We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing night away in beautiful Foyers Bay House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foyers Bay Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foyers Bay Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing night away in beautiful Foyers Bay House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I spent a night in Foyers Bay House recently, and have to say, it was a perfect stay. Wonderful host! Kate was very friendly and was always ensuring we were very comfortable and happy. David was a joy to talk to and we learnt a lot about whisky from him. The room (room 1) was lovely, comfy bed, great shower, shared balcony overlooking the loch!
We had dinner in the conservatory, where the setting was perfect and the food was great!
All in all a wonderful night away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This has a wonderful location with fine views of Loch Ness from the dining room and bedrooms. It is a well run hotel with all the usual small hotel amenities. Room had access to a balcony area on the first floor. Dining was a particularly good experience in a friendly atmosphere, great views and good food both in the morning and evening.
There is much to do in the surrounding area and easy access to Inverness. We would return at any time of the year and recommend this small hotel for comfort and food to all our friends.

Room Tip: Consider the superior rooms as ours was perfect in amenities and size. Ask the owners for driving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a rather strange experience and I'm still not quite sure what to make of it. Enthusiastic but rather stressed welcome by the female owner, completely ignored by the male owner. Room was OK, bed OK, clean. Breakfast was good and well cooked, dinner was average and we were asked to order in advance as it can get 'very busy' (the hotel takes 16 guests and there were never that many in the restaurant for dinner!!). We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner there both nights purely due to the remote location up a narrow gravel track which we didn't fancy negotiating after dark.There was an almost permanent sense of panic but there was clearly nothing to panic about. The owners have apparently been there for over 6 years so it is reasonable to conclude that they should have this cosy little businesss down to a fine art - regrettably not! Given the amazing views from the restaurant, in professional hands this place could be a gold mine. We were unimpressed by the male owner who (remembering that he totally ignored us on arrival and couldn't be bothered to say goodbye either) saw fit to interupt our conversation with some other guests on 2 consecutive evenings and proceed to dominate the conversation through what was almost a monologue on both occasions. There was, I'm afraid, a sense of it all being a bit false and unnatural.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Foyers Bay House was fine, as were the owners both very friendly and helpful if not a bit stressed. Our room was comfortable (7 on the ground floor) and clean with our own terrace, actually a bit of gravel with a small fence around it but nice enough to be able to sit outside. Nice walk to Falls of Foyers, and a short downhill walk to the banks of Loch Ness. Dinner was pretty good as was breakfast, all in all a nice place to stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Probably the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in. It was like sleeping on a sack of washers. This could be a nice place. The owners need to find a balance between being friendly and over friendly, bordering on being unnatural. The food in the restaurant was ok. Breakfast better than dinner. Dinner created a rush in the "kitchen" with the chef/owner running around the lounge with raw meat in his bare hands! There is something familiar about all of this - Faulty Towers?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0bby_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very rude, unfriendly male owner. Female owner was over the top friendly – but it was not natural. Room was dark, dingy, damp and depressing. Rather like a cell.
Breakfast was shocking. First 2 attempts at hard-boiled eggs – still cold and liquid. Second attempt at the next 2, still completely raw. Very risky. Also tinned fruit (I did ask if they had a banana – but no!), disgusting coffee, and all served in a very tense unfriendly environment. Could not get out fast enough. Also driveway is a very very rough road, even in a 4x4. We were the only 2 guest staying during the easter break. overpriced. Avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AandC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Foyers Bay house was very nice. Absolutely loved the couple running the place. They where very friendly & informative. The room we stayed in was very nice, clean, and excellent shower!! The whole house is gorgeous with great views of Loch Ness.. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the short hike to the falls!!! Great place to stay!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank POrtegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
9.6 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#2 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#1 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyers Bay Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers Bay Country House

Property: Foyers Bay Country House
Address: Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyers Bay Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foyers Bay Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers Bay Country House Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing