We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morefield Motel(Ullapool)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kylesku Hotel(Kylesku)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eddrachilles Hotel(Badcall Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Scourie Hotel(Scourie)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
288
114
40
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
114
40
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer isleslog cabinset menucheese boardmichelin starwine listdining roomsea viewamuse bouchebar next doormain restaurantby the glassboat housemain coursesplit levelwood burning stovespiral staircase
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 479 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel has always been very highly spoken of and based on the quality of a bar lunch taken previously by our friends, we and the same friends booked for a night with dinner. Having been exceedingly well looked after by the Forss House Hotel our expectations were high. Our first problem was the no choice menu, which, unfortunately, did not suit one of us. Though the hotel took pains, prior to arrival, to ensure we had no dietary needs, being confronted with a “take it or leave it” menu was not a happy situation. When asked if something could be substituted from the bar menu this was flatly refused. Grudgingly an item from the vegetarian menu was allowed but not the venison which was the main problem. This hotel has forgotten that it is there to provide a service not dictate to its patrons what they can or cannot have, especially in view of their rates. Such behaviour would be unthinkable in the States.
The meal, while good, was ruined by microscopic portions and offered very poor value for money. The rooms were nothing special and the standard of toiletries poorer than many offered by establishments more moderately priced. This hotel is resting on a reputation which, in my opinion, it does not deserve and needs to reflect upon and also look at its decided lack of value. Businesses often complain about biased and untrue reviews, this has been written with no bias or axe to grind, and in my opinion, this hotel has offered no value for money on any count unless you consider the location and views for which, it has of course, no responsibility.
NB The service rating relates to the staff of the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xenical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear xenical,

thank you very much for your honest feedback, we are very sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations.
The set 6-course menu is something that made the hotel famous many years ago and still is the reason why so many guests come to stay and dine with us.

By getting in touch with you prior to your stay with us we would have hoped to receive all the valuable information in regards to not just dietary needs but also likes and dislikes of our guests. Our chef is more than happy to accommodate any kind of special request, as long as he is made aware of it in due course, as the remote location, as lovely as it is, makes the accessibility to alternative products limited.
We have just taken over management of the hotel at the begin of this season and we decided to avoid major changes to the hotel and it's past procedures until such time as we have adequate feedback from our guests.

We have gone backwards and forwards, deciding how best to accommodate any patrons who would like to eat the bar menu in the restaurant and have currently decided against it, purely based on the nature of the bar food and it's particular aromas compared to the ambiance of the fine dining restaurant.

All feedback is golden and we highly appreciate what you have said, your observations on the guest toiletries have been taken into account and we will be looking into their quality in more detail in the coming days.

We would kindly hope that you would return to the Summer Isles Hotel and savour our hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

While the views are certainly lovely and the dinners and wines more than satisfactory, we were disappointed overall with what we got for our very large bill. We expected a level of luxury, comfort and elegance which we did not receive. Our standard sea view room upstairs had the sea views but was fairly modest and the toiletries were unbranded.

Dinners were good, but, again, expensive and breakfasts were standard, with, disappointingly, no croissants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Jonathan C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on here, I am however sad that you have not felt the hotel to be value for money.
We take all feedback, negative and positive very serious and welcome the opportunity to address it.
I am saddened that you have felt unable to express your views to me personally; feeling the need to wait and use tripadvisor first. If you had I may well have been able to address them accordingly.
I am more than happy to discuss all of the issues you have addressed with you if you would like to give me a call.
Kind regards
Chris Webb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Summer Isles Hotel and what a treat we had. We stayed in the cottage at the back with another family to celebrate a birthday and it took me all of two days to realise that I didn't have to walk over the cattle grid. Epic fail on my part, but great hilarity for the others!! Dining at the Summer Isles is an experience in that they serve a set menu for the whole hotel. I loved the first night's offering but wasn't too keen on elements of the second night's menu. However I would stress that this is due to personal tastes and not to the quality of the food which was exceptionally good. I am sure had I asked, the team at the Summer Isles would have gladly accommodated me. Loved the Pimms sorbet. Please can I have the recipe? The menu for tonight looked more to my taste but unfortunately all good things have to come to an end so we shall have to return!

Chris and his team looked after us all with great panache and attention to detail, even setting
the teens with a conundrum to solve. He has a wealth of information at his fingertips and a great sense of humour which coupled with excellent customer care from his team, made for a fabulous two days. We were also incredibly lucky with the weather which meant there was no excuse to not climb Stac Pollaidh. One way to work off a magnificent breakfast.

Thanks again Chris.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a group opt for one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champgagneguzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Champgagneguzzler

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor, it was very king of you.
We are so happy we are able to accommodate you in Matthews Cottage and have 7 of you one place without any discomfort
It was really nice to laugh and have a nice time talking to you in the restaurant in the evening and giving the teens something to think about.
Having different generations in one place all able to share such a taster menu and discuss the individual elements of each dish was really nice to hear.
_______________________________________
200ml water
150gms sugar

Boil for 3 minutes .

add

500ml soda water
180ml Pimms
Finish with lime juice to taste
Place in an ice cream machine to freeze.
_________________________________________________

We do hope we get to see you again soon
Kindest regards

Chris & Julia Webb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The food is just delicious and the staff so well trained we were so impressed especially as the present owners had only been there for a few months. Our room had everything in it that you would want and more. It is a long drive from the main road but well worth it as the views from the hotel are spectacular.

Room Tip: Make sure you fill your car with petrol as it is a long drive but really, really worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2dales2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear 578dale2
It really is very nice to open my computer and read such nice words. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review.
We are so happy that we have left you such lovely lasting memories.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Chris & Julia Webb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is lovely spot and worth the journey, which in our case was in lashing rain after 5 hours from Edinburgh. Just as we arrived the rain stopped and the sun came out! We stayed in the log house as were two couples with 3 dogs and it was great, lovely and cosy with a wood-burning stove and comfy sofas. Dinner was a fantastic experience, really nice staff (lots of staff in fact, and then lots of different staff at breakfast next day, they must have a very high staff to guest ratio) and delicious food and wine, and top service but still fairly relaxed at the same time. so just perfect. Breakfast was also very good and we were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: If you have dogs stay in the Log House
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HowieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear HowieEdinburgh
Thank you very much for writing this review, it really is nice of you to take your time to do so.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had the opertunity to experience our wonderful taster menu and wines.
We do hope you fine your way back up this way again soon.
Regards
Chris & Julia Webb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews