We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Great!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craigdarroch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Craigdarroch Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I managed to get hold of a Groupon voucher for this hotel. I was a little worried before we left as I saw some terrible reviews of the place.

Check in was painless, done in minutes and shown to our room.

The room itself is a bit tired, that said it is clean and well presented. Clean towels each morning which I would expect.

Breakfast is a basic cereal and the likes. If you want a cooked breakfast that is extra. Our offer had the cooked included so I was happy.

We had the "5 course set menu" on the Saturday. Due to feedback they changed it to a 3 course a la carte menu which worked for us. We also received 2 mini courses which was a nice touch. The food was excellent, couldn't fault it at all. Service took around 90 minutes to have our dinner which I thought was a good pace.

Overall did I feel like I got a good deal? Yes because I booked it through Groupon, I would have had a different opinion if I had paid full price.

Room Tip: Opt for a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    90
    39
    22
    33
See reviews for
41
211
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

went the craigdarroch house hotel for a special weekend we booked it though groupon when we got there on the 29thmarch we were told the private bar was open as long as people were drinking only to told at 11.55 that the bar was closed we never even got told it was last ordrers the next night saturday 30th we had booked our meal for 8pm went down to the restraunt which was very busy the waitress took our order and 10min later we got our starter things went down hill from there after 45mins waiting for our main we walked out when the owner came and asked what the problem was we explained about the wait and told her that it was not waitresses fault as she was ran of her feet trying to serve 7tables the owner then told us that the reason for this was that they just opened a new public bar that night and had invited guests to the opening so her and her husband we in the public most of night she the offered to get the chef to make us a sandwich which at 10.30 at night i think was unaceptable considering the price they charge i think they should get there priorities right

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent Easter weekend at Craigdarroch, having bought a Groupon voucher which included two nights' stay, dinner on one night and breakfast on both mornings. Overall we had a lovely stay but it wasn't without a few issues.

Pros:
- Wonderful scenery, it really is a beautiful place. Knowing we were staying there for my birthday, my boyfriend's Mum called ahead and asked for an upgrade to a room with a loch view, which was much appreciated. The walks nearby are also well set out, the falls are definitely worth a trip.
- We briefly spoke to the owners and they were very friendly. I disagree with a previous comment saying that their dogs were aggressive, it's great that the place is dog-friendly.
- The whisky selection is impressive. Don't think this needs further explanation!

Cons:
- I was surprised when I found out that Craigdarroch is 4 star. The whole place looks a bit tired (especially the outside, the house itself could do with a lick of paint and the old kids play equipment makes the place look a bit shabby) and could do with an overhaul. The decor of our room was dated (bright lime green is too much to handle in the morning) and the TV was ridiculously tiny.
- Our dining experience at the hotel was TERRIBLE. Honestly the most chaotic service I've seen for a long time. There were maybe five tables in, two people at each, and one stressed-out, frazzled waitress either rushing around frantically or disappearing for ten minutes at a time. Our table was booked for 8:30 and it took us 30 minutes of waiting without drinks to place an order (the waitress kept telling us she'd take our order then disappearing) and an hour for the main to arrive. By that point I was almost eating off my own arm with hunger and other guests were getting annoyed and leaving (one couple left after the starter, I don't think they ever got their main). The whole meal (three courses) took two hours to complete, in a place with so few guests I don't think there's any excuse for this. The food was actually very nice, it's just a shame that the service was so awful. The problem is that there are few alternatives nearby, I'm glad that we only had to endure one night of dining in the hotel though. Breakfast was nice and a lot less chaotic, thankfully.

Overall, having paid the discounted price that we did we were very happy with our stay at Craigdarroch. However, had we paid the full price (especially for the meal) we would have felt pretty ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arriving at the Craigdarroch House Hotel is impressive. The hotel is in an amazing location with spectacular views of the loch nestled in a forest. Was there for the Loch Ness marathon and was generally impressed with the hotel and the location but it wast perfect and at 160£ for my room I thought it could be better. Firstly a cooked breakfast wasn't included (which for the price is a joke) and that leaves a bit of a sour taste. We also had to jam tea bags into the window as the latch wasn't working properly and the window wouldn't close properly. We didn't complain as it want a big issue but again for the price this sort of thing shouldn't happen.

On the plus side the location is AMAZING, the staff were exceptionally friendly and the bar has an impressive selection of Scotch. Overall a good place to stay but could do with someone polishing certain areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great hotel interms of what were looking for: peace, quiet, good food and some quality "switch off" time. Our room had a really comfy bed but we loved the views best.
The owners were great and staff all smiley and helpful.
We wll return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The feel of Craigdarroch was humble and welcoming from the second we rolled up the drive to the hotel. The hotel is ran by a very nice married couple who have two beautiful daughters. Upon arrival we were taken under their humble wing and asked if anything could be done for us. We were shown to our rooms and then went down to the dining room for our arranged time of eating. The food was absolutely scrumptious and we wanted for nothing. The next day we drove along the loch and visited a few spots. I would strongly recommend visiting as the scenery is breath taking and service above par. We have already booked in for next year :-) .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyberlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

A reviewer of this hotel said WOW I found nothing WOW about this hotel.

To charge £165 for an average room and then charge £9.00 each for breakfeast is taking the P.

The dinner at £29 each was rubbish if you do stay take your own food.

Even though you have views of Loch Ness it is still a long way away.

the music playing in the restaurant was mournful.

I hate giving bad reviews but this hotel deserves it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torquayBristolluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
16.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#1 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigdarroch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigdarroch Inn

Property: The Craigdarroch Inn
Address: Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland (Formerly Craigdarroch House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigdarroch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional Highland lodge in a rural location overlooking Loch Ness. Friendly local inn serving real ales and food every day. Log fires and comfortable en suite rooms, some with loch view. Open all year. 15 miles from Inverness on the eastern shore of Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Craigdarroch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigdarroch Hotel Foyers
The Craigdarroch Inn Foyers, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing