We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed in Otter Lodge, it was very clean with everything you could need for a self catering holiday. We took our seven year old grandson Lewis with us and he was so happy playing in the river we could have stayed put all week and he would have been quite contented. Otter Lodge is very secluded and we never saw anyone else on the site unless we were on our way in or out the site. The views are spectacular from the lodge and there is lots of wildlife around the site. There is a Pub within walking distance where we had supper a couple of times, we found the staff to be friendly and the food was usual pub food. We found lots to do around the area and after a long day of doing the touristy thing it was wonderfull to return to Otter lodge. We were very lucky to have brilliant weather and one thing i will always remember was the early evenings spent sat by the river watching my grandson play . It was a very long way for us to get to Wildside but well worth it and we hope to return again one day. Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalubristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Wildside Highland Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 390 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Lovely log cabin with all mod-cons. Very clean, warm and welcoming. A super place. Our young kids loved it, especially paddling in the river. Great spot to visit Loch Ness, Urquhuart Castle, Inverness area etc. We found good play-parks in Fort Augustus and Foyers!! Sitting on the verandah after kids had gone to bed was bliss. Neil and Jacqui are very welcoming, helpful and kind. We will be back :)

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank MOB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Brilliant lodge (Otter) with the most spectacular location. Wonderful in every way!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhunter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

It felt like we were drving on Mars when we approached Whitebridge/Wildside.
However, the location is superb, with amazing scenery and nearby waterfalls, rivers, lochs and of course the big one (Loch Ness).
We stayed in a 1bedroomed lodge (Salmon) for 7-nights during mid-November.
The lodge was warm and welcoming on arrival, with modern and very spacious rooms!The lodge was surrounded by wildlife (red breast robins, rabbits, pheasants and many other birds).
It was a quiet, tranquille setting alongside a lovely river.
The site was rather small, but very friendly (owners Keith and Carol were very accommodating).
I would recomend these lodges to couples and friends who would fully appreciate the beauty that this remote area of Scotland has to offer.
In closing, we both enjoyed a relaxing week-long stay here, and we'll definately return in the Summer 2010.
Thanks
Nick and Richard
Manchester

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_taylor_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed at the Wildside lodge as a base to run the Lochness Marathon. The lodges are clean will maintained and I would definitely recommend them to anyone staying in the local area. The site has 16 lodges but don’t worry about noise or being overlooked the site has been well planned and each lodge is detached. We ordered our food through Tesco Online but we I would also recommend walking to the Whitebridge Hotel (its about 500 yrds away)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Arrived on 4th Sept. for weeks break. Pleasantly surpised when shown our home for the week, spotlessly clean and with a nice wee welcoming pack, (whisky, milk, shortbread etc). So quiet and peaceful with loads of wildlife in the area. Lots of walks and interesting attractions nearby. Pub up the road has good food and lots of friendly characters to entertain! Staff on site very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemac617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We wanted a chilled out holiday & that was exactly what we got. Our lodge was clean & well maintained. A welcome pack of milk, shortbread & whisky as well as sachets of tea,coffee & sugar were indeed very welcome after a long journey!!!
The grounds are very pretty with lots of varieties of birds & rabbits around the lodge in the morning. The staff friendly & helpful. The log burner was set & ready for us to light.
Very quiet both day & night, also very dark at night!!
Local pub does a variety of food but would recommend the curry!! The local people were friendly.
Fort Augustus is an interesting place, with amazing views of Loch Ness. Had 2 very nice meals in The Bothy. Would also recommend The Dores Inn for good food & views.
Overall a very nice place to stay, We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
729 reviews
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
185 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
365 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing