We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine food and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Isles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Isles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Divine food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our second visit to the Summer Isles Hotel with the same set of friends, this time to celebrate a 50th birthday, and we weren't disappointed. We know the format - it's about a five course tasting menu and you are asked to arrive at 7pm for dinner at 7.30pm. We enjoyed a Kir Royale in the lounge and some canapes before being taken to our table. Each course was wonderful, particularly the fillet of beef main course and the cheese trolley which they are famed for. We had first class service and a lovely evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind supportive feedback. The team will be delighted that you enjoyed the experience; such praise helps to keep them focused and makes them try harder for future guests.
Kind regards
Neil (Host)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    90
    31
    19
    9
See reviews for
46
271
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Achiltibuie, and the Summer Isles hotel made our stay in this gorgeous part of Scotland an absolute pleasure. We stayed in the cheaper 'log cabin' style rooms, which were more than comfortable. As advertised, they have no view, but you can enjoy the sun trap of a front garden with a G & T in the evening & take in the stunning view from there- something we would definitely recommend! We ate in the bar on the first night & enjoyed a fantastically fresh seafood platter with a good bottle of wine. On the second night, we ate in the hotel's restaurant, which was a lovely, but expensive experience. The food was absolutely excellent, but for that sort of money (top end London prices), perhaps the service was a bit 'rough round the edges'. The cheeseboard at the end was absolutely wonderful though! All in all, it was a great place to stay, we would certainly recommend Achiltibuie as a beautiful place to visit & if you can afford to splash out, definitely go for the Summer Isles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
On the whole a great review, we have noted your comment regarding service and will focus on this aspect at our next team briefing.
We hope you return to our Oasis in the Highlands soon.
Thank You
Neil (Summer Isles Host)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our second visit to Achiltibuie, having stayed there last July (2012). We stayed this year in a luxury self-catering accommodation walking distance from the Summer Isles hotel and visited this hotel on a number of occasions both at lunchtime and in the evening during our weeks's stay.

The hotel/bar - the hotel has spectacular views over the Summer Isles and a super beer garden with a good-sized car park for those of you on a day trip who wish to sample the hotel's magnificent selection of food. You have so many choices to choose from. There is a daily specials menu in the bar and restaurant and between 12noon and 3pm you can also chose hot or cold sandwiches if you only want a light snack eg smoked salmon and cucumber, spring onion and cream cheese or pan-seared highland rib-eye. I loved the seafood platter, but if you don't like seafood there are nice steaks and lots of other dishes to chose from.

Lovely staff, particularly Rose and Emma who were great fun to talk to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Glowing praise indeed! Thank you for your kind feedback, the lassies in the bar will be thrilled to see their names up in the bright lights. We hope you return to our Oasis in the Highlands again soon.
Neil (Host)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Matthews Cottage with a group of friends last Saturday. Cottage is situated behind the hotel overlooking the splendid Summer
Isles and the standard of the accommodation was very good. One of our group needs very plain food and this proved to be a problem although
we had intimated this in advance. Even the bar were not open to catering for a plain chicken or fish meal and she was advised to go to the camp site
nearby. They were fully booked and when she returned to the bar they reluctantly provided something for her. Four of us ate in the restaurant and
enjoyed the food and the ambience immensely. Maitre de was particularly pleasant and efficient. Coffee in the lounge was particularly lively with an
eclectic bunch of people including American honeymooners.

Breakfast was excellent although they could do with a lesson in porridge making. A thoroughly enjoyable stay which was marred only by the reluctance to accommodate a fussy eater. With our overall spend for 6 people that was not good enough.

Nevertheless this hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMorrison9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the review, mostly positive of which we are grateful, I have debriefed the content with the team here at the hotel and in particular the comments about plain eating and assure you there will be no repetition. After all it’s somewhat easier to make plain food than complex so there should have been no issue in the first instance had we taken a little more care (sorry)
Neil Host/Maitre de/ etc.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed just one night. The hotel is in a fantastic location, as the name suggests it looks out over the Summer Isles. Unfortunately our room did not have a great view as we looked over the back yard. The room was clean and comfortable although to be honest we were a bit disappointed, because of the lack of view. The bathroom was just ok, we had a massive bath but no shower. There was no fan in the bathroom and we were not able to open a window, this was a slight problem as it was very warm at the time of our stay.
The staff were brilliant,very friendly and helpful. We had the gourmet dinner, it was excellent, we would recommend it. Breakfast the next morning was great, lots of choices, served by friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Chaplin room and take your comments on board; unfortunately this is the only room in the Hotel which face 100% inland. The team will nonetheless be delighted with your comments about the Dinner and Breakfast.
Thank You
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A couple of days peace and quiet at one of our favorite locations on the West coast. Fantastic food - a great selection of local food nicely presented, looked almost too good to eat. A great cheese board full of Scottish cheeses, friendly staff and a wonderful wine selection with every course! A lovely break - Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Kind supportive comments such as these motivate my small team to try harder to please future visitors to the Summer Isles; we are delighted that you enjoyed the wines!
Thank you
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had dinner at the Summer Isles, on our honeymoon, although we were staying elsewhere. It came with a recommendation - although not as the best in the region. Well, we also attended the 'best' in the region and the Summer Isles was far, far superior. Despite not having a Michelin Star, it was a superior meal in every way to most single Michelin star establishments I have attended. A delicious meal, based on local produce, superb service, outstanding matching food and wine, and a wonderful location. Nothing was too much trouble - there was no complacency or feeling of the management being superior to the guests, just fabulous hospitality. We sat with other delightful guests before and after the meal, all friendly and relaxed - and they seemed to be regulars there which is always a good sign. The drive there and back was a joy in itself. Strongly worth seeking out this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank music_travel_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so pleased to have made your experience memorable, the team will be happy to know they made an impact on your honeymoon and hope you return soon
Regards
Neil Beech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
10.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
19.9 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
10.7 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
10.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Isles Hotel

Property: Summer Isles Hotel
Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Isles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Summer Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
Summer Isles Hotel Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing