We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Applecross Inn 8th Feb 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Applecross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Applecross Inn 8th Feb 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here one night with my wife & son (he was visiting from Australia). He had dined in the restaurant before & wanted to dine & stay here. Location & view from bedroom window was amazing. Facilities were very good - owner & staff helpful & friendly. The breakfast was excellent & set us up for the return home. The roaring fire in the bar & Casper the friendly dog come vacuum cleaner were appreciated. The selection of whisky & real ales was unexpected. Food - my son & wife were delighted with the quality & quantity of the prawns & scallops - but I was disappointed with the lack of variety of fish - possibly due to the time of year. This has not put us off & we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmersb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    155
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
102
332
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were four travellers! (And two dogs!) on holiday in Inverness who had heard of the Apple Cross Inn and the Mountain Pass! Not realising that the easiest route to the Inn was being by-passed because of a land slide! We ventured out on a beautiful January day.
Once turning the corner after taking the coastal road to this Inn we were not disappointed! The delightful Caroline 'Chips' and her team looked after us well! Exceedingly well! With the freshest of Crab salads, locally caught garlic doused prawns, Scallops with bacon & Haggis in Drambuie we could want for no more than some were to sleep the many bottles of wine off near the beautiful log fire.
Not wanting to take the Mountain pass back in the dark we decided to take advantage of doing an impulsive thing! By deciding to stay over the rooms at the Apple cross as cosy, clean! Very clean, with lovely views across the magnificent bay, lots of hot water and a comfy bed did just the trick to enjoy Carolines well cooked full Scottish breakfast! Ps dog biscuits were provided, tooth paste too and even fresh knicks! For the girls the following morning Amazing! Caroline had a pack of three that she had never opened!

We bid farewell to this excellent cosy Inn with great memories and promises to return one day! Ps dont let the Mountain pass put you off it is wonderful with views to die for! On a clear day that is!

So here's till next time Apple cross that dreamy bay on that dreamy day

Room Tip: All rooms as far as I am aware are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitramYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

For those who are unfamiliar with the Applecross peninsula and its surrounding landscape I can only suggest that you pack your bags and make haste to one of the most stunning parts of Scotland. If you take the road to Applecross then pack an overnight bag and make a reservation with Judith at the Applecross Inn. Located in the hub of the community the Inn has all the charm and comforts you'll need after a long journey. The food is fantastic and the keeps the inn busy throughout the winter months. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with views over the water. It really doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheadleHulme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at 'the inn' with my wife and friends for one night at the last minute, what can I say, the drive is amazing britains highest road in, the view when you arrive is mind blowing, we were made very welcome and our room was clean and comfy and with a front sea view only a few meters from the beach.. we ate dinner and the food was top drawer, fresh seafood and so fresh and locally sourced they don't even have a menu, you order from a good selection off a blackboard... Topped off with an open fire and a great local company means I will be back ASAP.....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Be sure to book a room as lodging options in the area are limited. The Applecross Inn is worth a booking.
Highlights:
1. Dinner was excellent. Both the halibut and the scallops were wonderful. Generous portions.
2. Owner was lovely, warm and personable. Staff were friendly and very attentive.
3. Rooms were compact and bijou.
4. Great to sleep to the sounds of the sea out the window.
5. Bar had a great Scotch menu and tasting guide
Could use improvement:
1. Really only one main point here, the red wine by the glass list was really disappointing. Especially given the quality of everything else here. It was surprising and could be easily addressed.
2. Tad on the pricey side for a stay and dinner

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe-trotter-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Arrived later than expected, and feeling a bit under the weather to discover that there had been a glitch in the booking and the Inn was full.
However, Judith (the boss) sorted us out with alternative accommodation in a modernised fishermans cottage just a few doors down, which was lovely, stood us a couple of drinks, and shaved a few quid off the bill!
A lovely pub with (apparently!) great food - according to the wife. Sadly my 'bug' or whatever killed my appetite and I could only look longingly at the grub going to other tables.
Staff were very friendly and I hope to get back there one day when my appetite is better!

Judith is a very nice lady.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeMidcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

What can you say. This place is pretty unique really. It is in a stunning location and very remote, yet is often packed. The reason is that it is so good. We have visited a few times over the years and it hasn't changed hands for quite a long time so is consistently excellent. There are people who spend hours travelling specially just to be at this place even if it's for one night. Food excellent, rooms excellent. The location almost unrivalled in the UK and tends to have it's own good weather being sheltered and on the West coast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
13.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Property: Applecross Inn
Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing