We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad iscolated, but thats the whole point!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tad iscolated, but thats the whole point!”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

It felt like we were drving on Mars when we approached Whitebridge/Wildside.
However, the location is superb, with amazing scenery and nearby waterfalls, rivers, lochs and of course the big one (Loch Ness).
We stayed in a 1bedroomed lodge (Salmon) for 7-nights during mid-November.
The lodge was warm and welcoming on arrival, with modern and very spacious rooms!The lodge was surrounded by wildlife (red breast robins, rabbits, pheasants and many other birds).
It was a quiet, tranquille setting alongside a lovely river.
The site was rather small, but very friendly (owners Keith and Carol were very accommodating).
I would recomend these lodges to couples and friends who would fully appreciate the beauty that this remote area of Scotland has to offer.
In closing, we both enjoyed a relaxing week-long stay here, and we'll definately return in the Summer 2010.
Thanks
Nick and Richard
Manchester

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_taylor_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    35
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
119
190
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed at the Wildside lodge as a base to run the Lochness Marathon. The lodges are clean will maintained and I would definitely recommend them to anyone staying in the local area. The site has 16 lodges but don’t worry about noise or being overlooked the site has been well planned and each lodge is detached. We ordered our food through Tesco Online but we I would also recommend walking to the Whitebridge Hotel (its about 500 yrds away)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Arrived on 4th Sept. for weeks break. Pleasantly surpised when shown our home for the week, spotlessly clean and with a nice wee welcoming pack, (whisky, milk, shortbread etc). So quiet and peaceful with loads of wildlife in the area. Lots of walks and interesting attractions nearby. Pub up the road has good food and lots of friendly characters to entertain! Staff on site very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemac617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We wanted a chilled out holiday & that was exactly what we got. Our lodge was clean & well maintained. A welcome pack of milk, shortbread & whisky as well as sachets of tea,coffee & sugar were indeed very welcome after a long journey!!!
The grounds are very pretty with lots of varieties of birds & rabbits around the lodge in the morning. The staff friendly & helpful. The log burner was set & ready for us to light.
Very quiet both day & night, also very dark at night!!
Local pub does a variety of food but would recommend the curry!! The local people were friendly.
Fort Augustus is an interesting place, with amazing views of Loch Ness. Had 2 very nice meals in The Bothy. Would also recommend The Dores Inn for good food & views.
Overall a very nice place to stay, We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Peaceful, relaxing, no mobile phone signal, great lodge facilities in the Eagle lodge - as in all lodges. So quite and dark at night, bliss. We couldn't believe it was 11am on the first morning when we woke up! We're used to traffic noise waking us up at 6am but not here, combined with the dark curtains that blocked out the light we certainly had a relaxing time.
Keith and Carol, the park managers, or fantastically helpful, they live on site in one of the lodges and work very hard to manage the site and help out with any questions you may have including where to trout fish.
There is a great 3 hour round trip walk to the Falls of Foyers which takes you down the track to Dell House opposite the park's main entrance. This is a lovely walk, you don't need a map or a compass, just follow the well marked and trodden path - there's even a lovely cafe at the falls called Red Squirrell Cafe.
Wildside Lodges is great for a self sufficient escape from the hustle and bustle of working life or as a base for exploring. Handy for Fort Augustus and the Drumnadrochit road or 60 - 80 minutes from Aviemore and the Spey Valley distilleries.
We will certainly return and think the lodges are fairly priced for the facilities and the quality of the location.
Travelling along the road to Whiteside, where the lodges are located, we saw birds of prey and a herd of 60 deer at about 9 in the evening - an amazing site.

We can't recommend Wildside enough - get it booked!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrasmereHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have re-visited since originally stumbling across these Lodges. It is a great location for visiting Loch Ness, Urquart, Aviemore, Cawdor etc.

We stay in Otter Lodge - the best location with two picture windows over looking the friendly river. There are stepping stones over to an "island" where the children can explore. We have had woodpeckers and many other varieties visit the lodge's bird table. Lovely welcome pack, great facilities and a quiet and picturesque setting: just what we need to unwind!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Excellent lodge, very clean, and everything provided. Lovely and peaceful, didnt really hear or see anyone else staying there.

Kids loved playing in the river on site, and watching the birds out of the living room window. Mainly they loved climbing on the rocks scattered aound the site.

Loads of lovely walks in the near vicinity, Whitebridge to Foyers and Foyers to Loch Ness were enjoyed by all. Lots to do in Fort Augustus 15 mins away. Small rare breeds farm, very cheap, kids liked stroking the sheep, more like someones collection of farm animals than the usual farms we are used to visiting, Canal museum, gift shops, boat watching up the locks and throwing rocks into Loch Ness were they thing voted best by the kids. Boat trips available here too.
Great swimming pool at Inverness - a little difficult to find, no sign posts until almost ontop of it!
Make sure you go to the right Loch Ness museum,the old one is a rip off, Urquart Castle on other side of the Loch well worth a visit.
Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Property: Wildside Highland Lodges
Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing