We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was quite sublime - worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This was the "treat" for myself and my wife on our motorcycle tour of the Outer Hebrides and Western Highlands. And we were not disappointed. The set menu in the restaurant, though expensive, was sublime, and beautifully presented fresh (almost all local) ingredients were cooked to perfection. A gastronomic dream in the most beautiful of settings.

Friendly staff were not at all put off by our arrival on two motorbikes, tired after our crossing from Stornoway to Ullapool. Though I did notice the odd strange glance from fellow guests though they soon warmed to us after we appeared suited and booted for dinner.

Great breakfasts and everything was beautifully presented.

Not cheap but worth every penny if you want something a bit special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 471 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed for three nights in the hotel. There are three rooms in the hotel itself (2 facing the sea) and I think 4 or 5 rooms in the purpose built annexe immediately adjacent to the hotel (literally a few yards from the front door). We had a sea facing room in the hotel itself and this, overall was probably better than being in the annexe (according to a guest who stayed in it). I would agree. Its always nice to see a spacious bathroom even if the bedroom itself was not huge.
Food including breakfast and dinner were excellent and worthy of the Michelin star I think. The dinner menu is 'published' around midday which allows time to choose whether to go or make alternative arrangements.Dinner is a set menu and on two nights we were more than happy with it. On the third night, it was not quite to our taste (but probably excellent) and we opted to eat in the bar next door where the food is also excellent (but cheaper!). In the restaurant, £56 for 5 courses compares extremely well with £60 for 3 course in the Three Chimneys where we had stayed a few days previously. There is a very extensive wine list and great selection of malt whiskies (and 15 different gins - whoever thought there could be that many).
The service was excellent, maybe a little 'stiff'. This is a good centre for walking and the 3 hour boat trip around the Summer Isles is probably worthwhile (lots of seals, maybe a sea eagle). This was not a cheap stay but in our view worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The location is amazing, and the breakfast is superb, but mostly everything else is average, except the price!

Staff are friendly and service is good, if just a little over-bearing and pretentious. Dinner is a set menu - which is fine, but the quality of the food is just very good, not excellent (other than the dessert trolley and the cheese board which were amazing).

The "room" was a wooden pre-fab, across a court yard. The electric heating divered between inadequate and over-whelming, and clicked all night. One of the most uncomfortable nights we have had in a while.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Very enjoyable Spring Bank Holiday excursion to the Summer Isles - very pleasant, friendly staff - clean & spacious rooms. If there was any criticism it would be that the set dinner menu is restrictive - no choice so if you don't like one of the courses, then it is not so appealing - but the food in the adjacent bar is very good too. Splendid location passing through the Coigach hills - Stac Polly, Cul Mor and Ben More Coigach - along a superb single track road: Take a trip to Lochinver during your stay along the Wee Mad Road and visit the stunning beaches at Achmelvich or walk the Stoer penninsula to round off a fabulous break..... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Called in for lunch at the bar. Found service and quality of food good. The price of the seafood platter whilst very fresh was disproportionately high compared with the other menu items

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The hotel is situated near the end of a long and winding single track road but well worth the journey. The hotel location is in an amazing area with stunning views across the sea and towards the Summer Isles. To open our bedroom curtains in the mornings to that view was breath-taking. Unfortunately we had overcast days whilst we were there but could imagine you could would get beautiful sunsets.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night, meeting first in the lounge where we were served some delicious amuse bouche. The dining room decor was simple but elegant. The set menu offered choices which I would never have dreamed of ordering normally but any initial apprehension was soon overcome - the food was beautiful and well presented. And the cheese trolley was to die for! The service was relaxed, friendly and warm. We went with Alastair's recommendations of wine to match each course, he was extremely knowledgeable and his choices were superb. He even directed us in our choice of whisky digestifs which we would have not normally encountered.

On our second night we ate in the bar where the service was again very friendly and relaxed, Shona looked after us very well. Food again was delicious and beautifully presented not at all what we were expecting from a bar meal.

We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Beautiful setting and the only hotel in the Achiltibuie area. The 'cheap' rooms, where we stayed are located in an anexe so you have to walk outside to get to the rest of the hotel which is a bit of a problem given that most of the time in the north west of scotland its is raining! However, lovely room and one of the nicest bathrooms I've seen anywhere but not enough sound proofing between yourselves and the nieghbouring room. Restaurant was querky in that everyone had to sit down for dinner at 8pm and there was no choice on the menu. However, if you had dietry requirements these were catered for with notice. The bar food is excellent and much better value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottyHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
9.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
10.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
19.9 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range: $130 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
The Summer Isles Hotel And Restaurant Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing