We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nom nom...”
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nom nom...”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a lovely place to stop for lunch on a cold November afternoon! The food was a-mazing and there was nothing poor to stay about the excellent service we received. We had no idea what to expect as we stumbled upon this area by chance and would definitely come back here. Cosy, reasonable and very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyshaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    162
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
356
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location! Stayed for a 'honeymoon revisited' night. The rain and cold did nothing to dampen the lovely warmth and hospitality provided by the staff and facilities. The room was really pretty and very comfortable. Although not too spacious, it was cosy and beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We ate by the fire in the evening ('any time you're ready to sit down is fine') even though they were very busy. The food was excellent. We recommend the haggis starter, the haddock and the fish pie-oh and kippers for breakfast. Definitely go back for a relaxing, chilled out and romantic experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I had wanted to visit Applecross for sometime, one of the many reasons being the Applecross inn and it's reputation for fine food and a warm welcome.
We (myself and 8yo daughter) stayed at the Applecross campsite (separate review) and took a walk down to the inn on a very wet Monday evening, the very warm welcome upon arrival into the cosy bar was backed up with excellent attentive service throughout. We had a meal from the board and a children's selection, both very good and reasonably priced, a few beers and an excellent recommended whisky from the extensive selection finished off the experience nicely.
The 'breathtaking' drive over the pass was worth it, an altogether excellent place to visit, not my last I hope.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We always plan several meals here whenever we visit the Applecross area, there is just too much choice, and all of it divine. The seafood is so fresh and tasty, it's a reason to come here to Scotland on its own! Can't wait to be back in November for more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Take the drive as it is worth it. Great little place with a very special feel. The drive in is spectacular and the town is great. Very, very small and very quaint. Food was excellent. Get the seafood as it was superb. Very welcoming, warm, comfortable and cozy. Great place to hike from and of course all the rooms look at the water. Highly recommend taking the ride!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giffnock
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

In October my husband and myself spent a lovely couple of days in Applecross. The Inn itself was lovely...a roaring coal fire was just right for the time of year. Food delicious and staff very friendly and chatty. When i asked what size of wine they served, the manager said there only is one size....and that's large !! Loved it. The bedrooms were small but very clean and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastwood1Giffnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week. The room was warm and tidy, a little on the small side but its an old building. Great bath and hot shower . The rooms have stunning views onto the Loch. A very friendly feeling from all the staff and nothing was too much trouble. Dined here everyday. Looked forward to breakfast every morning after a great sleep, freshly made and great selection. Dinner was the main event every night spending hours looking through the specials board. Really enjoyed my stay here and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
578 reviews
20.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
286 reviews
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
22.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Property: Applecross Inn
Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing