We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly, green but still luxurious, and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly, green but still luxurious, and great food”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at the Lovat for a couple of days on our honeymoon in Scotland, and it was by far the best hotel. The staff had gone to the trouble to decorate our room with congratulations messages, rose petals, a card & some chocolates, which made us feel really special. Our room had a great weather-watching window with a view over the loch. Loved the bathroom (especially the aqua TV!) The dinner we had in the hotel restaurant was excellent - high end dining without being fussy or pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    210
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
198
688
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I went to The Lovat Arms for a meal with my boyfriend. We went to the brasserie which is a la carte. We recieved an excellent service and the food was lovely. The local Cealidh group played while we had our meal and it added to the fab atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

4 freinds and I who are all old enough to know better went on a fishing and stag "do" to the West coast in a Horsebox. When we turned up at the Lovat, instead of saying "why are you parking a 7 1/2 ton lorry in our car park and what the hell do you scruffs want?", they made us totally and completely welcome in a way that I only seem to find on the West Coast of Scotland.
The place is simply delightful and the hotel sits atop a wee hill right beside some of the most picturesque views in the country.
We arrived late and phoned ahead to ask if they could leave out some food for us, Instead they kept the chef back who cooked us up some of the best steaks I have eaten. Cooking steak is an art and most places I visit are Philistines but this guy did a perfect medium rare and the sweets,,,,,oh yes....mmmmm brilliant.
Anyway we ended up sitting in the bar having a cocktails compitition with the some of the locals and guests and the two poor longsuffering barmaids. Many many hours later....we wandered out across the lawn and down to the caladonia canal to watch the sun rise and it was perfect. One of those moments in time you never forget.
This tells you nothing about the hotel though.
Run by Caroline and her parents and staffed by really nice helpful and intelligent people. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and (important in Scotland in February) warm. The food was excellent, the welcome truly Scottish,
Was it cheap? not particularly but you cant do quality like this cheaply, it was value for money which is important.
My wife and I are going again later this summer for a long quiet weekend.
Personally I think this was one of the top hotels I have stayed at in Scotland. I was sitting here trying to think of a negative to throw in but cant find one and as I am generally known as a grumpy picky sod thats probably the best compliment I can give to a place.
The remainder of the weekend was spent in skye fishing and drinking bars dry with the odd ceilidh thrown in but that first night made the trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I have stayed at the Lovat before and had a fantastic time, so i was interested to see if it would live up to my expectations and Im glad to say it did and more. The staff are fantastic and the luxury / chic feel to the rooms is still there. The food is fantastic as usual and try out the new cocktail menu.
Keep it up Lovat

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Lovat and enjoyed it thoroughly. On-route to Moray, Fort Augustus was a welcome stopover and the staff at the Lovat made us very welcome.

We booked through Expedia and there was a misunderstanding with the exterior studio rooms and whether it could accommodate baby cots, the staff dealt with this admirably and we were offered a room in the hotel for a modest premium. It was lovely and had plenty of space for our son to crawl around.

I must mention three great positives about the room: the view from the bedroom and the bathroom, the size of the bed and the 'mood' of the room. I love forest and mountain views and the less obvious views to the locks side of the hotel were outstanding.

We ate in the brasserie, as children aren't permitted in the restaurant, and the food was very tasty. My wife particularly enjoyed her sea bass main course, the house red wine was thoughtful and ubiquitous. I was not keen on the pork belly starter which was a collision of flavours that didn't do it for me but I'm sure others will love it. Breakfast was faultless.

All in all, we will probably give the west coast road to Moray another shot soon if not simply to stay in Fort Augustus.

Travelling with a young child is difficult, and can be difficult for hotel staff who do not always respond positively, but the Lovat coped well and we thank them for it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We only stayed one night and left wishing we'd booked for a week. Brilliant room with a view of Loch Ness, superb food, friendly and efficient staff and all in a wonderful location. In this case believe their website, it IS as good as it looks. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adexxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We had high expectations and they were easily met. Great room, great service, great location. The staff really does go above and beyond. We would definitely return there and definitely recommend the Lovat Arms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler609597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing