We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
203
134
31
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
134
31
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonate hereloch nessgreat mealpuddinggreat glen wayexcellent restaurantfish and chipsovernight stopthe pubshort breaktwin roomfeel very welcomemade us feelafter a long daycooked breakfastwarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 404 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed here again for the first time in a couple of years and have to agree with comments about the previous management....the new management certainly make you feel welcome and the atmosphere has changed a great deal from the priggish attitude that was instilled previously. Food was excellent, service good but there are still teething problems that can be noticed, although I'm sure these will iron out in time. Rooms are good, some a little tired around the edges but a little TLC goes a long way and I think Paul and Sue have the dedication to do this.

The bar has an excellent array of whisky, including a 30 YO Highland Park at GBP 25 a nip (are you tempted?). Overheard a local say to the bar staff how great it was that they could now come into the bar without feeling unwelcome. Bear in mind that there isn't much in the local area, nearest small town is Fort Augusts, about 6 miles away.

Honestly, a great couple of nights, take the previous reviews into account by all mean, but there's a new sheriff in town :-)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed at The Glenmoriston Arms - the first customers of the friendly new owners.
Please ignore any previous ratings as the previous owner ( having heard the stories from the locals ) was clearly a nut case.
The welcome was very friendly, exceptional satff and we had fab food. Praise should be given to the new chef who himself had only just started on our first day there, but was able to cook us up a treat.
The hotel was warm, clean and tidy. The atmosphere was really nice, a real home from home. Everything was relaxed and the new owners showed a real passion for what they were doing which was nice to see. They couldnt do enough to ensure guests were comfortable and looked after.
We would always stay here again when in the area.
Hotel in beautiful location , very close to Loch Ness. All attractions in easy walking or driving distance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpooltravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

I was robbed...........
Whilst staying in Invermoriston in a lovely little chalet, I thought it would be nice for myself and my 3 travel companions to eat out locally, being the only place near by we decided to go to the Glenmoriston arms hotel. We received a chilly welocome, and were immediately ripped off for 4 drinks.
The menu was limited and ohhhhh what a price.
I live in Harrogate and can eat out so much cheaper. But we thought perhaps the meals would be something special. How wrong we were. Small portions and no veg on the side, apparantely the veg was already in the pies we ordered.
DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!!!!! It was frosty outside but sooo much warmer than in this place. If you do stay nearby head to Fort Augustus, friendlier and more choice.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank callumbrodick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Despite all other reviewers, we had nothing to complain about this place except that we had to miss breakfast the 2nd morning to leave early.

We arrived about 5pm after being on the road all day. It was raining and cold, so it was nice to find our room has been heated up when we walked in. Check in was easy. We had the Four Poster room and it has to be the biggest hotel room we've been in. Bathroom was also lovely and heated too! The jacuzzi was amazing and great after a whole day of driving. The bed was nice and comfortable.

We booked in for dinner at 7pm when we checked in. We were quite curious what was on the menu while we were having drinks in the bar.

Husband had the haggis for entree and I had the stilton tart. Both were absolutely lovely. It was the first time either of us had haggis and we both loved it! We both had steak for main which was slightly over-cooked for our liking but still tasty. Dessert were also lovely.

Staff were absolutely helpful when we asked about laundry. They don't do laundry but we were given clear instructions and even drawn a map of a laundromat in Inverness that we could go to!

We had a lovely sleep, it was soo quiet at night.

Breakfast next morning was lovely. Eggs cooked exactly the way we like. That day we stayed out a bit late sight-seeing and had dinner out before we got back around 8pm. We were surprised to discover Keith was hanging around to find out whether we want anything to eat! Had we known we would have phoned up to let them know we'll be back late and not needing dinner that night. Personally I think that's great service for you!

We then arranged our early check out the next morning with Keith, who's more than happy to get up early to check out us. He even helped us with our luggage the next morning!

We had a lovely experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vb527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Having heard a friend struggle to get food at around 8pm the previous week of the Great Glen Way we booked in advance - I have to grudgingly admit the food was good. This is the only evening food/bar outlet in Invermoriston so it unfortunately has a monopoly. It used to be lively and popular before being taken over by new owners about a year ago who have chosen to close the tavern where walkers, cyclists and locals could hang out playing pool and darts. The place is now cold and devoid of atmosphere and service, although timely, had no warmth whatsoever - a most unwelcoming place. Our experience was similar to others the same evening as we swapped stories over breakfast. The only bright side was that it was so bad it made for a good laugh.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Thank CalumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews