We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Beag Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port Beag Chalets
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I spent four days of our week long honeymoon in the Port Beag Chalets. We had planned on two, but the location was so stunning, Linda and her family were so wonderful, and everything was so perfect that we just had to stay on longer. We went hiking, diving, and kayaking, we had our first bagpipe lesson, we cooked in the chalet's beautiful kitchen and picnicked on the nearby beach.

The chalet was as comfortable as a home (more comfortable than ours!) and as well equipped. The view is gorgeous, and even when the wind blows the house is warm and cozy looking over the ocean. However, probably the best part was Linda's hospitality. We came in to a bottle of champagne left in the refrigerator to celebrate our wedding. Her niece brought us fresh brownies the next day. She organized our activities because we had no phone service, made us maps and gave us tide information and walking advice. Her partner was just as kind and accommodating as she was, and her family was wonderful to sit and have tea with one afternoon.

We would absolutely recommend this amazing place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you both with us for your honeymoon, and we're glad you enjoyed our chalets and the area so much - you certainly made the most of your four days! Thanks to Alison and Seonaig at Achiltibuie Bagpipe Specialists for fitting in a bagpipe lesson, glad it was a success! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First visit to area and we were lucky to chose Port Beag Chalets. Great accommoation with everything you need in excellent condition. The views were simply stunning and with our weather being terrific we had lovely sunsets.
Advice on all local amenities was imparted with great friendliness by Linda who was always available if required to help.
Wonderful are for walking - either mountain or beach. Make sure you take a boat trip around the Summer Islands.
Hope you enjoy seafood as there is lots around - scallops and langoustines were superb.
For an overall relaxing experience get booking!!

Room Tip: All chalets have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Port Beag and enjoyed so many of the things Achiltibuie has to offer! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have have stayed at Port Beag agood number of times over the last 10 years. I have never failed to return home refreshed and renewed. The drive to Altandhu is beautiful and well worth the overnight drive from London. The walking and wildlife are also great. The chalets have been refitted and the bathroom and kitchens are really well equipped. Linda who runs the chalets is really welcoming and always has time to recommend things to see or do and always ensures rather chalets are welcoming. It,s great to have pub with great food nearby and also lots of space to lie in the grass and watch the stars! Am booked again for 2013 and will be welcoming some friends too to experience this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments, thank you. Achiltibuie is indeed a very special place, and we're very happy that our chalets add to your enjoyment of your holiday. Its good to hear that you go home refreshed, even after such a long drive! Look forward to seeing you again later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergarry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our family booked and stayed at Port Beag Chalets for the week of 21st to 27th September 2012
as we wanted a base for visiting relatives and friends AND of course to attend my nephews' wedding Our stay at Port Beag was our best EVER chalet accommodation .They are definitely five star . Absolutely everything imagineable Linda has thought of for your comfort and such a welcome ,fresh flowers on the dining table amongst all the other lovely touches too numerous to mention
They are spotlessly clean and warm and of course the views and peacefulness make it the perfect holiday location.Linda and Tricia are the perfect team at Port Beag and I can't wait to be back there again Sent by Isabel Service Invergarry Inverness shire

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - Tricia is the reason the chalets are so well-equipped and clean, she thinks of everything. Many of the touches that you commented on are those Mum did for years so we've learned from the best! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you're back in Altandhu before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing views from these great chalets. FULLY furnished kitchen and open plan lounge.

Large double bedroom , fair size twin and single that we used as a walk in wardrobe for our stay.

Digital TV and plenty of heaters for those cold nights.

5 min drive to shop and 5 min walk to local pub. - just bring a torch if your planning on having a few and want to walk back. You'll also get a great view of the night sky since there is no light pollution. Aurora is also easily spotted from here, however we didn't get to see it.

Very clean and well up kept.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CashMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for such a great review :-) Hope to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
632 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012. The website does not do it justice and having stayed in many well below average places in Scotland it was refreshing to find such a great place to stay. Situated in a perfect location I found it clean, tidy and well equipped. Linda, our host, even brought us a heater as the weather turned cold and although the lodge has heating it was very welcome to take away the chill.
Next time I am back in Inverpolly I will definitely be staying at Port Beag.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, I'm glad you enjoyed it and that we exceeded your expectations! The chalets being clean and well-equipped is down to Tricia who does a brilliant job. Our website is currently being updated so I hope you like the changes there when it's up and running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Beautiful location, right on the shoreline with open views across to the Summer Isles and beyond. Chalets were clean, modern and very comfortable. The owner couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Thoughtful touches such as washing powder and dishwasher tablets made all the difference. Stayed two nights before moving on to next stop and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayPert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated! Hope you enjoyed the next part of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
0.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#1 of 5 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aultbea Lodges
Aultbea Lodges
#1 of 1 in Aultbea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Uisdean B&B
Tigh Uisdean B&B
#1 of 2 in Achiltibuie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Beag Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Beag Chalets

Property: Port Beag Chalets
Address: Altandhu, Achiltibuie IV26 2YR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Beag Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the magnificent North-West Highlands of Scotland, Port Beag Chalets in Altandhu, Achiltibuie, offer recently refurbished well-equipped self-catering accommodation in a stunning location with a warm welcome, overlooking the beautiful Summer Isles on the Coigach peninsula. Perfect for family and friends getting together or for a quiet break to escape, we have four chalets which accommodate up to 6 people, and one chalet which accommodates up to 4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Port Beag Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Beag Chalets Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing