We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
80
42
8
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
42
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnew ownerscosy barfort augustusfaded grandeursteak ale pienachoswelcome sighthotel barcountry hotelate herefamily roomgreat weekendstunning sceneryhaggislog firelovely room
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 140 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Staff could not have been more accommodating, having been turned away from the Dores Inn (too busy what a laugh restaurant was empty) found this great pub, had to wait for a table for about 20mins but staff could not have been more helpful. Food was fantastic, went back later in the week and again same excellent service and food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank derekscaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Staff couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. Food was excellent and a warming atmosphere awaits you, children are made to feel welcome.This serves good heart warming pub food you couldn't ask for anything better with excellent value for money was worth the drive out of Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful location in the wilderness. Friendly staff welcomes you in a dusty entrance. Long-dead deers' heads stare at you from the walls. Rooms are in bad need of refurbishing. Our bathroom was a narrow cell with unusable shower, the sink was in the bedroom. Cheap bar food in the restaurant (for your own sake, keep off their "risotto”!). Average microwave breakfast. Perfect set for a thriller.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blasius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitebridgeHotel, Owner at Whitebridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

A harsh review from a friendly family who stayed with us for two nights and gave us no indication at all that they were unhappy. I appreciate the positive comments about our beautiful location, friendly staff, traditional highland deer trophies, and being a perfect set for a thriller!
Our popular full Scottish breakfast is freshly cooked to order and the only part that goes near a microwave is the baked beans. Our toaster makes a bell noise when it is finished and this is probably what you heard when your freshly made toast, i.e. the only breakfast you ever ordered, was ready.
I dispute the fact that the shower was unusable and being here for two nights you could easily have asked us how it works.
With regard to "cheap bar food" , please look at all the previous reviews.
Whitebridge Hotel is a characterful Victorian building but I respect the fact that some prefer a more bland experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a fab little pub. We discovered it because we were staying at the nearby wildside lodges (brilliant value and location). We had a great meal there and a fab drink of beer> Loved that in middle of nowhere is a pub full of all nationalities being well looked after with great highland hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

stayed for a week to tour the area,food was excellent and freshly prepared with local produce. room was comfortable and large enough for our german shepherd. staff were very friendly and well trained. very good hotel if you want peace and quiet.have used for many years without complaint and can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews