We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
983
250
66
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
250
66
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomcookiesloch nessthe main hotellovely hotelstation roadunderfloor heatingfine diningopen firelarge bathroomlovely touchfood was amazingboth nightslittle toucheslovely roomcaledonian canala lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was lovely! We stayed in the 'outhouse' which was a block of several rooms seperate from the main hotel. It was clearly brand new, and the room had a lovely fresh modern feel to it. Okay it wasn't exactly spacious, but really how much room do you need for a night!

Unfortunately we only found the lovely tea and coffee set inside the cupboard just as we were leaving! I really liked how we could park the car right outside our front door, 3 steps from the room. I am very likely to stay here again if I am ever back in Fort Augustus, it seemed like the best place in the area, certainly the best location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _liz_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We live in nearby Inverness but I booked the Lovat as a surprise for my wife as we are currently renovating our house and had to get away from dust and mess for a night!
Stayed one night. Fantastic. From the minute we arrived we were made very welcome. Girl on reception was very friendly and personally escorted us to our room.
Room was excellent with large bed, ensuite bathroom with seperate bath and shower with views over the canal.
We ate in the Brassiere and the food was excellent. All washed down with lovely red wine.
Breakfast was excellent as well.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay at The Lovat where we were treated as individuals NOT as numbers....lovely!
All aspects of our stay were excellent, it's hard to single out a staff member or an item that was especially good - after all how can excellence be surpassed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiYaHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed here on a 3 for 2 dinner, bed & breakfast deal at the end of the winter season. The hotel itself is lovely, quite quiet at the time we stayed which suited us. The room was nice, with a big bathroom and quality toiletries. Make sure you check the hot water when you get there though - this can be adjusted for you but if you find out late at night like we did you might not get hot enough water till the next day when the right person is working!

The quality of the food in the Brasserie was superb, and there were no restrictions on what you could choose from the menu - a nice touch. It was nice to see a hotel with well-kept real ale on tap as well.

Fort Augustus is a great base from which to explore, and I would gladly stay at the Lovat again, especially if they repeat this offer which made it seriously good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotterneHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night over the Easter Weekend and this was not a planned stop. Staff were excellent and we stayed in one of the master rooms. Room 7 from memory. Excellent touches in room and bath was huge with TV in built which makes for a very relaxing Sunday night.
Would definately stay again if in area although maybe just a touch on the high said when comes to value for money.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St-Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews