We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic long weekend”
Review of Foyers House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foyers House
Ranked #2 of 5 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a lovely quiet weekend in February 2013. We had the house essentially to ourselves, it was lovely and tidy, the bedrooms were well decorated (apparently after a recent refurb) and the owners were pleasant and helpful. It's a great location not only for the falls at Foyers but also to visit Inverness, go for walks through the forest and moorland and experience Loch Ness. Views from the balcony are phenomenal.
This place may seem a little pricey at first glance but it is well worth it. The place is great and the location is simply fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    78
    20
    7
    38
See reviews for
28
151
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This place was an excellent stop after walking the Inverness 360• circular. It was after a long hard walk from fort Augustus we arrived here. After reading terrible reviews I feel we need to set people straight! We arrived to a self explanatory self service check inn which wasn't needed as we were met by a lovely friendly woman who gave us info of the surrounding area. The room was clean,comfortable and equipped for what we needed. There was a communal area which had an honesty bar,this was an amazing and very trusting aspect. The owner really went out her way knowing we were walkers. Many thanx. Would recommend to others. The cafe 30steps away was lovely for breakfast also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this B&B for a few days at the beginning of August! I will openly admit I was stunned by how mice this was! I have noticed a few people on here have criticised the lack of staff etc but I think it adds to the experience. As you walk in, there you find with a welcome note with your name and room number your key – the halls are very clearly marked! The kitchen had every utensil you need to prep a meal and the nearest Tesco isn’t that far. I also thought the little honesty box near the bar with the drinks were a cute feature. The overall experience was brilliant – I had absolutely no bother. It was SO quiet, just what we were looking for! the terrace was brilliant with some stunning views. The lady owner was lovely also very friendly, always had a smile. I will honestly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a peaceful brake! I don’t know how people can give this a bad review!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived a little after7.30 pm, was a little strange to have no welcome. To be fair this added to the unique approach and was just like arriving home. Loved the honesty box this is something I have never seen before and hopefully will see again. To be fair when arriving at Foyers roost it was nothing that I had expected however the views from the terrace were totally breath taking and very surreal. The bedroom was nipping clean with tea and coffee provided . This bed and breakfast is full of character if you appriciate it or not is down to personnal taste. The only negative I can say is the car park is insufficient for the number of guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darliie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Google Translation
An unique experience, we do try, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've heard a few people complain about a lack of staff presence at this place but we actually appreciated being left to our own devices. We stayed in the Foyers Roost part of the house, with our room overlooking Loch Ness. The view was absolutely stunning! Waking up to that each morning was a real treat and we took great enjoyment in sitting down there with a coffee one morning. We loved the owner's cats who tried to visit us in our room and took great delight in watching one of them doing a sort of balance beam act next to a steep drop (although my partner was hiding behind his hands). The rooms was attractively decorated and I thought the pillows were very comfortable, giving us a good nights sleep. We also enjoyed coming back to the lounge at night. We spent two evenings there playing games and chatting (there was a good selection of board games). We even got to have a good chat with another party of Scots and Australians. Much of the house is self-service. You check yourself in which I found strange at first. You can buy a soft drink or some alcohol by putting money in a honesty box. There is also a kitchen were you can cook up your own meals. I rather liked this set up even if I did miss the idea of having breakfast available as you would at a B 'n' B. Also, the cafe down the road is expensive. We ate elsewhere.
We spoke to the lady that ran the place once and we thought she was very pleasant and had a conversation with her about the cats. I would say to anyone thinking of staying here that the whinging from other guests doesn't really merit much after our experience. This place is a self-service guesthouse and so long as you go there expecting that you will love it.
We didn't expect to enjoy our stay so much and would go back in a heartbeat should we be visiting Loch Ness again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Lost for words, which is rare, thank you for your honest and realistic observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting the worse when we read the reviews, however we were pleasantly surprised. Self service check in was easy, big comfortable and very clean room, ensuite and bottles of water coffee and tea, we had bought provisions so sat on the upper deck looking over Loch Ness with cheese and wine , perfect .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraelayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Prefect’s good, thank you….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived around 6pm for one nights stay. Self service check-in - weird. Rooms had a great view and were clean but not my style. Shower had no pressure. Dead bees in the plastic casing around the lit inside my door. Being unfamiliar with the area and the roads, didn't really want to drive far for a meal. Didn't realise there was no staff, no meals, no food. Supply your own food and cook it as well. Not clear on the website. Decided to drive into Inverness (30 mins) for dinner. Beautiful little town. Unfortunately, i have to say i would not stay here again. Just too isolated and weird.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oz-kiwi-pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The bees were probably “resting” that’s what bees do……..
We have staff, meals and food but you have to interact with a bell push with the legend “ ring for assistance” and walk through the door of our on site café and order food…………….weird.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
6.0 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
8.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers House

Property: Foyers House
Address: Upper Foyers, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Foyers House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All en-suite bedrooms enjoy fantastic views over the loch, not found anywhere else in the Great Glen. Wake up to the most spectacular, panoramic views over Loch Ness! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foyers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers House Hotel Foyers
Foyers House Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing