We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast in Scotland”
Review of Bank House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House B&B
Ranked #5 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Scotland”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a fantastic find. We were heartly welcomed by Sheila and Andy with home made cake and good tea.The whole house has been beautifully renovated and our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed, including mini easter eggs! The kedgeree at breakfast was a handsome portion and fantastic. Really set us up for a day's walking. This was the best stop on our Great Glen walk by a long way. We would highly recommend the gem of a B&B and thank to Sheila and Andy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a fantastic setting The Royal Bank Of Scotland. a fantastic welcome with information of what to see and do in Foart Augustus. This is a most welcome B+B
My dogs had a fantastic bed to sleep on too. lovely family fantastic rooms bed and best breakfast on the great glen walk..... a choice of everything.... Brilliant town well worth a visit lots to watch see and do for all the family.

Room Tip: they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A lovely b&b. Just yards of the Great Glen Way. The room we stayed in was excellent, comfy bed, plenty of room and a good en-suite, The good pot of tea and cake on arrival was very welcome! The hosts were superb and a great choice of breakfast options. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore N.S.W
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A fantastic experience with accommodation first class and a lovely couple running the B&B. Great location and assistance with every small problem

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in the middle of May for two nights. Good spacious room with clean and modern en suite bathroom. The owner bakes cakes each day and these are left in your room for your return. Pre-order breakfast before 9pm for the next day, there is an extensive choice of freshly cooked dishes. Breakfast can also be served at alternative times to the standard 8 - 9am upon request.

The owners are very friendly and happy to help, we asked if we could use the kitchen to clean some babies bottles which was no problem but when we returned from a day out we didn't need to worry as the owner had washed and dried them and returned them to the room.

Fort Augustus is scenic and peaceful but be careful if you are considering dining in the town as it seems that all of the restaurants and pubs have got together to hike prices to silly levels. We also encountered some typical old world nonsense at a restaurant bistro by the Loch called the Boathouse which serves a burger menu until 5pm. We stopped by at 6pm and actually just fancied a burger but of course with an empty restaurant behind him the 'manager' told us that it was not possible to have a burger after 5pm. For those wishing to find some answers to the recession, restaurants turning away 25 - 30 pounds for no reason may be a good place to start.

Anyway I have gone away from the point - The Bank House is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Brilliant stay, after a hard day riding the Great Glen way, greeted with pot of coffee and great B&B. They even washed and dried our filthy/wet cycling clothes. Excellent porridge as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila b, Owner at Bank House B&B, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hi Ben, Andy and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bank House. We are quite happy to wash and dry cycling and walking gear if it has been wet, there is nothing worse than putting damp muddy gear back on in the morning. Glad you enjoyed the porridge.Hope the rest of your ride was successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here from the 5-9th May and it was superb. The Bank House is a brilliant place to stay in Fort Augustus. Situated where you can see the Caledonian Canal and watch the boats going through the lock gates. Nearby there are great places to eat and great wee gift shops, staff everywhere are friendly and welcoming. Went on a cruise of Loch Ness which is on the edge of the village, very enjoyable and scenic. Saw the monster! The owners of the Bank House are very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfasts are superb and always a great selection, in fact Sheila will make you whatever you want, porridge is delicious and the cheese and cold meat breakfast is very tasty. She also makes delicious cake, the only place I've ever stayed where cake is left in your room with biscuits too!! It's a beautiful, cosy, happy and welcoming home, will hopefully return.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila b, Owner at Bank House B&B, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments.It was a real pleasure to have both you and your Dad staying with us for a few days. It is great to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and especially the cake; although in this instance I can't take credit for the cake as my daughter, Rachel, baked whilst you were staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#11 of 26 in Fort Augustus
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Kings Inn B&b
Kings Inn B&b
#16 of 26 in Fort Augustus
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House B&B

Property: Bank House B&B
Address: Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently taken over Bank House and are in the process of making some changes. We offer a warm welcome in Fort Augustus with good home cooking, drying facilities and spacious ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bank House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House B&B Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing