We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with our dog. It was a Christmas surprise for me and I wasn't disappointed. The room was outside in the annexe, which was perfect for the dog. It was warm and cosy, with comfortable bedding and bed.
We ate in the restaurant for both nights and the food was excellent. As a vegetarian, I really appreciated the choice there was and didn't get fobbed off with pasta. Both my partner and I could not find fault with the food, either at dinner or at breakfast.
Would recommend this hotel -good walking in the area and we also took a boat trip out to see Nessie.
Hotel staff made us feel very welcome - nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paleandinteretsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in the rooms by the restaurant, which were cozy and comfortable. The wet room was great with lovely underfloor heating. The restaurant was fabulous - great food and great service. I am a vegetarian and was very happy with the choice and quality of food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickengirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just back from an amazing 2 night stay at the Lovat over New Year. We stayed in the rooms outside just by the restaurant, which were lovely - very clean and modern.

Hogmanay itself was just unbelievable - the effort that went into every last detail was remarkable and loved every minute. The food, service and attention to detail couldn't have been any better. Being vegetarian wasn't an issue and the food provided was some of the best I've ever had. Small details such as making sure the menu at our place setting was a Vegetarian one - it's not a big deal but loved that it was thought of.

Definitely the best way to bring in the New Year!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here on our way to Skye, we stayed in a studio room which was perfect and very private we where right across from the fabulous restaurant and didn't have to lug bags up stairs and through the hotel :-D specially just for one night. Brilliant wet rooms although there was some damp- think fan maybe not but didn't bother us. Comfy beds. Very clean!

We had dinner at the restaurant and the meal was to die for. We are defo foodies and I would highly recommend. We even got 15% discount for booking our table before we arrived.

Tv in the room had free view and best of all we could control the heating ourselfs :-D specially on the snowy night we arrived! Very cosy and romantic!

The only down side was the staff member who greated us wasn't very welcoming she was dry and almost felt like she couldn't be bothered same the following morning when she served breakfast but maybe she was just havig a bad day! All the other staff when lovely friendy and very welcoming!!

I would highly recommend this as a romantic get away on a buget!! We will be back :-D

Thanks for a lovet stay!

congratulation to the couple who got Engadget that night in the restaurant so romantic :-)

Ps best sausages ever at breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachy8685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

What adds to the Lovat's unique charm was the personal touch of the owners' hospitality. This family-run hotel was very comfortable and just the right cozy corner in the cold, cold Scottish highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pritikhimsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at The Lovat and we had a great time. We had never visited the Loch Ness area before but the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the highlands.

We stayed in one of the deluxe studio rooms which were lovely with a comfortable bed, freeview tv, nice bathroom and the room was nice and warm. The cooked breakfast is also amazing!

The staff were all really friendly and on departure we were given free freshly baked biscuits which were lovely.

Already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

There was something about the sign & decor on the many times I have passed this hotel that gave me a less than positive impression. I was wrong, on staying here I was very impressed. It was off season but the hotel was warm and welcoming. I stayed in the motel style rooms outside, they were comfortable, modern and well equipped. Definitely a good option in a lovely area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $128 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing