We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Tasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Certificate of Excellence
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Helpful and Tasty”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived as the kitchen was closing and we were lost. The folks at the Glenmoriston were helpful and accommodating. Our four meals were very good. I really enjoyed my venision. We didn't stay the night as we had reservations nearby, but we think it's worthy of a stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    117
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
53
192
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stopped for lunch, didn't realise you could get soup and a sandwich wrong. Poor basic food that felt like cheap supermarket ingredients. Never eat here. Service was ok at best. Poor all in all and would not revisit

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Three of us went for lunch here as a treat - what a disappointment! One soup was clearly past it's use by date (although denied by the staff). The other meals were worse than uninspired and not a pleasure to eat, with nobody managing to eat more than half of theirs. When we complained the manager was defensively apologetic but did reduce the bill.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hello,

While I did not stay at the Glenmoristion Arms Hotel, I stayed nearby and enjoyed a great meal here as well as a "wee dram" or two! They state that they serve all of the 200+ Scotch Whiskeys that Scotland produces and the bar certainly looks that must be true.
As a vegetarian in Scotland, it sometimes proved to be difficult to find good pub food. The Glenmoriston Arms Hotel proved the exception as it served me a great pesto pasta dish that was pretty filling without being overly slathered in sauce. All in all, a good dining experience in the tiny hamlet that is Invermoriston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timjstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachie1, Owner at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and appreciate your kind comments. I would just point out though that we don't have 200+ whiskies. Sometimes after you've tried a few it just seems like it! We state we have over 100 and we hope you will be back some day to try some of the ones you never got round to. Thanks again for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the The Old Tavern King rooms for 6 nights and could find no fault. We ate in the Restaurant a number of times and found the food and service superb.
This Hotel is centrally located for access to so many day trips in and around the highlands.
We managed John O'Groats, Isle of Skye, Jacobite railway, Inverness, Fort William and numerous other attractions enroute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoreFeet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We got married at the Glenmoriston Arms Hotel in 2011. I had family living in Invermoriston until last year and the place is quite special to me, with it's beautiful tranquility. I had always liked going to eat at the hotel when visiting my grandparents so it seemed like quite a nice idea when we were visiting a few years ago to ask if they would consider allowing us to apply for a licence to marry there and to have a dinner-party style wedding reception (no disco, yuk!!). We and our friends all travelled up from England and Wales and basically booked the place out. A bit of an ask to get 30-odd people to take the time to come up all that way what with the cost of the travel and accomodation etc so I did hope it would be nice. Well I could never have guessed at just how great it would all turn out...

The hotel is lovely, it's not flash but it has a lot of traditional highland charm which is far nicer. The food was just amazing, praise to the chef! Not just the wedding meal, which was out of this world, but also all the lunches and bar food we and our friends ate over the course of the weekend. Not one soggy sandwich or lukewarm bowl of soup for anyone the whole time, despite being fully booked, all home made, well made, fresh and scrumptious food. The whisky bar was quite a hit with the men (and some of the girls!!) It is all set in the most beautiful place but what really and absolutely made it for us though was the hospitality; the team are just wonderful, the present owner, Aisla and her family, had only just taken over that summer and they and the staff all just absolutely bent over backwards to make sure we had the most special day of our lives. And that wasn't done for us because we were paying them tens of thousands of pounds, they did everything they could to help me stick to my modest wedding budget and to get a fairly "DIY" wedding in Scotland organised from Wales. The cost was very reasonable so they weren't just being nice for the money, they are genuinely lovely people running a very nice hotel in a fabulous place. They made our wedding day so special and I absolutely cannot thank and praise them enough.

We had the time of our lives and all our friends and family enjoyed themselves immensely. Many said was one of the nicest weddings they had been to in a long time, and (naturally) we certainly thought so!

Go to the Glenmoriston Arms Hotel, you will have a lovely time and a special memory of your trip :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had an evening meal here. we were staying at the B&B next door. The staff were very welcoming and flexible about our table booking (after we screwed up the numbers). The food was really very good indeed and beautifully prepared and presented. Service was good and people were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,171 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
11.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
395 reviews
9.9 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
389 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Property: Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoriston Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel located in the Scottish Highlands by Loch Ness. On the road to the Isle of Skye, Fort William and Inverness. Perfectly placed to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands. This charming old Hotel, has 8 traditionally furnished bedrooms within the main building and 3 more contemporary styled external bedrooms. The Moriston Bar and restaurant serves quality Scottish fayre, locally sourced where possible, and an extensive range of single malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenmoriston Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Arms Invermoriston
Hotel Glenmoriston Arms
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing