We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time and excellent laughs!”
Review of Craik Na Dav B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craik Na Dav B & B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Four of us walked the Great Glen Way during september 2011 and we had the foresight to book Craik Na Dav ( or the "Craig David B&B" before we arrived and learned how to say it!!!). Like other reviewers, I have to say that the welcome we received by Lindsey and Manda was second to none. We were instantly made to feel welcome and invited into their lounge for a cuppa and some home made cake!

Following an evening at the local (and only!) hote, we returned fortified by both food and the odd medicinal alcoholic beverage (for healing powers for blisters you understand!( and again, we were welcomed into the lounge by the ladies where we spent an hilarious hour or so recounting tales and experiences. it was a real hoot!

The B&B itself is just gorgeous with outstanding views. Lovely personal touches included the home made cake upon arrival, a wee dram of whisky in the bedroom, toiletries etc in the bathrooms. These, copuled with the warm welcome, abundance of birds and the fab brekkies ( this was the first b&b that we stayed in during our walk that provided kippers and poached eggs - divine! Also, the packed lunch was enough to have kept us walking all the way to Inverness - even if the feet weren't willing!

Thank you to both Lindsey and Manda. your place is fab!

Heather and Gareth

Room Tip: Our room had an eco-friendly shower in the ensuite and our ensuite was slighlty larger than our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather and G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Hi Heather and Gareth
It was such a laugh when you all landed to stay with us during your Great Glen Way walk, and thanks so much for taking the time to write such a raving review for us, it is much appreciated. Hope you all enjoyed the rest of the walk and that the weather was kind.
Take care of each other
Best wishes
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 686 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

I'd actually started our trip by looking for hotels, as we had two dogs and I didn't think B&Bs would welcome them. I came across Craik Na Dav by accident and am so glad I did. We were welcomed with fresh coffee and great warmth, the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, the cottage is a few minutes outwith the village - within a very short walk but completely private in pretty grounds with good parking space.
The village is small but has interesting walks along the river right down to Loch Ness, plus pub, shop and craft shop and is pretty close to Castle Urquhart and Drumnadrochit or on the route up to Skye.
The dogs were virtually hijacked and fussed to bits, as were we, and breakfast was plentiful and good quality. I wish we had stayed there throughout the trip instead of a single night and hope to return - I would recommend Craik Na Dav to friends with confidence. The only slight problem was that I had to coax the dogs to leave....!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Hi Vanessa
It was so nice to meet you and Norman and of course Bru and Jack when you stayed with us. We are very grateful that you could find the time to write a review for us, thanks so much. Hope you had a good trip home and you may make it back some day.
Take care - Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Welcoming and friendly. Dog friendly and spotlessly clean. Comfy room lovely en-suite.
Cracking breakfast
I highly recommend the porridge very very tasty! :-))
Packed lunch was also brilliant and kept me going all through the day's walk from Invermoriston to Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Hi Dot
So glad you enjoyed the rest of your Great Glen Walk with the Rangers, and congratulations on raising so much money for the charities in memory of your son. It was so nice to meet you and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.
Take care - Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our double room was compact and newly decorated with lots of nice touches (complementary shortbreads, malt whisky and doggie biscuits for Flynn). Amanda and Lindsey were excellent hosts inviting us for coffee in their lounge and making a real fuss of Flynn. He felt really at home which made our stay all the more relaxing. Definitely recommended for dog owners !

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Regaltours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Hi Richard and Chris, and of course Flynn
It was so nice to meet you all and thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. It was good to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your Great Glen Way walk, and I hope you liked the photo of Flynn we emailed.
Take care of each other - Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

great hospitality from the moment we arrived, very relaxing place with a good atmosphere, lovely clean rooms, highly recommended as nothing was too much trouble. Lovely walks around the area , Thanxs for ur great hospitality lindsay and manda next time i want to see the elusive pinemartin in the flesh

Room Tip: relaxing atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Hi Karen
It was great to meet you all and thanks so much for putting a review on for us, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your walk along the GGW and we will try to book the Pine Marten appearance for your next visit lol
Take care, Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hi Manda, Lindsey, Angus, Fraser, Skye and the sneaky pine marten, thanks for having us. Your hospitality was second to none. I would definately recommend this B&B, the rooms were fab as was the food. The packed lunch was also delicious. You are fab hosts and I will defo be back to visit. Tell the pine marten I was asking for her. If visiting the highlands this B&B is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Hi Karen
We really enjoyed meeting you and the girls and thanks very much for taking the time to write a review for us. Hopefully the Pine Marten will visit next time lol and do keep and eye on our facebook page where we will post photos and videos of them.
Take care
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The house is modern and beautifully kept. It's situation attracted birds, squirrels and even a pine marten to the garden. Although it was only a two minute walk to the centre of the village, there was no traffic noise The room, including shower room and toilet, was very clean. The owners were very anxious to please, providing tea and home made cakes on arrival. They were exceptionally friendly and attentive at all times. They clearly loved having guests in their house.They were also very helpful in pointing out all the attractions in the village.There was a good selection for breakfast.and a packed lunch was provided at a small extra charge. I could not fault Craik Na Dav in any way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Paterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Hi Neil and Elizabeth
It was lovely to meet you when you were walking the GGW to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary and well done to you both ! I am so glad you enjoyed the reunion in Drumnadrochit and the celebrations with your family. Hopefully we will meet again one day.
Take care of each other.
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
8.7 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
407 reviews
8.8 mi away
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Glenmoriston
557 reviews
5.6 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 26 in Fort Augustus
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craik Na Dav B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craik Na Dav B & B

Address: Craik-Na-Dav Loch Ness, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craik Na Dav B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a warm welcome to our home in Invermoriston on the banks of Loch Ness. We are dog friendly, have three fantastic Westies of our own and will welcome well behaved dogs. We have ample off road private parking and facilities for bicycle and equipment storage. With homely surroundings and hearty breakfasts our aim is to help you enjoy a relaxing break and make the most of your stay with us. All the rooms are en-suite with tea / coffee making facilities, Free WiFi, IPOD dock, alarm clock, TV, DVD player with a selection of DVDs available to watch and hairdryer. There is also a "wee dram" of whisky for you to enjoy. We cook your selected breakfast just for you at the time you request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Craik Na Dav B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craik Na Dav B & B Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing