We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Craigdarroch Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Foyers B&B and Inns
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Amazing views from a wonderful room overlooking the Loch. This room was a free upgrade from a Groupon Deal, excellent value and great Scottish hospitality.
Friendly helpful staff, amazing breakfasts and a good choice for evening meals, good food, clean and tidy rooms. We needed a few days away and the breathtaking views and hotel location were the tonic we were looking for. Wonderful driving roads, great test for the car. Easy reach of Inverness and the local historical sites.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    101
    48
    25
    34
See reviews for
48
228
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Did`nt stay at hotel but we were staying nearby, visited 3 times in the evening to eat, average food and choice, on first visit got our order wrong, my sons portion of food was very stingy indeed, ordered him extra on next visit. After New years day, several items on menu were not available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael_kU9290VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice in 2013. Once in June for our anniversary and again in September. We stayed in the same room on both occasions. However in September we were accompanied by both my brothers and their wives. We saw their rooms and the standard was as high as our room which was excellent. However we did pay extra for Loch facing rooms. My only issue with this hotel was that the menu was the same in September as it was in June, however the food was very good.
We would be happy to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. Please vary the menu though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Arcrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for one night on a last minute booking. Don't let your first impressions influence your opinion, once you get past the pot holed drive and the sparce exterior, the views the traditional interior and above all the staff and the food were way above our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyracer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The weekend spent at loch ness was one of the best of my life as my boyfriend and I got engaged! The only downside was the accommodation.

We booked through groupon which was all fine. We arrived very late due to a late flight and then driving the hire car the wrong way round the loch (makes you really appreciate the size!). This property is VERY HARD TO FIND, particularly in the dark and coming from the wrong direction. More, and larger, signs would be helpful. We were let in through the pub on the side and shown to our room.

The room was fine. Not brilliant, just fine. Bed was huge (bonus), mattress was lumpy but the view was spectacular! (mind you we had paid an extra £35 for it). I wouldn't say this was 'loch side' particularly as there is approx 1/2 mile between the hotel and the actual banks of the loch.

Breakfast was ok. Staff seemed to be a bit offish with us, not sure who it is that is being so friendly to everyone else! We were particularly disappointed when we mentioned at our pre-booked dinner at the hotel the evening of our engagement (say 2.5 hours in) that we had got engaged that day, and it was as if the server did not care. She didn't even perk up when we bought ourselves champagne and the tradition of free things when you get engaged certainly doesn't apply here! (We're British - its not like we expect much haha).

DO go and visit Loch Ness, I certainly plan to particularly as it will forever be the spot where my husband to be asked me to marry him, whether I would stay at this hotel again... probably not!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the upgrade for the view - it is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HollieK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDY, Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on 7th November - what a super hotel with stunning views overlooking Loch Ness. The owners Elinor and Martin are very welcoming and helpful - the rooms are spacious and warm - food and service was excellent.
Only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, but we are already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Changes at hotel include American style diner pub, poor food either microwaved or fried no Scottish feel. Caravan site opposite spoils the views compared to other hotels. Asked for wine they had " red or white" that was the choice. Expensive rates although clean comfortable rooms it is all over rated living on the previous owners, it is sad to see the demise although they can't be blamed for the caravan site. If you've been before expect disappointment as it not any way near 4 star very sad.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel near by plenty to choose and check the caravan site is not visible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nigel358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
5.9 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foyers Bay Country House
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#2 of 5 in Foyers
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigdarroch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigdarroch Inn

Property: The Craigdarroch Inn
Address: Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland (Formerly Craigdarroch House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigdarroch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional Highland lodge in a rural location overlooking Loch Ness. Friendly local inn serving real ales and food every day. Log fires and comfortable en suite rooms, some with loch view. Open all year. 15 miles from Inverness on the eastern shore of Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Craigdarroch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigdarroch Hotel Foyers
The Craigdarroch Inn Foyers, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing