We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel worthy of the amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel worthy of the amazing view!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is lovely spot and worth the journey, which in our case was in lashing rain after 5 hours from Edinburgh. Just as we arrived the rain stopped and the sun came out! We stayed in the log house as were two couples with 3 dogs and it was great, lovely and cosy with a wood-burning stove and comfy sofas. Dinner was a fantastic experience, really nice staff (lots of staff in fact, and then lots of different staff at breakfast next day, they must have a very high staff to guest ratio) and delicious food and wine, and top service but still fairly relaxed at the same time. so just perfect. Breakfast was also very good and we were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: If you have dogs stay in the Log House
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear HowieEdinburgh
Thank you very much for writing this review, it really is nice of you to take your time to do so.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had the opertunity to experience our wonderful taster menu and wines.
We do hope you fine your way back up this way again soon.
Regards
Chris & Julia Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    101
    34
    23
    12
See reviews for
52
297
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The situation of the summer isles hotel is second to none, with superb views over the summer isles seacliffs and magnificient rugged land. I came to the hotel for a meal at 7pm and we ended up staying until closing with singing dancing and great banter in the bar. The hotel has a great team this year who have a good sense of fun that left smiles all round. I'll be back later in the summer!

Ron

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ron D
We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it really means so much to us to receive such a positive feedback.
It is great that you had such a nice time in the Bar with such great banter and singing.
We look forward to seeing you again during the summer months.
Kind regards
Chris & Julia Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I had a drink in this hotel 20 years ago and vowed to come back one day to stay. We finally got round to doing so and enjoyed our 2 night stay very much. Everything about the experience from the moment we arrived until we left was top class. First of all, a mention for the staff. They were all of the highest calibre, as well as being very friendly and for whom nothing was too much trouble. Secondly, a mention for the chef. Any concerns that we might have had about the quality of the food, following the loss of the restaurant's Michelin star a couple of years ago were quickly dispelled. The food was delicious - a set menu with lots of small beautifully formed dishes, followed by a magnificent trolley of fine British cheeses. Thirdly, a mention for the location - idyllic, with wonderful views from the dining room across to the Summer Isles. We stayed in the An Teallach which was very comfortable. Although it lacked the sea view of some of the other rooms, it fully met our needs. Hoping it will be less than 20 years till our next return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantomfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Phantomfoodie
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very kind of you.
We are so happy you found the experience so go and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Chris & Julia Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Well done, Summer Isles, you're back! Fantastic food and superb friendly service. Chris, the manager, has done a wonderful job in resurrecting this fabulous hotel. We have been coming to this part of the world for over 20 years, firstly to the hotel itself then progressing to a rented cottage, but always eating at the hotel. What a difference from last year which was not what we had been used to. The Summer Isles Hotel has been restored - great job, and thank you for a great holiday. Can't wait to return!
David and Jan Tweedie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear David and Jan

Comments like yours are priceless, thank you so very much for putting them online.

It really was a pleasure having you in the restaurant every evening along with Graham and Maggie, the lack of your presence in the days that proceeded where surely missed.
I am so happy that after all the times you have been coming you can see that the hotel is "back" and we will continue to go from strength the strength.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Regards
Chris and Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We are regular visitors to the hotel and this year was fantastic with the new chef providing outstanding food and the manager & his well trained team providing that wonderfully warm Highland welcome and superb service. A memorable experience with great attention to detail and must visit hotel!
Graham and Maggie Lamont

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful but this year we enjoyed Mathews Cottage with magnificent views of the Summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Graham and Maggie

Thank you so much for writing this on Tripadvisor, it really was very nice of you.

As regular visitors to the Summer Isles Hotel it is so nice that you feel that you can write such pleasing words about your stay.
Between Julia and Myself we aim to make things better and better.
Can't wait to see you again next year.
Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights, DB&B in Tenera Beg Room. When arriving, Julia rushed out with a brolly and welcomed us in, explaining how everything worked and showing us our room. Tanera Beg overlooks the sea, superb bathroom, great big bed. I like the bed, my wife found it slightly uncomfortable, maybe too soft. The room is quiet.
Dinner was served at 7pm for 7.30pm a fixed menu each night, 7 courses. The food was sublime, beautifully presented, and very tasty. Each table had a brand new candle each night, such lovely attention to detail. The courses were small, leaving lots of room for the next. The staff at the hotel were well trained and the service very good. The first night they started a bit late, so dinner did not finish until 10.30pm. There is a also a bar where meals can be ordered if the seven courses are too much.
Breakfast was also very good, very nicely done Scottish Breakfast.
Overall highly recommended and will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Willymiles
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to write such lovely things, it really was a pleasure reading it.
I would like to thank you for putting across every aspect of the hotel so nicely you have really done it justice.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Chris Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I last visited the Summer Isles Hotel in October 2011 and decided to return with my two children as I found it wonderful the last time. It was even better this time around! We stayed in the Boathouse suite which is a lovely size for a family and it enjoys great views of the Isles from both downstairs and upstairs. The new managers, Chris and Julia, were charming and very friendly and made my children and I feel very much at home. The staff, a number of whom were new, were equally friendly and helpful. I have very rarely experienced such a warm and welcoming atmosphere in a hotel. The food for which the hotel is renowned is really good. We ate dinner in the bar area for five of our six nights there and it has a great feel to it, and the food is good, honest and very tasteful. We treated ourselves to the full seven course dinner one evening in the restaurant and it was really excellent. As only myself and my 11 year old boy (who eats more than I do) could manage the full dinner Chris very kindly arranged a smaller version for my little girl. We all loved it. The breakfasts reminded me of how excellent a meal it can be! The area itself is spectacular but staying at a hotel like this makes it even more worth while. I wish them all of the best and look forward to the next time we stay there!

Room Tip: Given the splendour of the area it is really worth while getting a room which has a sea view. Most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear KalShearer

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us on Tripadvisor.

It really was such a pleasure having you all stay with us here and make the most of both the bar and restaurant.
We will always do whatever we can to make sure anyone who stays with us is made to feel at home and get just what they need.

I do hope we get to see you again soon.
Regards
Chris and Julia Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
9.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
368 reviews
10.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
588 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
289 reviews
24.4 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
The Summer Isles Hotel And Restaurant Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing