We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!!”
Review of Whitebridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitebridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have been pleasantly surprised with the Whitebridge Hotel. It is on the east side of Loch Ness, away from the mad rush of the tourist trade. The drive either up from Fort Augustus or down from the A9 or from Inverness is breath taking. The hotel is quiet, comfortable and the best sleep I have had in Scotland after after 3 weeks of traveling. The food is wonderful. Home cooked and plentiful. The pub staff, Tom and Michael are great and will go out of their way to provide you whatever you are looking for. Should I ever come back this way, I will most definitely stop and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Whitebridge is a traditional and friendly hotel located to the east and less busy side of Loch Ness. The interior is dated but if you are looking for a good value place to stay for some local walking it is ideal. I would also recommend Whitebridge to people travelling with four legged friends as both the hotel and bar are extremely dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stopped here recently for lunch and was pleasantly surprised; tasty food, generous portions served by friendly staff. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiggScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Just back from our first visit to the Whitebridge Hotel,what can we say,it is unusual.old and a bit tired,it could do with a lick ofbut what a hotel,the food is good and if you donnt like whats on the menu just ask and they will try there best to get you what you want,the food is all local and very fresh,the bar is good,the staff first class and welcoming,If you lick fishing ,walking and a very peacefully place to stay then this is for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertzPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We are regular visitors from Glasgow and keep coming back to the Whitebridge Hotel because we are certain of a warm welcome, great food and a choice of real ales. When it is busy the food can take a while, but that just shows that it is not your boil in the bag processed food of the chain pubs. The breakfast is definitely worth getting up for with locally sourced food. They will even make you a packed lunch for your walk if you ask. If you are looking for flat screen tvs and a mini bar this is not the place for you but if you enjoy good pub food and a homely atmosphere combined with some of the most stunning scenery in scotland then I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hakfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I didn't know whether to give this hotel two or three stars. It wasn't great, but it's in the most amazing setting and has character about it.

The disappointment, I feel, is in the way the hotel is run. I felt the owners were going about things in the cheapest way possible; the room that we had looked tired and in need of TLC. This on it’s own can be looked after, but with the hotel set amongst stunning natural environment rich in produce and local delicacies, to serve up deep fried/microwaved food in the hotel restaurant and bar, I think is a bit inexcusable. There must be a rich picking of local suppliers crying out to have their produce used at the hotel, instead the menu reads like any you’d find anywhere in the country. Fish and chips, chilli, nachos, curry, regular bar food.

The same for breakfast; it was all mediocre mass produced rubbish.

We were so disappointed! I think probably more so as in all our stops around Loch Ness, this was the only place not making use of the local land.

Whitebridge Hotel – you can surely do better than this?!

Helpful?
Thank London_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwpmurray, Owner at Whitebridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
I find this review rather surprising considering the previous positive reviews of our food.
Its almost as if this reviewer did not eat in our bar or restaurant.
For a start, there are no Nachos on our menu.
Nearly all of our bar meals are prepared on the premises from fresh ingredients including highland venison, aberdeen angus steak and fish from the Moray coast. We have eleven main courses on our bar menu and they are all there because they are popular. In addition, our range of bar curries, including venison passanda, are all prepared from scratch in our kitchen, using meat from a highland supplier. We also serve freshly prepared pizzas from our dedicated pizza oven. Our restaurant menu offers only freshly prepared items, such as highland lamb, chicken stuffed with haggis, Aberdeen Ribeye steak, Moray coast Salmon and Scallops, all served with freshly roasted vegetables and not a chip in sight. We cure the salmon for our own gravadlax, make the liver pate, and serve our own (very popular) home made cullen skink soup. All our desserts are made on the premises. Anyone who has ordered our Scottish cheeseboard will remember the large selection of local cheeses we offer, including Caboc and smoked from Tain, Connage from Ardersier and Strathdon blue.
Our full highland breakfast includes local free range eggs, Stornoway black pudding, best quality bacon, sausages and haggis. If that doesn't grab you, our Moray coast kippers are very popular.
We welcome your comments about the room as we are aware that a few are due for refurbishment and this is on-going. Having said that, we have a large amount of repeat visitors who come for the character of the building and the quality of the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

small bathroom, good bar food, wonderful area, very good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
12.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
13.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitebridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebridge Hotel

Property: Whitebridge Hotel
Address: Whitebridge | Stratherrick, Near Inverness, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitebridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Whitebridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing