We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
983
250
66
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
250
66
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomcookiesloch nessthe main hotellovely hotelstation roadunderfloor heatingfine diningopen firelarge bathroomlovely touchfood was amazingboth nightslittle toucheslovely roomcaledonian canala lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,128 - 1,133 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night over the Easter Weekend and this was not a planned stop. Staff were excellent and we stayed in one of the master rooms. Room 7 from memory. Excellent touches in room and bath was huge with TV in built which makes for a very relaxing Sunday night.
Would definately stay again if in area although maybe just a touch on the high said when comes to value for money.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St-Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed at the Lovat for 1 night whilst cycling the Great Glen Way. Lovely relaxing hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff very welcoming and made you feel at home.

When we opened our door on Easter Sunday an easter egg was waiting for us. What a lovely touch.

Planning next trip already.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondbackAxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Had a lovely 3 nights here (buy 2 nights get one free DB&B). Really enjoyed having tea and biscuits in the lounge by the fire after a long walk!

Not a lot going on in Fort Augustus this time of year but we had gone for the walking - some lovely walks in the area (see the leaflet in reception/near the brasserie).

The restaurant was closed because of the time of year but the food in the brasserie was excellent. There was one veggie main course on the menu and often a veggie special. However one night there was no veggie special but when I asked the chef came up with a list of 5 possible meals (all sounded lovely!). Breakfast was great with lots of choice (full Scottish/smoked salmon and a good selection of fruit/cereals/beautiful croissants!)

The member of staff who was working for most of our staff was wonderful; really friendly and helpful.

Had a lovely staff and will def be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelliOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

What a charming Hotel! The location is fantastic, the staff are very friendly and the quality of the Hotel is very good.

We arrived late (11ish) to the Hotel after a 4 hour drive from Edinburgh. We were very relieved to see a lovely welcoming glow coming from the dining / bar area. We relaxed over a few glasses of vino in comfortable surroundings before hitting the hay. And the hay turned out to be very plush...Very comfortable bed, good amenities and brand new ensuite bathroom. Small touches like complimentary sparkling water and large bottles of quality soap make a big difference for me!

As for the breakfast...This set us up for the day in good style. As good a breakfast I have had in a long time.

And the cream on the cake, the complimentary love heart sweeties in the reception. Who doesn't LOVE them?

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

A great place to stay, friendly staff that would do anything to make your stay more pleasant. Lovely hotel with log fires and an intimate dining room, very attentive waitresses and attention to detail. Even heart shaped sweets at reception!!
A bit expensive but if you can afford it, go for it!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews