We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A great owner-managed hotel that's well worth a visit to get away from it all.

Great food, which at dinner is served as multi-course fixed menu but not at all overpowering in terms of quantity. What it is though is very high quality, supported by an excellent wine list. Local produce drives the daily changing dinner menu (meat, fish, seafood, etpc). The cheese board is also superb - do leave room!

The breakfasts are equally good, along with the rooms and overall service. Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: Choose one of the cottage rooms by the entrance gate - a stones throw from the main hotel. Quiet, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Dr Neil G,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our wine list is a huge highlight of many of our guests stay. We have more that 450 bins, with wines to suit every occasion.

We hope it will not be too long before you return to Achiltibuie and enjoy our wonderful haven in the Scottish Highlands.

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I went here for a weekend in September to treat ourselves and were spoilt. The staff were fantastic, really attentive, knowledgeable and very helpful, the food was fantastic. The location is superb with wonderful views and lovely walks in the area. The breakfasts here are wonderful. Most restaurants offer a fine cheese board, the Summer Isles have the best cheese trolley I have ever met, it is laden with delightful goodies and the sweet trolley is almost as good.

Room Tip: We were in the room on the first floor almost above the bar, the Chaplin room. If you like an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Flyingdown

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Cheese board. It has just been voted the best Cheese board in the UK – An accolade we are proud to have achieved. It is very exciting to know that people like yourselves are able to enjoy our cheese board and appreciate it – Thank-you!

We hope it will not be too long before you return to Achiltibuie for another special visit!

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the Summer Isles Hotel after a Birthday weekend.
We have visited the hotel on several occasions over the years but this is the first time we have stayed.
We arrived at 4pm and were welcomed by a member of staff, given a tour,a welcome drink and shown to our room. Well when I say room, the roof on the Oscaig Room was being repaired following some storm damaged and we were shown to our house ! The Log Cabin Suite, which although a wee bit tired was exceptional with two bedrooms, lounge, bathroom, sun terrace, flat screen TV, music centre and a wood burning stove, wow.
There was even a Birthday Card from the Summer IslesTeam for my wife. A very nice touch.
We love the area and walking so after our afternoon walk we got ready for dinner, which was 7pm in the residents lounge for drinks and complimentary canopies...a taste of things to come.
The diners were shown individually to their tables, which turned out to be the order of service for the evening, the restaurant is very cosy and tables laid out beautifully. We opted for the 6 course dinner with wine chosen by Jody, this made the meal even more special with Jody explaining why each wine was selected to accompany each dish.
The food, although subjective to the individual, was fantastic, as was the wine.
Some reviewers mentioned the meals taking a long time, however, this is no Burger King, each dish was well prepared and an experience to relish.
Coffee can be taken in the restaurant or lounge and is served with Pettifores too, as if you needed more food !
The whisky bar is situated next to the lounge so you do not have to leave the fireside to order your next whisky, far too convenient.
Breakfast was again a relaxed affair and delicious with views to the Summer Isles out the window.
My wife thoroughly enjoyed her Birthday weekend and we would like to thank the Owners and staff for making it so special.

Room Tip: A sea view room is pleasant although we were upgraded to the Log House Suite it may not be suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear SteveandElaine,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such an extensive review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that we have to offer here. It is rewarding to know that our efforts were appreciated – thank-you!

We hope it will not be too long before you return again.

Best regards from Achiltibuie!

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

An unremarkable looking hotel in a remarkable setting with remarkable food and remarkable staff.
Nothing could be faulted and the Manager Jody Marshall leads by example. We had three marvellous days and were very lucky wirth the weather too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Cameron B,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a remarkable review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you return again soon to this wonderful part of the world.


Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights at The Summer Isles in late July. You do wonder if you will ever reach the place it is so far off the beaten track down a road which eventually sort of peters out but the effort is really worth it. Run by a South African and his family who are supported by an excellent young team the whole place sparkles and operates extremely efficiently. Without asking we were allocated an upgraded room with tremendous sea views, which was very comfortable and had a great bathroom.We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and a lunch in the bar and all the meals were very imaginative and of an extremely high standard. Service was attentive and friendly. When we commented on the decor in the dining room the young waiter proudly announced that during the winter, when they are closed, he had painted it. This hotel is a wonderful example of working very hard during a short season to make your guests feel really comfortable and satisfied and pleased to spread the word about the their visits. I can't imagine they get much passing trade!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear JandPEngland,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We always try to ensure that our guests are at the forefront of what we do here. Complimentary upgrades are always allocated when they are available – It is wonderful to know that they are acknowledged and appreciated!

Our team in place here is very close knit and we work hard to continually try to achieve perfection – Thank-you for your kind words!

We hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you to our hotel again..

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent four nights at the Summer Isles Hotel in the boat house suite, and ate in the restaurant on three of the nights.The suite was really nice and is on two levels with a view of the Summer Isles from the windows. Downstairs the living area was exceptionally spacious, with a log fire at one end with comfy chairs and bed setee. Ideal at the end of a day walking. The downstairs bathroom is equally spacious and has a full sized bath a shower a two sinks. The bedroom is reached via a spiral staircase and is quite large with plenty of hanging space. In the restaurant the food is outstanding a six course fixed price menu that changes each evening with an option to have the wines for each course selected for you. The management and staff are friendly, polite and only to pleased to help in anyway they can.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear GordonStalybridge,

Thank-you for taking the time you spent writing a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your 3 day with us in the Boat House. Many of our returning guests share your comments about the large bathroom and Spiral Staircase – It really is a very luxurious room! The new pictures you posted are fantastic too – Thank-you!

We look forward to welcoming you again so you can enjoy our hospitality and fayre.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is well worth taking the back roads to this great hotel. With no TV's and no mobile signal you really do get to experience the amazing isolation of the Highlands.

We choose not to eat in the restaurant ( expensive and a bit stuffy for our liking) and went to the bar instead,where you can get a great meal .

You are surrounded by lochs and mountains, so there is no shortage of views or walks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Undercoverchicken,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our amazing location and isolation – our haven in the Highlands. I agree with you in saying that the bar does a fantastic job at giving our guests a very memorable experience. I have passed your comments onto them – thank-you!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Achiltibuie in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
9.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
10.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
10.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range: $130 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
The Summer Isles Hotel And Restaurant Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing