We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Our Trip”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights at The Summer Isles in late July. You do wonder if you will ever reach the place it is so far off the beaten track down a road which eventually sort of peters out but the effort is really worth it. Run by a South African and his family who are supported by an excellent young team the whole place sparkles and operates extremely efficiently. Without asking we were allocated an upgraded room with tremendous sea views, which was very comfortable and had a great bathroom.We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and a lunch in the bar and all the meals were very imaginative and of an extremely high standard. Service was attentive and friendly. When we commented on the decor in the dining room the young waiter proudly announced that during the winter, when they are closed, he had painted it. This hotel is a wonderful example of working very hard during a short season to make your guests feel really comfortable and satisfied and pleased to spread the word about the their visits. I can't imagine they get much passing trade!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear JandPEngland,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We always try to ensure that our guests are at the forefront of what we do here. Complimentary upgrades are always allocated when they are available – It is wonderful to know that they are acknowledged and appreciated!

Our team in place here is very close knit and we work hard to continually try to achieve perfection – Thank-you for your kind words!

We hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you to our hotel again..

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    98
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
52
288
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent four nights at the Summer Isles Hotel in the boat house suite, and ate in the restaurant on three of the nights.The suite was really nice and is on two levels with a view of the Summer Isles from the windows. Downstairs the living area was exceptionally spacious, with a log fire at one end with comfy chairs and bed setee. Ideal at the end of a day walking. The downstairs bathroom is equally spacious and has a full sized bath a shower a two sinks. The bedroom is reached via a spiral staircase and is quite large with plenty of hanging space. In the restaurant the food is outstanding a six course fixed price menu that changes each evening with an option to have the wines for each course selected for you. The management and staff are friendly, polite and only to pleased to help in anyway they can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear GordonStalybridge,

Thank-you for taking the time you spent writing a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your 3 day with us in the Boat House. Many of our returning guests share your comments about the large bathroom and Spiral Staircase – It really is a very luxurious room! The new pictures you posted are fantastic too – Thank-you!

We look forward to welcoming you again so you can enjoy our hospitality and fayre.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is well worth taking the back roads to this great hotel. With no TV's and no mobile signal you really do get to experience the amazing isolation of the Highlands.

We choose not to eat in the restaurant ( expensive and a bit stuffy for our liking) and went to the bar instead,where you can get a great meal .

You are surrounded by lochs and mountains, so there is no shortage of views or walks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Undercoverchicken,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our amazing location and isolation – our haven in the Highlands. I agree with you in saying that the bar does a fantastic job at giving our guests a very memorable experience. I have passed your comments onto them – thank-you!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Achiltibuie in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was very nice place. We had two villas and there was great view to the sea loch from one of them.
The 6 course dinner was nice as well as the drinks in the sun room before the dinner (and coffee after).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Panu R,

Thank-you for taking the time to write review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

It was wonderful to meet you and everyone else in your party. I hope I will retain all of the Finnish words you taught us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful experience.

I hope it will not be too long before all of you return to Achiltibuie.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I spent the 27/28th August at this highly recommended hotel set in beautiful surroundings to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I had always wanted to visit, having seen it on a Rick Stein programme many years ago- it just looked so lovely- and the name conjured up all these lovely images. We were not disappointed! The weather was mixed but the 'experience' more than made up for the showers. Jody and his lovely staff deserve all the accolades they have had in the past and, no doubt, will continue to have in the future. It is indeed 'fine dining' and,as I write this review, I am remembering the delicious 5/6 course gourmet dinner with accompanying wines selected and presented by Jody. The award winning cheese board is memorable! Jody and his team have the 'experience' down to a fine art and must be justifiably proud that the hotel continuously gets such 'rave' reviews. We enjoyed the banter with his lovely, young staff who were efficient but made time to talk in spite of their busy schedule.

We stayed in the Boathouse Suite which was lovely and private with a wood burning fire and all the comforts.

Jody, I can't add to the host of compliments you have had previously - I can only thank you and your staff for making our stay so wonderful.

I have recommended to our friends that they MUST visit the Summer Isles Hotel at least once....and preferably more than once!

I know this review is late in coming so apologies for that.

Christine Carnegie

Room Tip: Didn't see other rooms but would recommend the Boathouse Suite. More like your own cottage with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Carnegie,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

We were delighted to share your 30th wedding anniversary with you. You are truly and example to us all and we aspire to achieve the commitment you have for each other!

I have passed your kind words onto all the staff who, I am certain will take fond memories of your time at the hotel. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our cheese board. Since you were here, we have gone on to win the 2012 British Cheese board of the year. It must have something to do with your 30 year romance…. A very proud moment for the hotel!

We hope you will return again next year and inspire us all again.

Best regards from Achiltibuie!

Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Last weekend I celebrated a special birthday by a 3/4 stay at the Summer Isles Hotel with my family. I live in Singapore but am from Scotland and I wanted to show my Singaporean partner what Scotland had to offer. We were a group of 10 that included children, teenagers and my mum who's elderly. The scenery surrounding the hotel and what it looks out on is stunning and we were lucky enough to have fabulous weather throughout our stay. Clear blue skies, sunshine and warmth. I had already heard of the excellent reputation of this hotel and can add our endorsement of that. A faultless stay that exceeded my high expectations - and I'm fussy! The warmth of the welcome, quality of the accommodation .... the bubble bath and service throughout our stay was equalled by the quality of all the meals and wines enjoyed, whether in the restaurant or bar. Scotland at its absolute best. Thank you so much for making my special day and stay so perfect. I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: choose rooms at the entrance to the hotel, as they are beautifully situated with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear happytraveller3_12,

We appreciate the time you spent writing a review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

Thank-you for choosing the Summer Isles Hotel to celebrate your special day with your family – it was a great honour to host you. We are all delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and fly the flag high for Scotland!

We look forward to welcoming you again when you are visiting the UK from Singapore.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

the most excellent hotel; first class food and the staff are very cheery. Not only is the surrounding area filled with activities to do the views are exceptional, thankyou for such a enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerIsles, General Manager at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Anna T,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about the Summer Isles Hotel.

You are absolutely correct. I have the privilege of working with some of the most amazing people. Our staff are fantastic and this is reflected in each of their individual personalities and aspects they bring to make this hotel as great as what it is – Thank-you for your kind words!

We hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
10.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
10.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
572 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
236 reviews
19.9 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
23.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
The Summer Isles Hotel And Restaurant Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing