We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to keep it a secret but ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want to keep it a secret but ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous few days in the most beautiful part of the world, with. The most amazing hosts. Tom and Lyn are the perfect hosts and their home is stunning. I would actually say that the pictures on the website don't actually do the rooms true justice. Gorgeous breakfasts.
Throw in a mutual love of box sets and this is pretty much my perfect place.
Go and enjoy, and fall in love.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tingle Creek hotel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked an overnight stay and we were so excited as the reviews are fantastic. We were not disappointed. We arrived at this boutique B&B to be welcomed by the owners Lyn and Tom who made you feel at home and we relaxed immediately. They go out of their way to make your stay extra special. We were shown to our Queen room and on the way, the corridor was lit up by candles this made it feel so romantic and unique. Tom opened the door to our room and WOW! it had a beautiful carved king size sleigh bed with so many pillows that were fluffy and had that royalty feel. We then saw from our french windows a balcony which looked onto Loch Ness what a view! Ideal to sit out and have a glass of wine or two! The en-suite was so modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfast choices were second to none from Eggs Benedict to kippers or the full scottish. We can not fault this B&B. Would we go back? Oh you bet we would but we want to stay longer next time. We felt we arrived as a guest but left as a friend. Thanks Lyn and Tom for truly making our night away simply memorable and special.

Room Tip: We loved the Queen Room think both rooms are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BENcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for just one night and wish it could have been much longer. There are beautiful rooms from all the rooms which have been decorated to an excellent standard. Tom and Lyn could not have been more welcoming and it is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the Highland ambience. A special place and one we will definitiely return to. Thanks so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funyug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Tom & Lyn's lovely home for two nights and wish it could have been more.
From the first minute to the last they made us feel very welcome and plied us with wonderful food from the treats on arriving to the kippers for breakfast.
The location of the b&b allows you to explore the whole of Loch Ness and beyond.
It's a fairly easy walk to Invermoriston and the Glenmoriston Arms Hotel but the village is very small, however Fort Augustus is a longer 6 miles (and taxi-ride away if you want to sample the local beers etc.) but has lots more to offer (see my other reviews).
Try a drive on the south-side of the loch which is much quieter and a much more pleasant drive.
Anyway back to the b&b, the Classic King Room is a very good size with french-doors on to decking that looks straight over the front-garden to the loch beyond (you honestly don't notice the road in between as it's so much lower than the house), there's a good sized elegantly tiled bathroom with separate bath and shower and although the water is from a private water-source the pressure and quality of the water is fine. The bed is huge and soft, you sink in and don't want to get out... which is why I think Tom and Lyn allow you to take breakfast a little later if you choose.
The breakfast food quality and choice is spot-on and all locally sourced I believe.
Yes we had a great stay and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Only two rooms but if you can afford it and it's available go for the Classic King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night earlier this week on our whistle stop tour of the highlands and outer Hebrides - what a beautiful place to choose. It is right on the shores of Loch Ness and although (as you might imagine) the road can be very slightly busy in the morning it was only noticeable due to the amazing tranquility the rest of the time. Our room overlooks the loch and a bird table which was crammed with finches, woodpeckers, robins and even a pheasant!
Lyn and Tom were the most gracious, welcoming and friendly hosts you could wish for, the lovely nibbles on arrival were most appreciated.

I would certainly recommend this place and we will no doubt be returning when we plan our next trip to Scotland

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Tom & Lyn welcomed us warmly when we arrived. Lyn had prepared a tasty array of scones and salmon canapés and brought them to our room. They had prepared a nice little booklet of local information about Loch Ness & its mysterious resident which we found very interesting. Tom made a copy for us to take with us. We had the king room, very large with French doors opening out to the front garden with a view of Loch Ness. The bathroom was state-of-the-art. Breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this B&B to anyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Tom and Lyn have spent a fortune on this fantastic cottage and it is well worth the money. It has the Wow factor. Try and stay more than one night if you can, you'll not want to leave. From the welcoming scones and salmon oat cakes to the traditional Scottish breakfast on a morning you will never forget a moment. The views of Loch Ness from your room and the tranquil sounds of the open country are something you will never forget. Enjoy a walk in the forest behind the cottage or a paddle in the Loch, or go further afield but you'll just want to get back and relax in the bath, and then sink into the softest bed in the world.

Excellent, faultless and very much worth the money.

Room Tip: Try if you can to get the King room, Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
4.6 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bracarina House
Bracarina House
#2 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
8.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B

Property: Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B
Address: Loch Ness Highland Cottage Port Clair, Invermoriston IV63 7YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country Cottage offers deluxe self-catering accommodation for up to 6 people. It has a view of Loch Ness and sits at the edge of the forest through which the Great Glen Way runs. There is a fully equipped kitchen, one double bedroom, one twin-bedrom and one convertible sofa bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B Invermoriston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing