We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it at the Lovat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Fabulous two night stay at the Lovat. Fantastic staff, super friendly, nothing too much trouble. Ate in the restaurant one night, great food and wine. Room very, very comfortable with fabulous views of Loch Ness and the canal. Superb en suite bathroom with luxurious goods. Bathrobes provided. Ironing board in room!! Home made biscuits on departure. Loved it at the Lovat and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifimacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

Stayed here on the Great Glen Way Walk.
Extremely welcoming and friendly (and pretty) staff.
Good food, good location, nice room, nice bar serving good cocktails and hand-pulled ale.
Excellent dinner, excellent breakfast and a massage before we left in the morning.
Will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mars63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at The Lovat and can't recommend it enough! The room was beautiful, with loads of lovely touches. It was spotless and really comfortable, one of the biggest baths i've ever been in! The staff were so lovely, couldn't have been more helpful. We will most definately be returning to The Lovat!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank custombully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Spent 3 days here to chill out. Lovely room, lovely staff and a real attention to detail and service. Only ate in the reataurant once as there was so much choice out and about but the meal was great and the breakfast was a great set up for the day with something for everyone and cooked to order and plenty of it. No need to be hungry for a long time after breakfast. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

bistro excellent value,rooms good,great location,good staff

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveh24seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was lovely! We stayed in the 'outhouse' which was a block of several rooms seperate from the main hotel. It was clearly brand new, and the room had a lovely fresh modern feel to it. Okay it wasn't exactly spacious, but really how much room do you need for a night!

Unfortunately we only found the lovely tea and coffee set inside the cupboard just as we were leaving! I really liked how we could park the car right outside our front door, 3 steps from the room. I am very likely to stay here again if I am ever back in Fort Augustus, it seemed like the best place in the area, certainly the best location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _liz_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We live in nearby Inverness but I booked the Lovat as a surprise for my wife as we are currently renovating our house and had to get away from dust and mess for a night!
Stayed one night. Fantastic. From the minute we arrived we were made very welcome. Girl on reception was very friendly and personally escorted us to our room.
Room was excellent with large bed, ensuite bathroom with seperate bath and shower with views over the canal.
We ate in the Brassiere and the food was excellent. All washed down with lovely red wine.
Breakfast was excellent as well.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $121 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing