We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best getaway we've been to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My partner and I have just came back from spending 4 nights in the Otter Lodge at Wildside and had the time of our lives! We've came to the opinion that we were the luckiest to get the most secluded lodge and the river right at our doorstep. It was unbelievable waking up to that lovely view every morning and spending our evenings in the hot tub.
The lodge itself was beautifully decorated, it has a modern twist. It was spotlessly clean inside, much higher standards than a hotel.
Perhaps there was no phone signal, but that never bothered us in the slightest, being on the phone was at the very bottom of our list.
We've only just come back from our break and we are both already miffed that we had to leave. My partner and I thought everything was perfect and we could not think of one flaw at all.
It was our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate it together. We will definitely be back and will reccomend it everyone!

Room Tip: Otter lodge. It's the most private lodge of them all and the views of the river are stunning.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Wildside Highland Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner & i stayed in the Osprey Lodge for 4 nights in May & had a fantastic time.The hot tub is a must,total highlight,well worth paying extra for!!Our lodge was spacious,extremely clean & had added little extras you need.Jakki at reception is lovely as are the other staff we met,friendly but not intrusive.There is no phone signal (another plus for us).The smaller lodges are quite close together which we thought at first may be a problem,we didn't need to worry,privacy wasn't an issue.We are going to return in a bigger group later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Wife and kids took me to wildside lodges for my 40th birthday - stayed in the Grey-lag lodge and it was spot on. Very comfy and great view of the mountain from both the lounge and the hottub. Wii Fii could have been stronger but that's a minor point- great way to relax and nice location

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in the riverside otter lodge for my 40th birthday , the good stuff,, perfect location, well kitted out, great log burners , peaceful , tranquil, small touches everywhere, a lot of money has gone into these lodges very recently to make them luxurious,, bad stuff,, it's just one step away from what you expect from the price tag , the lack of a wifi and phone signal although trivial to some is something that should be available for this level of accom , there is room for just one couch in the otter, that is fine as long as you have somewhere to put your feet up. Providing a nice tv is good to see , but with just 4 channels its a little disappointing. there are hints at saving money all over the guest guide in the lodge, took the shine off it a little bit. This is a brilliant location, the staff were very friendly , it just needs that little bit extra to make it justify the price tag in my opinion. Having said all that we will probably return !

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLHINVERNESS, Owner at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the location of Otter Lodge and its secluded position the signal for extra channels is unfortunate, but we think is far outweighed by the fantastic position, right next to the river. This is in most cases the reason why people chose this lodge..... As for the mobile signal, we are in the Highlands and this is out of our control, however a 2 min walk to the entrance and most networks do pick up. The highlands is the most magical place and Otter lodge the most romantic....... I am not sure what extra touches could be provided, we supply so many already free of charge which is what makes us excellent value for money. We hope to welcome you again in the future..... Kindest Regards J Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I, along with my parents, chose Wintergreen lodge for a week beginning 17th May for one week. In that week we revisited (my wife and I had been here in 2001 when we stayed in Salmon Lodge) all the best attractions in this part of the Highlands. The lodges are an excellent and well-equipped base from which to plan your days.

The beds are very comfy (I cannot recall sleeping so soundly). The kitchen is well-equipped, as is the bathroom. The spa is amazing!

The park is quiet and everyone is friendly. Plenty of room to park.

As someone said in a previous review the wifi was very patchy. This turned out to be a faulty booster but when we politely enquired about when it will be fixed we were told that the management team would make a trip out to Inverness that day and it would be fixed when we returned. True enough they stuck to their word and it was fixed later that day. Now I could sync my photos at the end of each day. Brilliant!

Overall I cannot fault Jakki and her management team; they were efficient, friendly and very welcoming.

We loved our stay and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we stayed here for a week in May in the Pinemarten lodge. i had read so many great reviews about this place so i guess expectations were high. we weren't disappointed on first arrival.

the lodge was situated near the end of the park, nearly overlooking the river. We couldnt believe how well equipped the lodge was, even down to salt, pepper and olive oil! there must have a been a lot of thought went into providing the necessary items for a great holiday. we were really impressed. the kitchen was new as was the bathroom. The bedroom was very big and decorated nicely and a nice comfy bed! the log burner was amazing, however, one point was that there was no poker or pan in order to clean out or stoke the burner? the hot tub was well used and i must say it was pretty good. nothing better than sitting relaxing in the tub enjoying the scenery and wildlife.

i must point out that unfortunately we encountered an issue, in the fact that our lodge did not have wifi for the whole week of our stay. at wildside there is not even a phone signal so the reason we chose this park was due to the facilities and the wifi in all lodges. at first we were told the internet was down across the park - then two days later,we were told by someone else that our router was broken! Its a real shame that we couldnt have been informed of the issue before or on our arrival. instead, we were asking on a daily basis for an update. the park was half empty during the week, so i would have thought it would have made sense to allocate us with a lodge with full facilities. unfortunately not. On the Wednesday i asked again and was told theres nothing that could be done. i was a bit disappointed as again i thought the customer service could have been better. in this day, wifi is a basic tool and we were expecting it as we were also planning to use it for personal research. instead, we had to stand outside in the rain/snow further down the park to get onto the main wifi. we were eventually offered to stand in an empty lodge to use the wifi, but it wasnt the same as we felt as though we were sneaking around. we were however given a bottle of cava and some sweeties as an apology. when we were packing to come home, the guy appeared to replace the router! typical.

all in all, the park, location and lodge were great - just a shame the customer service didn't match up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLHINVERNESS, Owner at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us in the Magical Highlands... Due to the remote location of some lodges; we can not guarantee wi fi signal or mobile network signals.... This is one of the draw backs to being in the Highlands, however as it is such a magical place here, we think this outweighs modern technology. We do provide a payphone for customers next to reception, also most mobile networks do provide a signal at the entrance. Kindest Regards J Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a Glenmorangie Lodge from 3rd until 6th of May. Staff is super friendly, had to wait for the lodge to be ready but they informed us about what to do while we were waiting. Could enter our lodge around 3PM.
The lodges are beautiful. Cosy, clean and up to date. Well-supplied kitchen and great fireplace, which kept us even warmer than necessary.
Only major downside were the beds. We were in a party of three so one of us had to sleep on the sofa bed. There simply wasn't space for this and the mattress was so thin that we asked for an extra single mattress. This was no problem. The woman at the reception immediately made sure that we'd get one, along with extra sheets. Also the mattress in the master bedroom caved in, we could even feel the springs. We believe they could improve the lodges by adding an extra bedroom with a single bed, along with better mattresses. That's all, we enjoyed our little break in The Highlands very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEFFHANGSAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,222 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
730 reviews
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
367 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing