We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little campsite in a quiet corner of Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Campsite
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed in one of the camping huts which offers great value for money. Sleep four and has heating and power, just take your sleeping bag.

The onsite restaurant and bar is friendly and cosy, good food and good value.

Site is well maintained.

My only criticisim is that they could do with updating the toilet block and also adding another toilet block at the other end of the site.

There is also NO mobile coverage on ANY of the networks, there is wifi in the restaurant, this used to be free but you now have to buy vouchers, which I found a bit mean especially in light of there being no mobile coverage.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

An absolutely lovely location and was the highlight of our tour, unfortunately for us it was the start of our tour and we didn't find another campsite quite like it. I had slightly damaged awning poles from my borrowed caravan and the guys were more than helpful to repair them for me. The atmosphere of the place was really laid back and the restaurant was a delightful surprise and I really regret not trying the pizza (my wife's was amazing!).

The camp site has masses of open grass for ball games, great dog walking and easy mountain biking and the bay has it's own canoeing/mountaineering guide and equipment/instructor.

I feel loathed to write a good review incase all you lot turn up next time I'm there and crowd out the place!!!! But it really is worth going to! And half the price of a 'caravan club' place we went to which was rubbish.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaladinBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Found the flower tunnel cafe after my partner drove the Bealach na ba and was more than pleasantly surprised. The tunnel was a poly tunnel filled with exotic flowers, fantastic food, not too pricey and a lovely atmosphere. Can recommend the burgers!! This was recommended to us by my partners colleague and we would have no trouble in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xPrincessxSparklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Dinner at the Flower Polytunnel was expensive, the chips looked as if they'd been fried to death - they were translucent !!

The staff were very pleasant but incredibly busy.
The shower block and lack of facilities was a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Have read the other two reviews and cannot comment on the showers as we were in a caravan. We also can't comment on the other campers as there weren't many due to it not being a holiday time but those that were there were very friendly. The laundry washroom was fine, onsite pub with the greenhouse type tunnel was great! Staff were very helpful when we had questions and the caravan was spotlessly clean. If there was anything to 'complain' about (hardly worth complaining about to be honest) was that the previous occupants had caused irrepairable damage to one of the four dining chairs and was replaced by an odd, although very similar, chair. Things like that can't be helped and it was the most minor of discrepancies. Maybe we were lucky?? But we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed on this site for 4 nights and had a very relaxing trip away from our busy lives, just what was ordered. This is a great campsite with excellent facilities. This is a very quiet, peaceful part of the world and we witnessed some outstanding sunsets which made it all the more special. Great catering facilities/bar/restaurant on site and some excellent eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Firsly I'm a bit embarrassed that someone based the majority of their review on other noisy campers. That's unfortunate but not really the campsite's fault nor can it be foreseen. I wonder if you had a word with either the culprits themselves or staff at the site?

Appecross is stunning. We were in a very cosy wigwam with good mattresses. So close to a lovely beach. Good walks nearby. Only one toilet block at thr campsite which isn't ideal but really only an issue at night.

There's a cafe bar where the staff are friendly and helpful. A light and bright (and huge) conservatory to eat in. Didn't try the food but menu was limited but homely. Coin laundry on-site too.

Definitely go to the Applecross Inn on the shore for some homely fare and good seafood. Also, when you leave town go to the Kishorn Seafood Cafe in Strathcarron. Awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelburnianEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applecross Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Campsite

Address: Strathcarron | Ross-Shire, Applecross IV54 8ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Applecross
Price Range: $144 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applecross Campsite is situated above the village of Applecross in Ross-Shire in the Highlands of Scotland. The campsite occupies over six acres of open field camping space, offering fantastic views of the Inner Sound looking towards the islands of Raasay, Rhona and the Black Cuillins of Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applecross Campsite Hotel Ross And Cromarty
Applecross Campsite Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing