We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel with superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel with superb staff”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had originally booked only one night at The Lovat to break our journey from Inverness to the west coast. However we decided to stay longer almost as soon as we arrived and we eventually stayed for three nights.
Having looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor, we had decided we definitely wanted to be in the main house. Our room was on the top (second) floor with small sash windows overlooking the Caledonian Canal. Although we were in the eaves, most of the room had a good ceiling height - no problem for my tall husband. We had a huge en suite bathroom, with separate bath and shower. We found the room very attractive and cosy. The beds were slightly squeaky and the floor creaky, but this didn't bother us - and I hope not the guests beneath. Creaking floors are inevitable in an older building.
The public rooms downstairs are gorgeous. There is a large pale blue drawing room with huge windows overlooking the gardens and plenty of comfortable sofas. Next door, off the Reception, is a large red room, also with plenty of sofas and reading material plus a grand piano, complete with photos of the Queen meeting staff on a recent visit to the town. One morning we were in Fort Augustus was cold and rainy, so the fire was lit and we enjoyed curling up with a book and cappuccino in front of it. (By the way, all rooms contain umbrellas for guest use!)
The most important thing to mention is the staff. We must have met most of them during our three days there and all were excellent and appeared to really enjoy working at the hotel. They were very happy to chat with guests, although did not intrude. We don't think we have ever met such a delightful group of people working in a hotel and we hope very much to return.
We were not staying while the main restaurant was open, but we ate twice in the brasserie, which we found very good. Breakfasts were also good, although you needed to arrive earlier than we did for the croissants!

Room Tip: Room 20 is an attractive second floor twin with views of the mountains and the canal (between buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    216
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
203
696
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to the Lovat, as four couples. We stated in their lovely superior doubles and enjoyed a week of fishing, fine dining and hospitality. Not only is it's location spectacular, but the food and staff are faultless. Cannot thank Caroline enough for the whole set up. One of our favourite hotels which we will certainly visit again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunglung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Fort Augustus was the unexpected jewel in our recent tour of Scotland. The Lovat made our stay even more special. Formerly a railway hotel, the entrance is a varnished wood panelled porch and is a lovely period piece, with varnished wooden benches. On arrival. the staff were very welcoming, and a pot of tea was provided while we waited for our room to be made ready. The bedroom was well presented, nicely furnished and with a large modern en-suite, which included two wash basins in addition to a bath and shower cubicle. The view was to the rear, so included part of the hotel roof, the vegetable patch and the bin area. But look a bit further out and the canal locks are just visible and the mountains dominate the distant view, so overall. not a bad view and something we didn't worry about too much. We took dinner in the bistro, as the dining room was not open on the nights we were there. This is a pleasant room in a conservatory style, with very efficient service, and a good choice of food. The venison burger is a large portion so beware! Breakfast is also served in the bistro, and there is a wide selection of food including a cold buffet. The food was excellent throughout, as was the service, with friendly attentive staff. The Caledonian Canal is five minutes walk away with a staircase of locks, and to the north is the beginning of Loch Ness, where cruises are available. We spent a whole day walking the canal towpath (The Great Glen Way), in excellent weather. Thank you Lovat, we intend to return at some point!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lovat. We were only there for one night but wished we had been there for longer. It was such a nice hotel in a perfect setting. The hotel throughout was clean and tastefully decorated and the staff were so welcoming and friendly. Our room was well equipped and very comfortable and the views were spectacular!
We had dinner in the hotel and the food was amazing! We would love to go back for the food alone!! It is one of the best hotels we have been in in a long time and it is worth more than three stars. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area. A real hidden gem!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very high standard of hotel down to the details, excellent rooms, very friendly and professional staff. Great dinner in the Brasserie and breakfast cooked to order, would definitely go back. Great location in Fort Augustus

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My boyfriend booked us a night here to celebrate my 24th birthday and it was incredible! We stayed in the Grand Master suite which had a bath in the bedroom, a huge decadent bed, prosecco chilling and views to die for. The staff were all amazing- nothing was too much to ask for and they went out of their way to be friendly. Dinner in the main restaurant was our original attraction due to it's 3 Rosettes, and the food was outstanding. The manager was so attentive and helpful and introduced every course whilst also pairing wine, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. I've travelled fairly extensively and stayed in many hotels around the world- this was the most enjoyable experience I've had. Everything felt perfect; I didn't want to leave! I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Being at the Lovat to celebrate my 70th birthday, we had the most incredible meal we have ever eaten in their "Fun Dining" restaurant. Each dish was a pure work of art, with a fun element to every one, and the chef Sean Kelly is a genius with food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
389 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing