We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night under the stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Campsite
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not being regular campers Mrs B and I ventured into the unknown for a night. First and foremost, the road into Applecross is both amazing and a little frightening! The location of the campsite is also pretty special. We booked in and pitched our tent and ventured down to the Applecross Inn (see separate review). We returned and had a couple of (very expensive!) drinks at the site bar. The next morning we both had showers and were. Bit perturbed that for the whole site there are only 2xmale and 2xfemale showers with just 2xadditional showers in the laundry room. That does not appear to be nearly enough for the large site. Would probably go back tho if it wasn't for the usual west of Scotland airborne pests!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Applecross Campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a two night trip for our family, two young kids age 5 and 3 and everything went very well. The pods were lovely, the campsite was beautifully situated and quiet at night. The toilets and showers did get a lot of use as not many for size of site but we never had to queue and they were always clean so I was mystified by other reviews. The cafe was lovely and I think reasonable seeing as is a remote location to supply food. Such a lovely area to explore, and polite staff. Could not have been better

Room Tip: Pods are great, no midges and so easy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The road to get to this campsite is pretty hair raising (single track mainly and winding) but the views are spectacular. In some ways it is pretty remote, however it is literally a five minute walk to the village where you'll find the superlative Applecross Inn as well as a couple of other shops and access to kayaking etc. The site is large and open with fantastic views on one side down to the Loch. It's probably the most peaceful campsite we've ever been to. We originally booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 4. The Flower Tunnel onsite offers good food at reasonable prices and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside is the small number of showers (6 in total I think) which meant there were queues at certain times. Normally this would be enough to turn me off, however the staff, the views, the restaurant and the overall atmosphere mean that we will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spagirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just for one night to recover from the drive to Applecross!! Welcome was friendly and efficient , after choosing our pitch and taking a quick stroll into Applecross we decided to eat in the site restaurant ( poly tunnel!) and even though it was the chefs night off and the menu was limited to pizza it was very good and we returned for breakfast in the morning. The services were all fine although there are limited showers so guess queuing may occur in busier times.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great site but could be better. Only two showers for each gender is not enough. Had a great time and seemed to attract the entire site kids when playing rounders. Great area not to be missed. Trips to the coral beach and to the Applecross Inn are a must.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fourth time staying at the site. We love Applecross. Great to have the poly tunnel on site...great pizza, good wee bar, so close to the Inn, the estate and the beaches. Usually we camp and as other reviewers say, there is a need for more showers and the toilet block is getting tired. We can look past that normally. This time we thought we'd treat ourselves since our good old Scottish weather had let us down before, so we stayed in one of the statics. It cost £595 for 1 week and although home comforts were a treat compared with camping, it was really shabby. Threadbare stained couches, all the bedlinen seemed freshly laundered but very badly stained which is really off putting, floppy thin pillows, carpets & blinds need replacing, the kettle broke after a couple of uses, the toaster was broken (didn't bother using after first couple of times holding the handle down), it smelt of dogs, the balcony was tiny compared to the other statics, the gate broken off and only 2 chairs for a potentially 6 berth caravan (not that you could even fit 4 chairs round the table anyway. Oh and barely a view through the trees. I hate to pick up on so many things, but once we noticed one thing, all the rest become apparent. My parents had stayed in a static further along the row and it was lovely...that was the standard we expected. The owners need to address the quality for that price. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
5  Thank ClioBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Breathtaking views! The road to applecross is an experience in itself. We received a friendly welcome and we were allowed to pick where we wanted to pitch our tent. Disappointed that the play park has been demolished. We ate at the garden tunnel restaurant on the sat night. It's pricey but the meal was lovely and the staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a clean and relaxed site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
602 reviews
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
20.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
389 reviews
24.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
214 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Campsite

Address: Strathcarron | Ross-Shire, Applecross IV54 8ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Applecross
Price Range: $141 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applecross Campsite is situated above the village of Applecross in Ross-Shire in the Highlands of Scotland. The campsite occupies over six acres of open field camping space, offering fantastic views of the Inner Sound looking towards the islands of Raasay, Rhona and the Black Cuillins of Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applecross Campsite Hotel Ross And Cromarty
Applecross Campsite Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing