
Yes, I suppose it was a little expensive, but in this case the phrase 'you get what you pay for' was spot on.
Incidentally, my husband is a keen amateur photographer and managed to take fantastic 'star' shots as the hotel is positioned in one of the best places for astronomy/night photography owing to non existent light pollution.
Inverness is a few very quick miles away and places to eat there include: The Mustard Seed(absolutely must book in advance), Rocpool and the Joy of Taste. Inverness is very pretty in the Old Town and down by the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a fabulous hotel! We loved our stay at Coul House. From the moment we got out of the car to head to reception, the hotel put on a show. The staff--from reception, to waitstaff, to housekeeping, to barstaff--were all extraordinarily helpful, fun and dedicated to us enjoying and relaxing during our stay. The hotel's chef and kitchen staff are to be congratulated--we ate in the restaurant each night of our stay, and the menu was delightful and delicious. All our meals were consistently high standard, and the atmosphere created was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed pre-dinner drinks each night in the drawing room, and post-dinner drinks in front of the huge fireplace in the main reception room each night. The atmosphere created by the gorgeous building and the wonderful staff is absolutely perfect, and our stay was the highlight of our trip to Scotland. If you have a car, the hotel is located in a great spot from which to do day trips around northern Scotland.

Room Tip: If you can, treat yourself to an upgrade. We had a standard double, and while we have no complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrosodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, just visiting it for both an informal bar meal and three course lunch. However, we were particularly impressed by the welcome we received from the owners who state in their brochure that they are `the proud owners` of Cool House. On the evidence of our visits, they are right to be. The atmosphere is `traditional country house` with the most beautiful octagonal dining room; no detail is overlooked. The grounds are very pleasant with some choice plants which I have not found this far north (Sambucus racemosa niger and Actinidia kolomikta) which is a plaudit for the gardener. Lunch was very good. Would love to stay here - they do accommodate well-behaved dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcrone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a lovely,welcoming, comfortable hotel. Set in beautiful old gardens that the family and the gardeners are constantly working on, this country house is their home and you are their welcome guests. Settle in and be spoiled. Have a Prosecco or two at the bar before heading off to the elegant dining room. Try the Oat/Marmalade icecream, absolutely delicious. My husband and I had wonderful relaxing time here and as I said to Susannah on leaving , as many guests did, We don't want to go!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked here for three nights but were only able to be offered a small room (19) which was very nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and view over the car park and grounds. The bathroom, though well equipped was minute, quite the smallest we have ever had! We ate in the elegant dining room each evening and the food was outstanding and well presented. The owner and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly return but would book earlier and request a larger room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Coul House.From the moment we arrived in this charming house, the staff and particularly the proprietors, could not do enough for us.Stuart even helped us plan our daily drives which undoubtedly added to the enjoyment of our break there. The hotel has been well maintained and is very comfortable. It is set in delightful grounds and is well situated for exploring the Highlands and other areas.
Its restaurant serves the most delicious food both for breakfast and dinner.As the menu was excellent, we ate there every night and were never disappointed.
We shall be returning to Coul House on our next visit to Scotland and would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comeonyouspurs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
14.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
760 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
361 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing