We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in excellent surroundings”

The Summer Isles Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $52
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food in excellent surroundings”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Tried the bar food on the first night. Casual dining with a few locals in the bar. Seafood highly recommended!
Had gourmet dinner in the main hotel dining room. Wow!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Cock1948,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to sample all of the culinary delights our hotel has to offer. It is exceptionally rewarding to hear your appreciation – Thank-you!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Achiltibuie in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    29
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poynton, Stockport, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We had been told this was excellent”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Initial impression was good, we had booked for dinner, six courses starting at 7pm. Drinks and canapes in the bar were excellent. Nice log fire friendly atmosphere. Into the restaurant, as we were not residents we were seated away from the window at the back of the restaurant. This area was decidely chilly, no radiators close by. Food was OK but have had better. Wines however were excellent. Our visit later in the week tothe Inver Lodge restaurant in Lochinver made up for our disappointment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Geoff K,

Thank-you for taking the time to write review about the Summer Isles Bar.

It is extremely disappointing to know that at various points during your evening, I personally served you all of your wines, and served your cheese. During these moments I remember asking you specifically if you were enjoying your evening and the answer I received from both of you was “yes, everything is wonderful”.

Our main dinning room is very intimate (as you experienced) with a maximum of 9 tables. Like all other hotels, we do give preference to our residents who appreciate the tables nearer to the windows. In saying that, the window space is 13 metres long and 1,6 metres high – no matter where you sit, you are able to see through this space onto the majestic Summer Isles.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Achiltibuie so that you can enjoy our wonderful view again.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire Uk
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Day out to Achiltibuie”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited this hotel after a long drive to Achiltiebuie, the sign outside said food served all day, when we arrived we were told we might be able to get some food if the chef was willing to stay, I have to say thankfully he was and we had a lovely Caesar salad, but all the options on the menu were not available sadly, we all would have enjoyed some seafood. A lovely setting and a good place to eat but a pity the full menu was not available

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear ChilledTraveller,

Thank-you for taking the time to write review about the Summer Isles Bar.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Caesar Salad and I am sorry that we did not have our full menu to offer you at the time of you joining us.

I have changed the sign at the entrance to ensure that no one else arrives in the afternoon and expects a full menu. As I discussed with you when you were here, food is served all day, but this is reduced to a limited size menu. (6 different types of baguettes, various seafood options, antipasti, various afternoon tea items, desserts, soups made daily and other smaller snacks) I would also like to point out that all of our shellfish is sourced locally and as explained to you, due to the bad weather conditions for about a week prior to you coming, the hotel was unable to locally source the superior grade of shellfish we offer to our guests. Your experience had nothing to do with a chef not being available as you have stated above. I am sorry if this was explained to you incorrectly.

I hope it will not be too long before all of you return to Achiltibuie to enjoy our fresh seafood.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value Seafood Platter!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best value for money seafood platter we have ever bought, half the price we usually pay and with a great variety of seafood. The waitress 'Jody' was more than attentive, nothing was too much trouble and the children enjoyed the kids menu too. Such good value and pleasant service we drove the 90minutes back again later in our holiday,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Karen C,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel Bar.

I have passed you wonderful review onto all of our bar staff and they are grateful for your kind words. I agree with you, they all work exceptionally hard. Children are a very important part of what we do here and I am delighted that we were able to entertain your children with our bespoke activity packs, so that you could enjoy your time with us.

We hope you return again soon to experience more of what we have to offer here.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“indulgance at its best”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

the whole experience of being able to take my dog to a high standard hotel (obviously not in dinig areas) and be able to have a fantastic dining experience as well as spectacular scenery. The rooms were fantastic and the beds comfertable

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Pauline H,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As you experienced, pets are very welcome in certain rooms of our hotel and we like to think that we treat them like guests too. Thank-you for your appreciation!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Achiltibuie in the not too distant future when we will be able to “Indulge” you again.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summer Isles Bar also viewed

Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Kylesku, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Summer Isles Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing