We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bolt hole to relax and unwind”
Review of Spindrift

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spindrift
Ranked #2 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect bolt hole to relax and unwind”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I spent 3 nights here and left feeling I'd had a 10 day break. Sue was the perfect hostess, balancing taking care of me with giving me my own space, and couldn't have been more helpful in giving recommendations of places to visit and things to do in the area. I echo the previous comments about the sunsets from the comfort of the coach…they were spectacular. The accommodation is immaculate and tasteful, with small touches that make it feel like home. I'd definitely recommend it - a visit to Spindrift Cottage, and this part of the world, is good for the soul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sue and Andy have made this a lovely place to stay and appreciate the magical nature of Applecross. Lovely room, spotlessly clean and a good breakfast, with a great recommendation for dinner (The Walled garden). Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salopians2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Three nights spent here were wonderful. Sue made us very welcome at this remote spot on the West Coast. Lovely drive there too, interesting roads! Attention to detail and home comforts are all here. The sunsets and the sunrises, viewed from the couch, are all very spectacular. Plenty of space to walk and enjoy the peace and quiet of this area. The room has all you would need, we cooked an evening meal for ourselves. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom facilities are excellent. There are limited pots and pans but you can make do, Sue will help you if need be. Breakfast is very well prepared and presented, home made bread, all you can eat, no need to go hungry here. You really should visit if you like a quite life and appreciate such a wonderful location. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make time to enjoy the evening sunsets, they are well worth it. No road noise here! Don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

After an 'eventful' journey, which included another road user introducing himself to us in an unscheduled manner, we needed peace, quiet and a little corner in which to reassemble ourselves. That's exactly what we got in this wonderful place. Spindrift - and it's owners -are simply wonderful. Sue shows such obvious care and attention in ensuring Spindrift is top notch accommodation, and her breakfasts are simply the best! Thank you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Reviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent two great nights at this beautiful and remote B&B, combining a birthday treat with a road trip to one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland.

Sue was the perfect hostess, friendly and helpful and we were glad of her tip about the sunsets over the islands of Rona and Skye, it was a truly magical moment to see such a beautiful sunset from the comfort of the couch looking out over the floor length windows, facing out over the bay.

The accommodation was very clean and modern and the hearty Scottish breakfast was excellent, with lovely fresh eggs from Sue's own hens.

I would happily recommend Spindrift to any discerning traveller to the Strathcarron area, many thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwaranomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Spindrift a few times before and love the place. We arrived on Boxing Day for a five night stay. Sue is a wonderful host and could not do enough to make our stay memorable. We will be back again!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamingo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful two nights at Spindrift. Sue, our hostess, was delightful making us feel very much at home. The accommodation is situated just off the shore line affording beautiful views across the sea which could be seen from the comfort of our bed or sofa. Aside from the tasteful, clean & quiet room, Sue cooked a breakfast fit for a King! Overall, it was a wonderful two nights and we intend to make our stay an annual event. I can highly highly recommend Spindrift. Thank you, Sue!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenkaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.3 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
13.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
15.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
255 reviews
14.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift

Property: Spindrift
Address: Spindrift Callakille Coast Road | Callakille, Applecross IV54 8XL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury Bed and Breakfast situated in the picturesque Highlands of Scotland with views over the sea to the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spindrift Applecross, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing