We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Loveliest Friendliest Hotel In th Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“The Loveliest Friendliest Hotel In th Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed sadly only for one night as we were passing through. What a wonderful hotel in every sence of the word. Caroline and her staff were genuinely friendly and create a real warmth about the place. I have to admit also that I read the information book in the hotel cover to cover which is a first. Carolines passion and drive to sucseed in this industry is fantastic. We had dinner in the retaurant which was devine, every mouthful! Again staff excellent, Fort Augustus in itself is well worth a visit but if you are staying the night, make sure and book yourself a nights stay here. You will not be dissapointed. You will love it. Ely and Stu, Edinburgh

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    201
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
188
669
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scot in Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a truly lovely stay at The Lovat on the weekend of my husband's birthday at the beginning of August. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I really liked the way the decor blended classic style in the main communal areas with contemporary elegance in the bedrooms and modern brasserie. We ate in the Drawing Room on the Saturday night and the meal was excellent - really delicious. We were only a wee bit disappointed that it wasn't open on the Sunday which was my husband's birthday but we knew this in advance so had made alternative plans. (TIP: if you find yourself wanting a special meal on a Sunday and you've already eaten in the brasserie, try the Boathouse Lochside Restaurant). The hotel location is excellent and we spent a pleasant hour or two on the day we arrived having a drink by the canal watching the activity there. If you are visiting the hotel for a special occasion, make sure and tell them before you arrive as I am sure they will go the extra mile for you (your comfort and enjoyment is their prime concern). Thanks you Lovat for a lovely stay. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for one night- but could have stayed longer. Booked online after reading the other reviews and we were not disappointed. We'd tried to book a few b&bs in the loch ness area but most didn't want our business as we were taking our one year old son along with us.
The Lovat gave us all a really friendly welcome and the stay just got better from then on. We had dinner in the brasserie which was fantastic and good value for money. Nothing seemed like too much bother for the staff. Breakfast was fab- they even washed up our son's bowl for us!
Cannot recommed the hotel highly enough- it's spotlessly clean and well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed at the lovat for one night, in one of their external studio bedrooms. On Arrival we were greeted by a warm friendly welcome & shown to our room. Everything was immaculate & very well presented. There is a sky box in the room showing freesat channels (I guess they don't get terrestrial very well up there as this seems common in the highlands).

Dinner in the bistro was a very modern affair, though service was perfect, the wine presented correctly etc.

Definitely one of our better & last minute bookings through laterooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

I enjoyed my stay here - decently priced and had some great creative food at reasonable prices and a lovely wine list (compared to some places in Scotland which charge the earth for unimaginative rubbish). My veggie partner also eat well.

The hotel welcomed my gay partner and I without batting an eyelid and had very efficient, friendly staff. We also enjoyed sitting by the loch eating from the local fish and chip shop.

Our original booking was only for one night at #85 withough breakfast (breakfast seemed expensive so we popped roudn the corner to the bacon sarnie van). Before arriving we had decided to stay a further night and was informed that the only room available was #160. However when I looked on their website and made an entirely new booking I was offered #95 including breakfast! Seemed odd..

The rooms were nicely coordinated and tasteful with tea and coffee facs in the room - the only silly bugbear I had was that feather pillows would have given that extra luxury feel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeeGee1, Manager/Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

Regarding the rates, I thought I would clarify the situation - online, telephone & on the day 'over the counter' bookings determine different rates based mainly on occupancy levels. I imagine you were able to benefit from a reduced rate over the internet for your 2nd night because this was a 'last minute' deal.

We do offer the opportunity for guests to request added extras, in particular when we send out our confirmation & also our pre-arrival letter so it was a shame that you may have missed this when preferring feather pillows as this is a service we offer our guests. We shall know for next time!

With regards to the other feedback, I have passed your comments to all staff who are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Every little detail of the hotel was first class.

We will definitely be back for another visit.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-D_Miss-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was arranged by my husband for my suprise birthday (50th!) - what a fantastic place to visit - nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from the beginning of the day right through to the end - service was brilliant and all with a smile. Accomodation was very good, with attention to detail - we had a wet room in place of the usual bathroom - heaven! Can't fault the food and even provided the good weather - look forward to being able to visit again - thank you to The Lovat - we both loved our stay - Jayne & Steve Warren

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrensark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing