We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it just gets better and better......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is now our second stay here and it is just simply superb. I have never stayed in a hotel where every aspect is of an exceptional quality. We were always made to feel welcome and the hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere. The facilities provided are of a good quality, the food is consistently of a very high standard and the rooms are pleasantly furnished and comfortable. I do actually understand their concept and what they are trying to achieve and that feeling is fed throughout the entire hotel. Its simply wonderful.

We have just returned having spent 4 nights here and we have a brilliant time. We ate in the Bistro on 3 of these nights and on each occasion we received wonderful food (huge compliments to the chef), friendly service and drank wonderful wines. We would never normally relax in public areas but we sat by the fire in the lounge most nights after dinner and relaxed. I usually find that most hotels dont ever get everything right, but these guys are not far off it. If you want to stay and experience the whole package - comfortable surroundings, warm friendly welcome, efficiency, scrumpious food then this is the only place stay. Their attitude is so right and they all work hard to get it spot on.
We hope to either come back later this year or next but we will definately book again. Finally I can thoroughly recommend the packed lunches!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
There are newer reviews for The Lovat, Loch Ness
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2009

I use a wheelchair and travel independently. The Lovat Arms is one of the best places I have stayed at in terms of its accessibility and additionally the staff are very friendly,professional and attentive. Fort William is an excellent touring base and I would recommend the Lovat Arms to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely weekend break in Fort Augustus last weekend. (We even went up to Loch Ness to meet Nessie!) As I am currently preganant, we just wanted a little bit of relaxation in a place with lovely views. This is what we got from the Lovat Arms Hotel.

The staff were fantastic and catered to our every need. They were friendly, jovial and couldn't do enough for us. They checked each food item was okay for me to eat, due to my pregnancy, without me having to ask. This was very much appreciated. They even provided extra pillows on the bed for my bump! :-)

The food was exceptional and the hotel itself was lovely. The restauant was very modern. Following a scrumptious dinner, we then moved into the comy seats by the coal fire in the more traditional part of the hotel, for a relaxing evening.....we loved it!

We stayed in one of the studio rooms which was perfectly suited to our needs. The wet room and underfloor heating in bathroom was great.

The staff made us feel very special and we had a fantastic experience. Thanks especially to David and Tracy! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Having just got back from our 3 night stay at the Lovat Arms Hotel Fort Augustus I had to share my experience.
From the first step through the door to us leaving the hotel we were made to be very welcome.
The whole atmosphere of the place made for a great weekend.
They have recruited very freindly & helpful staff who have such a can do attitude & nothing is a problem.
This hotel is the best hotel we have stayed at & will certainly be returning.
A certain Jewel in the Highlands.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustytoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We have just come back from a weekend at The Lovat Arms, with our family of 3 and 2 other families. We feel we must comment on this site because we can't recommend the Hotel highly enough.
It was not without trepidation that we ventured North for the weekend with our children (6,4 and 4 months!) but we need not have worried. The family atmosphere in the hotel is obvious from the outset. We were made extremely welcome and all facilities were available for the baby right down to sterilising equipment and storageof our home-made baby food!
In the evening too,babysitters were made available to keep an eye and ear on the little darlings while we adults dined in style and without worry! Sleeping arrangements were thoughtful too with adjacent rooms, well kitted out including the SKY kids channels which were very poopular!
As for the food, it more than matches the expectations - a great mixture of traditional with a modern twist.
Fantastic weekend all in all. Great position to explore the highlands too.
We wouldn't hesitate to return. Go see for yourselves !!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melkevNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Absolutely lovely hotel. The room was nicely furnished with a spacious modern bathroom. Perfect location with lovely views. Amazing food. Only slight problem we found was controlling the heat in our bedroom. It seemed to be either very hot or very cold but that was our only complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleHazeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Stayed at the lovat arms hotel this hogmany with a group of friends and it was excellent.
The location was beautiful on the edge of loch ness. The room was great, decor was cosy, up to date and very comfortable. One of the many highlights of the room was the shower, stayed in there for about 1 hour!!!!!
The dinner and entertainment was top class, just what you'd expect from a five star hotel!!!
Every single member of staff went above and beyond to make sure we had the best time possible.
so good, no one wanted to leave!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank arlene77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
609 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
733 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
392 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $126 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing