We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of the granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
chat to the cook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
chat to the cook
not a tv - just an efficient heater
a quiet place to sit and read
comfortable seating
beds can be twins or a large king
the cunningly placed bookcase
old farm from loch ness
the en-suite
and again
and again
the family bedroom
and so to bed
the wet room downstairs with heated floor
the downstairs loo
a place for shoes and coats - the boot room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kathryn w
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a lovely property in a beautiful location. We loved our time on the banks of Loch Ness. There is so much to do and see and scenery is stunning. The Granary is a lovely property with all the essentials for an enjoyable stay.marion was great and helped us out even though she was away! Thank you for a great holiday.
Great days out included Ben Nevis, Urquhart castle, the Highland wildlife Park, dolphin spotting and many other sites in between with the added bonus of the most amazing scenery everywhere we went.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicnic140...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“On the shore of Loch Ness”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a wonderful holiday in a beautifully equipped cottage. Marion was very accommodating. Helped us with an online shop, supplied our boys with life jackets so they could go on her boat on a beautiful pond. Very comfortable week. The photographs don't do it justice. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in. There is a summer house which you can enjoy a glass of wine in, with views of Loch Ness. Out youngest even was lucky enough to have a little ride in their JCB. Which he enjoyed thoroughly. Many Thanks from The Thompson's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanda L...
1 review
“Amazing getaway in the heart of Loch Ness”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family - 4 adults - stayed at the Granary for a week at the end of June. It was perfect. Peaceful, plenty of room for 4 of us, and great location to base ourselves for our daily travels. We planned our excursions loosely before we left America, and decided each day's activities based on the weather. (If you wait for a 100% sunny day you will never get anything done. It's just a little rain, so get out there and experience Scotland!) Day 1 we went to Culloden and Clava Cairn, then on to a few of the Speyside distilleries. Day 2 we drove around Inverness and Fort Augustus as well as Urquhart Castle. Day 3 we made the drive to Edinburgh to see the national museum and Edinburgh Castle (6 hour round trip driving, but we got to see the amazing countryside, so well worth it.) Day 4 we went to a craft fair and drove up A9 to the Storehouse for a late lunch as well as exploring the coast and a lighthouse. Day 5 we took the A9 to A99 to visit Wick (Old Pultney distillery), Duncansby Head, and John O'Groats. Day 6 was a lazy day around the loch as we prepared to leave the following day. Loch Ness is packed with tourist, but you would never know as you can walk to the loch access on the property and never see another soul. At the end of the week we didn't want to leave. We fully plan to return in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jptooling
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure and a real Gem”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were so lucky to find this Gem of a place to stay. Every thing you need, peace and stunning views. The owners are so helpful and very polite and nothing is to much trouble. We are going to return next year and its on top of our list

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Views
Liked least: Nothing was all good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnittedNe...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“So comfortable and relaxing with a warm welcome.”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully furnished converted granary, in the secluded grounds of the estate. The spacious well-equipped kitchen has been great, and it has been a pleasure to relax in the upstairs lounge area, and use the immaculately clean wet-room style showers, and the twin washbasins in the ensuite. The bootroom has proved very useful for wet clothing and boots due to the Scottish weather! We have a keen Nessie- spotter in the family who has made the short walk down to the Loch through the beautiful grounds regularly. The owner kindly offered to order groceries to be delivered which was very helpful, as well as promptly helping us with any issues.
The property is located conveniently for Invermoriston village and walking routes, Fort Augustus and Urquhart Castle and Inverness is about 40 minutes up the road. We would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katya O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic staying at the granary”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really liked our accommodation - it was spacious and we had everything that we needed. The place itself is a barn converted into a modern, spacious house. It is right near the lake ( you just need to walk down to it for 3 minutes). We have seen a deer right next to the granary. The area is very quiet and private, but you are quite close to all the famous places: fort Augustus is 5 miles away and Urquart castle is 15 minutes drive away.
We certainly recommend this place to anybody who is looking for a modern accommodation away from (but not too far) from busy city life,

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing