We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a fantastic base for a great Scottish holiday. The team have given a lot of attention to detail, and everything works. Good rooms and bathrooms, great service( very friendly, and superb food from Sean and his team. Caroline makes everything work without it being oppressive. The green credentials of the hotel are a great bonus. We plan to stay much longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    201
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
188
669
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at the hotel and was impressed even before arrival - a few days before I received an email with lots of handy info about the hotel and the area. Not hard to do but a nice touch. The rooms were ok - not great views but we had booked the standard rooms, and I suppose some rooms are not going to have a nice outlook - certainly if you paid extra and booked a room in the old part of the hotel overlooking the front it would be lovely! However, beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms spacious. Wi-fi available in all areas. Very welcoming lounges with open fire, comfy sofas, books.

The hotel excels in the food - we ate in the Brasserie both evenings, kids were catered for well and the food was excellent. Veggies and vegans are catered for individually and asked their preferences. Breakfast was really really good, as good as any I have had in 5 star hotels. Hot
food cooked to order with a continental buffet with plenty of choice.

Well done the management team at the Lovat - I would love to return!

Room Tip: If it matters to you, pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelpie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Lovet is well situated in an elevated position in the villiage. We stayed in room number 35 which is one of the external studio rooms. The room was very modern and well finished, it was exceptionally clean and warm. The shower room was fab & the towels were lovely & fluffy!

The breakfast was very fresh with a good variety avaliable. The 'full cooked breakfast' was made with high quality produce. We did not eat in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful.

We would definately stay here again - great value for money

Room Tip: External studio's are very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennymcknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in late-May 2013 as one stop on a tour of the Highlands. The Lovat was one of our favorites - beautiful, clean and modern room (with an awesome bed), yet charming and classic in the common areas. The perfect balance when you're looking for something that will provide all the creature comforts while still giving you the sense of being in a classic hotel - and all for a very reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the whole thing to be everything we were hoping for and more. They even gave us cookies for the road when we checked out.

Location is ideal - lots of free parking and an easy 5 minute walk from the locks and the docks where boats leave for Loch Ness tours.

Fort Augustus is a charming little town as well with lots of nice little places to grab a beer (frankly much better than Fort William and Neptune's Staircase). Highly recommend all around if you are either passing through or looking for a base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Lovat in Fort Augustus, very welcoming hotel. Great location, beautiful grounds and some great areas to sit and relax indoors too. Huge bathroom and lovely bathrobes. Great choice of breakfast all cooked to order - from full Scottish to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for view of Loch Ness and canal if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

LOVELY Lovat .... beautiful warm, clean room with amazing bathroom. Nice Scottish bubble baths whilst watching the t.v! FAB food. Location was beautiful for walks and boat trips. Would love to go back............soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I spent four nights at the Lovat Loch Ness with my husband and my parents in May. The hotel is in a fantastic location for touring the Highlands - we spent one day going East, then one West, North and then South and covered so much of the area. Fort Augustus is the perfect base for sightseeing.

My husband and I were in a Super Deluxe Room (room #3) which was lovely. It had a big antique wooden bed with luxurious bedding, an archway leading into a bath area with a huge tub including a aqua-television at one end of the tub. Another door led into the shower room with a rain shower, sink and toilet. The room had views of the Caledonian Canal. Wonderful! My parents were in a Deluxe Twin Room, which was also lovely, with a more contemporary feel.

We had booked into the restaurant on our first night for the 5-course tasting menu and it was amazing! The food was some of the best I have ever had, and the menu was quirky and creative. The cost was far less than you would pay at similar restaurants in other parts of the UK - quite a bargain. The chef currently has 2 AA rosettes, but the owner of the hotel told us that they are currently up for a third (and well deserved!) rosette. We also ate at the Brasserie, which was so delicious and had such a lovely atmosphere that we ended up coming back every night! Breakfast - also served in the brasserie - was delicious and filling, with many cooked options and a cold buffet.

Overall the service was wonderful and the staff all went out of their way to make our stay wonderful (my mother asked for her duvet to be changed to a blanket as she was a little warm, and by the time she had returned to her room it had already been done). I am recommending the Lovat to everyone and will definitely be back next time we are in the area!

Room Tip: We loved room number 3 with a huge antique bed, a luxurious bath area with aqua-tv and a separate sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing