We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Applecross Inn”
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly, helpful people - our credit card wouldn't work which was highly embarrassing. My husband insisted on spending an hour in the bar sorting it out even though we had enough cash to pay. They were extremely calm about it - in inverse proportion to me who wanted to hit him - bringing us an unsolicited tray of coffee. We stayed a night in Applecross in a stone cottage down the road but had all our meals at the inn, half a lobster being the most memorable but the menu was really sophisticated and all meals delicious. We loved it. It was right on the water and a lovely village generally. Would return in a shot. With cash.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummy255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 738 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Jude and her Ist class team have got it pretty much spot on . The welcome is warm and genuine . The food and chefs are particularly good with a great menu to choose from .
Lovely cosy rooms overlooking the water and a wonderful breakfast .
The location is truly wonderful and as previous visits we had wonderful weather which even Jude cant guarantee we just seem to have been lucky .

The coffee is not the best funnily enough ??

Room Tip: they all face the front perhaps Room 1 but its not crucial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogsjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I'd heard so much about this place that I couldn't wait to visit. We went in early October as a present for my boyfriend's birthday. The place is breathtakingly beautiful. The drive there is phenomenal. The food is out of this world and the hospitality so very typically Scottish. This isn't just a place for the bucket list - this is a place to visit over and over. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AislingG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed @ one of the cottages near the pub early September.
Cannot fault the Inn or their staff. Nothing was to much trouble for them.

The food was magical & the service was out of this world, very much looking to return in the future & would recommend the scenery as some of the best you will see in our wonderful country.

I would also recommend the walled garden for a more relaxed meal (the Inn is very busy, I wonder why?)

Our thanks to all staff @ the Inn for making our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: If you are not too keen on traveling over the Belach na ba. try the journey round the headland from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The reputation of this place is fairly widely known, so theres always a risk of disappointment for such well known places. However, although it wasnt quite as good as maybe I'd been led to believe, it was certainly a good pub with some well cooked meals. The emphasis is on seafood (although not quite as many seafood dishes to choose from as I expected) and it is all well cooked. Only let down was the cranachan desert, which certainly didnt resembe a traditional cranachan and was far too sweet

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Applecross Inn must be one of Scotlands best. Worth every mile of the white knuckle climb [ by car ] to get there. Great staff, great location and great food. The perfect trio. The young guys in charge of the bar knew their beers and very knowledgable on whisky. The menu was of an astonishing variety. We had lunch outdoors in the late September , yes, September, sunshine. Langoustines beautifully cooked. Lunch was as a lunch should be - memorable ! The lady who seemed to oversee the establishment kept her finger on a very busy pulse. The Inn ran like a well oiled machine (pardon the pun). Don't take my word for it, just go !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Superb lunch outside in the warm sunshine on the last day of September. Service quick and efficient. We had langoustines and scallops followed by cranachan and coffee. Dog was welcomed too. Have been many times and it has always been very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kelpie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
172 reviews
20.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
22.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
293 reviews
20.0 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing