We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I would certainly return”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Wee Residence

archway in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
archway in
back of building living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
archway in
back of building
living room
living room
living room
kitchen
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
entrance
bathroom
garden
front garden and park beyond
front garden and park beyond
sunset over Glenlia
round about
Loch Mhor
Loch Ness Sunset
romantic Loch Ness
clouds over Loch Ness
Cultie
round about
Gorthleck in snow
me and my dog
Loch Ness
A bit further North
A bit further West-Torridon
Quirang-Skye
Loch Ness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Foyers, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheila P
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would certainly return”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wee Residence, Foyers, Highlands 7-13/9/2013
I liked this well managed, comfortable 1-bed ground floor flat near the banks of Loch Ness. It was clean and private with a pleasant well fitted kitchen and convenient parking for a small car at the door. Hostess Enrica was friendly and helpful. The shower could do with better water pressure and Inverness - ½ hour away along narrow roads with passing places - was the nearest decent shopping but I enjoyed my stay. It was peaceful and I would return for a longer stay. Thank you for your kindness Enrica.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Privacy and overall ergonomics
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Very happy you enjoyed yourselves. Unfortunately there is not a lot I can do about the shower pressure (various plumbers have tried) all the houses there suffers from the same problem....all the best Enrica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRoo2
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting, hassle-free holidaying”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved the Wee Residence. Very cosy and in such a quiet and beautiful location. We had everything we needed and enjoyed returning in the evenings to sit in front of the fire. We'd have no hesitation in staying there again, next time we'll take the dog too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like being at home, very comfortable
Liked least: Lack of phone signal in the area, but got over it after a couple of days :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
So glad, and yes, dogs are very welcome! best things. Enrica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant Stay again”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We went back to the Wee Residence again this year as we enjoyed our stay so much last year. This cottage is of the highest standard. It is clean and tidy and there is everything you could wish for. The garden is gorgeous to sit in ad listen to nothing but the Falls of Foyers. Lovely walks all around the area. The cottage and whole area is full of charm. The owner Enrica is a lovely lady, nothing is too much trouble and in kitting out the cottage she thought of everything. There is a Tesco not too far away in Inverness so you can stock up for the week as the cottage has a freezer too. There is cafe and shop just a short walk for everything else. Fort Augustus just down the road is great for watching boats go up and down the locks on the Caledonian Canal. Loch Tarff is worth a visit as is the stunning Loch Killin. If you want a home from home of a very high standard from which to explore this stunning part of Scotland then this is place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing, no coplaints at all
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
your review warmed the cockles of my heart...(whatever they are)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildfell
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing, great for the dog and two companions.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The only very small downside was the extra sleeping arrangement. My daughter took the option to sleep on the futon because I have a painful condition so can't sleep on one. So she was a little uncomfortable at times. But saying that I am sure others would be more than comfortable on it. The rest of the holiday cottage was very clean and very peaceful. We had a great time. Thankyou Enrica. I will keep 'plugging' it for you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulnes of the place and cleanliness.
Liked least: Residence near us with unfriendly dogs.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
so glad you had a good time and were comfy
thanks for the Loch Inn recommendation, I have heard other people saying the same, hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayzurri
Dundee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wee Gem”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Wee Residence is ideal for a get away from it all base. It's far from small interior, spacious lounge, bedroom , shower room and dining/kitchen offer a perfect home from home. Very comfortable with everything you need for a short stay. We enjoyed the art and nic nacs - clearly the owner has taste in art. The open fire is a great feature and with Enrica advising to bring our own fuel - we came prepared. Not to worry though if you don't she'd prepared a fire to light.

There was plenty of information to hand for walks, drives, and attractions.

We'd recommend a visit to Fort Augustus, the Lock Inn did a great bowl of soup, and the Dores Inn (about 10 miles away) did great steaks - I'd recommend booking as it was very busy on a Wednesday evening.


Would definitely stay again in the future.

Thanks we had a great relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open Fire
Liked least: Pillows - I'm fussy and like a hard pillow - should have brought my own.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2014
hi
thank you for your review and so glad you had a good time! my response is just a tad late, sorry///better late than never...lol
best things
enrica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangan01
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful spacious, cosy and well maintained property”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

The whole experience was efficiently dealt with. Enrica provided the right level of communication prior to our holiday so we knew exactly where we were going and what to do once we arrived. We were delighted to find the property was above our expectations in size and what was provided, we could not have asked for more. The property was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, we especially loved the open fire which we used every evening! The location was beautiful, everyone in the neighboring properties were very friendly and quiet and the local shop and cafe were within walking distance when we needed them. We could not fault anything about our holiday other than the weather, we would have loved to have more snow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the comfort and spaciousness of the property
Liked least: the rain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2014
Very sorry to be so late in replying! thank you soooooo much for your review. If you decide to come back I promise I will respond quicker next time! All the very best
Enrica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pichlerb
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enrica is a Wonderful Host! Love the Wee Residence!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose. This isn't a christmas carol I'm describing, its The Wee Residence! Perfect atmosphere for a winter getaway complete with prepared fireplace for roasting chestnuts, fully stocked kitchen utensils for cooking that perfect meal, and a cosy bed to dream of sugar plums dancing in your head. We could not have stubbled upon a better place to stay in Loch Ness. When we first arrived, we were greeted with the warmth of a happy home. Enrica was kind enough to have the heat on and fireplace set up for our arrival. Our dog loved that he had a bed set up right next to the fire. Despite the freezing weather we could not miss the opportunity to take the short hike down to the Falls of Foyers, less then a mile away. The view was nothing less than AMAZING! An assortment of books and DVDs were provided to occupy those dark nights. We would love to return in the summer time to further explore the Loch. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, it truly felt like a home away from home. Thank you Enrica!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful location and complete at home feel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2013
I am so so happy to read your review, love the chestnut roasting bit! Love to all. Enrica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$76
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing