We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked in advance as part of our tour from the Highlands. Lovely hotel in a great position. We had a motel style room separate from the main building which was quite small but with a fabulous wet room. Bed was very comfortable, the only complaint being that a curtain was not fully attached but we didn't notice this until late. Breakfast was ok, nothing out of the ordinary in fact the bacon was fatty and not very well cooked, only 2 pieces of toast given initially and we had to ask for more. The scrambled egg was delicious however, as was the fried. We didn't eat here at night due to the high prices but the dining room looked full. There seemed to be a lot of overseas visitors here as this is a lovely area to visit

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travellers_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I just realised that although we stayed here last summer (July 2013) I had not written a review so I thought I would do it now, better late than never. We stayed here for 4 nights with our friends & kids and it honestly was one of the BEST hotel experiences I have ever had. The hotel was lovely, very warm, comfy and homely. The staff were superb, attentive but also discreet and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had forgotten our daughters medicine so had it posted from home and by the time we had arrived it was in a small fridge in our room. Our rooms were great, a good size & set up very nicely with an extra bed for our daughter, we had a family room. Our bed was super comfy and the en-suite roomy with a separate shower and bath. The food was also fantastic and they catered very well for fussy kids. It's ideally situated to walk down into the village and the Loch and has lovely grounds in front which the kids made good use of with their toys. We had a babysitter for 2 nights so we could eat later in the restaurant and she was lovely & very friendly, we also made used of the spa which albeit small was also one of the nicest experiences I've had. We really had no complaints at all and would really love to back again soon. We were blessed too with the most wonderful weather which of course always makes your holiday stick in your memory. The fact that I can still remember our trip nearly a year later really says what a fantastic hotel this is, go and stay SOON X

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trixibelle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel will be one of many beautiful things I have seen that I wont forget of my trip to Scotland. Spacious room, shower just like I wish, powerful jet of water and plenty of space. Amazing breakfast with fresh fruit and croissants. All high quality. The lounges are amazing, I never got up from the couch in front of the fireplace...We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the same thing as the breakfast, all the best. bread also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night here with my wife whilst holidaying in the Highlands in May and know that we will definitely return for more of their delicious food and unstuffy service. The hotel itself is very unpretentious yet sits on a site with very obvious historical connections and has many of it's own quite unique and beautiful features as it was originally a purpose built Edwardian Railway Hotel.
Our room was modern, clean and with a very comfortable bed but the real treat came in the form of the dining which was truly exceptional ! There are two restaurants - one offering modern bistro style cuisine and the other in the original wood panelled dining room offering a full five course tasting menu. We chose the bistro option and were not disappointed - a very contemporary and interesting choice of dishes, beautifully presented and served with a delicate and unstuffy easiness that suited the ambience of the restaurant down to a tea. Delighted to be able to unreservedly recommend this
hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank startritekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had originally booked only one night at The Lovat to break our journey from Inverness to the west coast. However we decided to stay longer almost as soon as we arrived and we eventually stayed for three nights.
Having looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor, we had decided we definitely wanted to be in the main house. Our room was on the top (second) floor with small sash windows overlooking the Caledonian Canal. Although we were in the eaves, most of the room had a good ceiling height - no problem for my tall husband. We had a huge en suite bathroom, with separate bath and shower. We found the room very attractive and cosy. The beds were slightly squeaky and the floor creaky, but this didn't bother us - and I hope not the guests beneath. Creaking floors are inevitable in an older building.
The public rooms downstairs are gorgeous. There is a large pale blue drawing room with huge windows overlooking the gardens and plenty of comfortable sofas. Next door, off the Reception, is a large red room, also with plenty of sofas and reading material plus a grand piano, complete with photos of the Queen meeting staff on a recent visit to the town. One morning we were in Fort Augustus was cold and rainy, so the fire was lit and we enjoyed curling up with a book and cappuccino in front of it. (By the way, all rooms contain umbrellas for guest use!)
The most important thing to mention is the staff. We must have met most of them during our three days there and all were excellent and appeared to really enjoy working at the hotel. They were very happy to chat with guests, although did not intrude. We don't think we have ever met such a delightful group of people working in a hotel and we hope very much to return.
We were not staying while the main restaurant was open, but we ate twice in the brasserie, which we found very good. Breakfasts were also good, although you needed to arrive earlier than we did for the croissants!

Room Tip: Room 20 is an attractive second floor twin with views of the mountains and the canal (between buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to the Lovat, as four couples. We stated in their lovely superior doubles and enjoyed a week of fishing, fine dining and hospitality. Not only is it's location spectacular, but the food and staff are faultless. Cannot thank Caroline enough for the whole set up. One of our favourite hotels which we will certainly visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lunglung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Fort Augustus was the unexpected jewel in our recent tour of Scotland. The Lovat made our stay even more special. Formerly a railway hotel, the entrance is a varnished wood panelled porch and is a lovely period piece, with varnished wooden benches. On arrival. the staff were very welcoming, and a pot of tea was provided while we waited for our room to be made ready. The bedroom was well presented, nicely furnished and with a large modern en-suite, which included two wash basins in addition to a bath and shower cubicle. The view was to the rear, so included part of the hotel roof, the vegetable patch and the bin area. But look a bit further out and the canal locks are just visible and the mountains dominate the distant view, so overall. not a bad view and something we didn't worry about too much. We took dinner in the bistro, as the dining room was not open on the nights we were there. This is a pleasant room in a conservatory style, with very efficient service, and a good choice of food. The venison burger is a large portion so beware! Breakfast is also served in the bistro, and there is a wide selection of food including a cold buffet. The food was excellent throughout, as was the service, with friendly attentive staff. The Caledonian Canal is five minutes walk away with a staircase of locks, and to the north is the beginning of Loch Ness, where cruises are available. We spent a whole day walking the canal towpath (The Great Glen Way), in excellent weather. Thank you Lovat, we intend to return at some point!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
500 reviews
18.8 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $132 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing