We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodges on Loch Ness
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have had another great weekend here, cant fault the staff and service in any way
would recommend for a weekend away, this company also own the pub along the road where
they have live music on most weekends

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for a week at Lodges on Loch Ness. These lodges may have been luxury in their day, but the owners do not seem to be maintaining them as they should be. They seem to want the full rental charge from people, but are not willing to spend the money when anything breaks. When reporting any issues we were given constant excuses and sob stories from them!! Also, I have never been to a self-catering unit where the owner asks you to dispose of your rubbish. We were asked to take any bottles/glass down to Foyers village to bottle bank!! When out walking along the bank, the owner has been dumping the rubbish from the lodges along the banking. Electricity & Gas charges totally excessive!! Any excuse to manage to get more money out of people they do!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank 401Trevor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. The village of Foyers has a recycle point and many guests ask about the use of one. For this reason we have been telling guests about it. However you as a guest are NOT expected to dispose of your own rubbish, and we as a company, and please make no mistake certainly do not free tip on our site or anywhere else!
I will of course look into your comments with our site staff. I would welcome the chance to talk with you on your points and would ask that if you feel comfortable to do so that you contact me via telephone on 01463 23 99 61 or by email on info@lodgesonlochness.com
We do try to ensure that your stay with us if to your full satisfaction and it's disappointing to hear anything less.

Kind Regards

Callum Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travelled up from Norfolk on the 23rd December. It took us approx. 10 hours with about 5 stops. We did our food shop before which I would recommend as there is no supermarket nearby, although you can get a tesco shop delivered. The lodge was amazing. Very spacious for the 5 of us, fully equipped kitchen so that we could cook Christmas dinner and the bathrooms were luxurious. The hot tub was the highlight of our stay, with spectacular views of the loch. There were plenty of walks to go on during the day, as well as it being close to the Loch Ness exhibition and Urqhart Castle (which we drove to, approx. 40mins away). We took two dogs with us but didn't find out until we arrived that there was a £35 charge for having dogs there. We are still to hear about how much our utilities will cost, but the lodge heated up very quickly so you can keep costs low. I would highly recommend the lodges as a quiet, peaceful and scenic break, and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWatts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the lodges for a week at the beginning of December (my second stay this year). The place is amazing, the lodges are out of this world ( I can't believe that some people have complained about a bit of missing exterior paint, jeez!!!). The staff are more than friendly, kind and approachable. The whole place is just very laid back, which in my opinion is how a place like this should be run. I had numerous conversations with Callum ( the owner) and he has always done right by me. In short, great place, amazing views, lovely staff, great relaxing holiday. We will definetly be returning soon!! Thanks to the owners, see you soon.
Danny

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannybutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Danny, thank you for your kind review. See you again soon. Kind Regards Callum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a trip to the Lodges.

Amazing views over Loch Ness, defiantly the best place in Scotland. You can't beat waking up to amazing views.

Lodges are very well laid out, well stocked with cook wear and towels. These lodges are self catering and once you stock the fridge with food and wine you need not leave the place.

When we arrived the Hot Tub was as the right temp, quick shower, glass of wine and in the tub.

The lodges are lovely and warm. It started to get a bit colder at night and rain, we lit the fire and snuggled up on the couches.

I had the best nights sleep i have every had away from my own bed. The master bed is HUGE. You need to call a Taxi to roll over to the other side. I love a nice comfortable bed and this did not disappoint

Owners are really friendly and were on the end of the phone if we had any problems. Checkin/Checkout was easy and painless.

Will visit again in the near future and will not hesitate to tell my friends

Room Tip: if in a party, put dibs on the master bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Guthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

excellant cabin, good location, facilities good, ideal for family and friends, dont be put off by the rule book! it is a bit much with all the extra charges if you make noise etc etc etc....the elec and gas isnt cheap but overall well worth it as its a superb holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samstarhotlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked for a long weekend for a family celebration. Firstly the positives. The location is stunning, overlooking the loch. The lodges are spacious and well equipped. However as the weekend wore on and since we have become increasingly less impressed.

Having booked on line no e-mail acknowledgement was recieved confirming the booking until they were contacted to confirm that the booking was in order. Despite promising an e-mail reminder 6 weeks before the balance was due this was not done, we found ourselves reminding them that the balance was due. At the time these seemed relatively minor oversights however as things proceeded they became symptomatic of the way in which this company deals with their customers. Bear in mind that these lodges are marketed as luxury and are expensive, therefore a high level of customer care is paid for and expected.

On arrival the lodge looked good, all was in order. However, a number of issues became apparent. The exterior paintwork was in poor condition with the balcony rail left half painted. In one toilet, the sink plug was not working and the steam facility in the shower was not working. The plug and steam room were verbally reported the next day and was left with we will get someone to look at it, no one appeard. The digi box was not working, we fixed this ourselves. Each item on its own was an inconvenience however they do add up and were not in line with a luxury service.

The spa bath most definitely does not seat six in any degree of comfort, three and it is full.

The main complaint is the fuel bill. The additional payment for fuel is buried in the small print, so read it carefully, Also the way in which this is done is very poor. We noted our electricity readings however no access was possible to the gas meter. The payment was due from our account shortly after leaving. We asked for a statement itemising the fuel bill before any money was taken. This was promised but never arrived although they claim to have e-mailed it, a request to send a copy has had no response. The money was taken without any statement a month after our stay. The biggest suprise was being charged nearly £50 for a weekend of gas and electricity, nearly half of our normal monthly bil at homel.

If you look at other reviews the manner in which the fuel bill is buried in the small print, the size of the bill and the way it is taken have been raised by other customers. It is obvious they are not listening to their customers issues.

We will not be returning as the attitude of the company is poor and not a luxury service. Not worth the luxury price tag.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank alma5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Alma5051, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we missed the plug issue and that the steam room was not working. Unfortunately we are no differant to any one else when it comes to awaiting replacments for things and in this case we were awaiting a part for the steam generator. I understand your disappointment at this, the steam room is now fully operational.
However with regards to your futher coments I have to express dissapointment to the content. Firstly you are giving the impression the the spa bath is for 6 people. The spa bath is a double ended bath located off the master bedroom designed to 2 people should you wish. The HOT TUB to give it it's correct discription is designed for 6 people and will seat 6 people quite comfortably so I think it's a little unhelpful to make comments as you have that are clearly not true.
Secondly we make it quite clear in our T&Cs that utility usage will be charged and how it will be charged. To book online as you did in this occation you must tick that you have read and agreed this information. The T&Cs will if printed cover one side of a sheet of A4 paper, and there is no small print nor is anything hidden in small print. We charge the gas and electric at cost price and it is simply a case of you pay for what you use.
If any one who has read this review has any questions regards the content please feel free to contact me personally via email on info@lodgesonlochness or by telephone on 01463 239961

Kind Regards
Callum Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
378 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
34 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumnadrochit Lodges
Drumnadrochit Lodges
#5 of 15 in Drumnadrochit
109 reviews
8.3 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge
Loch Ness Lodge
#1 of 4 in Abriachan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodges on Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges on Loch Ness

Address: The Turns | South Loch Ness Side, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Foyers
Price Range: $178 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodges on Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodges On Loch Ness Hotel Inverness
Lodges On Loch Ness Foyers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing