We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Foyers House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foyers House
Ranked #2 of 5 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Bar was a bonus. Room was good with very comfy bed (room 5) and a nice view. Evening meal was delish (chicken stroganoff with mash). Breakfast was even better. All in all I witnessed no evidence of any poor attitude to guests suggested here. I sometimes think you get back what you give out. I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yolande1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Bad plumbing, general lack of hospitality are the downsides. In fact the host was very rude to my guests in the B&B. Heating turned off in evening making rooms exceptionally cold. Doors did not meet causing a lack of privacy in the shower rooms. One room is accessed outside the hotel in the dark with very poor lighting and an extremely strong smelling toilet freshener which over-powered the whole room. There are dubious soft toys (eg rats in dining room!!!! and cows beside toilet bowl) scattered around.
The only upside was that the beds were comfortable. Won't be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Illysopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Interesting, on another review site lllysopinion complains that “neither he nor his wife introduced themselves to us. Nor did they enquire as to whether or not we enjoyed our stay”. Perhaps she just felt unloved, and needed reasurance…………….at least the beds were comfortable.
I have posted photo’s of the “dubious soft toys”, enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed the one night here whilst walking the South Loch Ness Trail. Stayed in room 4 which has its own entrance, just a few steps from the roof terrace. The view is unrivalled, facilities were great value, owners friendly and gave us local knowledge on the surrounding area. We ate here and evening meal / breakfast both very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nulzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in the wee upstairs twin room for 2 nights and it was brilliant. We had evening meal and breakfast both days which was delish. The owners were friendly and interesting and made us feel welcome. Roof Terrace was fab and the bar had all we needed. A gem of a place and we would definitely return if back in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettiboggibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Carlsberg don’t do guests, but if they did, they would be like this……..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Arrived in the town by canoe, and by arrangement owner came down to pick us and the gear up (glad we missed the walk). Excellent views and a great value cafe nearby. Friendly owners, nice bar and adequate breakfasts - would definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We are a group of 13 adults from Switzerland. We booked 7 rooms for one night in Foyers House in Foyers. We had to pay half of the amount in advance. Therefore I had to pass my credit card details to Foyers House. They charged 270 GBP.
On the 3rd of August around 8 pm we arrived in Foyers. We travelled with two rental vans. The first car arrived ten minutes earlier. The owner of foyers house didn’t welcome us very friendly. His first question was how we would like to pay our accommodation. I explained him that we will pay in cash. But I would like to wait until the second car arrives. Then I can collect the money from all members of our group. This made him already upset. He said it would be easier for him if we had arrived all at once.
I told him that we are coming from the Isle of Skye. It took us more than two hours to drive to Foyers. Probably the second van had to look for a service station. His answer was that he would nobody recommend to visit the Isle of Skye. We asked for the reason and he gave the unreasonable answer that the Isle would be too busy.
He told us that he had a “plan A“, so he wanted us to show the rooms first. Now he has to change to “plan B” because of our unreliability. Plan B was that we had to deposit our luggage in a designated area and then we should take a seat on the terrace and wait for the rest of our group. A member of our group didn’t want to deposit his bag in this area. He preferred to have his bag in sight. This made the owner of Foyers house again displeased. He told us to leave the luggage where he defined. There were no thiefs in his house.
Another member of our group asked for a bin. He had eaten something in the van and wanted to recyle the paper. The owner got the first time very angry. He asked us why he should take our rubbish. He would have a contract for an accommodation not for recycling. We brought the paper back in the car.
Then we wanted to walk to the terrace when our second group arrived. The owner of Foyers House claimed that he has to change his plan again – back to “plan A”.
Unfortunately one of us left the second van and lighted a cigarette. This was too much for the hotelier. He exclaimed that this would be a non-smoking B&B. Of course we knew that before. But mistakenly we believed that smoking would be allowed outside the building. He explained that his smoking area is down the street – go as far away as you can’t see the Foyers House any more.
The wrongdoer of our group apologized and we promised to follow this rule.
Then he explained his rule for the check-in. He had a “holding area”. Luggage had to be deposited in a certain area inside the house and people had to wait in another area outside. He planned to take two people, show them their room, bring them back to the holding area and take the next two people.
But before he called me to the reception desk. As the responsible person I should sign a contract.This paper contained his house rules with the smoking area and another paragraph which explained that he sells alcohol. At the bottom of the contract he stated that he is allowed to charge fines on my credit card if our behavior wouldn’t be appropriate. I’ve never seen such a contract before. Therefore I denied signing this contract. I explained him that we intend to follow the house rules. But I will not sign a contract which allows him to be a policeman and to charge fines. During our stay in Scotland we werde in 6 different B&B’s and we never had to sign such an unusual contract.
He answered very rude. He gave us the choice to sign the contract or to leave. Then a colleague of mine accepted to sign. She signed the paper. I explained him that he’s not allowed to charge my credit card with the signature of my colleague.
Then he took the contract and pulled it to pieces. He told us that he doesn’t want to accommodate our group and he cancels the contract. He insulted us. I asked him to give our prepayment back – because he cancelled the contract. He denied. Then I asked him to get his cancellation in written. He denied again. Finally he made clear that he doesn’t want to discuss anymore and required us to leave his house. He banned us from the house and threatened to call the police.
We went to Inverness and looked for another accommodation. In the beginning of August this was a big challenge. Fortunately the people in Inverness were very kind and helpful.

Back to Switzerland we suffered a surprise. The Foyers House charged my credit card with the accomodation and the dinner! We neither had dinner nor stayed overnight.

In addition we found the latest review of environmental health. They wrote a report in March. Their comments about the kitchen are not very pleasant. Probably it's better we didn't get dinner in this house.

All in all, this is not the way you want to be treated on holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubedu, Owner at Foyers House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

The thirteen members of a “Swiss Whisky Club” on there tenth anniversary trip around Scotland arrived at Foyers House having sampled the water from the burn on Cnoc nan Speireag unfortunately for me, the water had been mixed with malted barley, boiled, had a little yeast added and then stored in a barrel for eighteen years…………….
In my experience, the sampling of old malted water has unreasonable effects on what generally would be reasonable people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Foyers House for 3 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were actually a bit sad to leave! The owners were very friendly and helpful, and shared their knowledge of the area with us which was very helpful for planning day trips. The fact that the venue is licensed was great, as we could have a beer/wine after a big day out. The room itself was comfortable, and the bathroom (which we shared) was always clean. The views of the loch were still stunning despite the telephone cables! The only thing was that the internet didn't work very well, and we did speak to the owners about this and they were very good about it - even let us use the internet on their personal laptop to check an email!
We did not have breakfast each day as it was 11.50, which we thought was a bit expensive, so I cannot comment on the quality of the food. There is a pub about 11 miles away at Dores (Dores Inn) which does an excellent meal - very yummy desserts! We experienced fantastic scenic drives fro Foyers throughout our stay. We recommend Foyers House and would stay again. I found the other negative reviews quite strange - yes, the owner is a little eccentric - however all I can suggest is that these other guests somehow had a bad experienced which was entirely dissimilar to ours! Keep an open mind and get to know the owners, and hopefully you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: We paid less and got the shared shower and toilet - these were separate to each other so it was no t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foyers Bay Country House
10.2 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
403 reviews
5.4 mi away
Loch Ness Backpackers
Loch Ness Backpackers
#1 of 1 in East Lewiston
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers House

Address: Upper Foyers, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range: $61 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foyers House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All en-suite bedrooms enjoy fantastic views over the loch, not found anywhere else in the Great Glen. Wake up to the most spectacular, panoramic views over Loch Ness! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Foyers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers House Hotel Foyers
Foyers House Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing