We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just The Right Cottage To Knock At” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just The Right Cottage To Knock At”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

What adds to the Lovat's unique charm was the personal touch of the owners' hospitality. This family-run hotel was very comfortable and just the right cozy corner in the cold, cold Scottish highlands.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritikhimsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    201
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
188
669
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at The Lovat and we had a great time. We had never visited the Loch Ness area before but the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the highlands.

We stayed in one of the deluxe studio rooms which were lovely with a comfortable bed, freeview tv, nice bathroom and the room was nice and warm. The cooked breakfast is also amazing!

The staff were all really friendly and on departure we were given free freshly baked biscuits which were lovely.

Already planning to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

There was something about the sign & decor on the many times I have passed this hotel that gave me a less than positive impression. I was wrong, on staying here I was very impressed. It was off season but the hotel was warm and welcoming. I stayed in the motel style rooms outside, they were comfortable, modern and well equipped. Definitely a good option in a lovely area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is located up on a hill overlooking the small town of Fort Augustus, which is set on the Western side of Loch Ness. The grounds are well kept with a large grass area out front, which was great for our 1.5 yr old son to run around and play. The hotel itself is in a great old building that has some great features such as a lovely sitting room complete with a blazing log fire and a multitude of magazines to pass the time. Also has a well stocked bar and a great kitchen which served delicious meals. Our son really enjoyed the fish tank as well.

The room was well appointed and had everything we required. The ensure in our room had a bath and a shower which was nice for our son to take his nightly bath but gave us the luxury of a large shower. The king bed was ultra comfortable.

There is a lift in the hotel that has been put in, which was a bonus, since the building is quite old.

The staff were very nice and very helpful. At dinner every night (we ate here each night is out stay as the first night was so good, we couldn't bring ourselves to go anywhere else), that had a child's menu and a small kit of things for our son to keep entertained.

We asked for a late check out and were informed that it would be a charge of 30£, which was fine with us as it gave our son time for his mid day nap.

If we ever find ourselves around Fort Augustus again, I would definitely stay again at the Lovat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmetzky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

after all the search ive gone throught to find the right place for a proposal i end up with choosing this hotel THE LOV AT LOCH NESS. i'm absolutly speechless...the best time i ever had, the shower was better than any other hotel i stayed at, the place,the room,the bed,the pillows,the smell and the play room with the piano downstairs was beautifuly executed. the quiteness i found up there was amazing, and how can i forget the food!! as a chef who worked for john torode for years and mark hix its hard for me to not like the food and say nothing but unfortunatly i had nothing to say hehe it was delicious. the curied sweet potato soup was perfectly blended,the main was excelent,risoto and salmon w spring onion well cooked and crunchy! my favorite desert sticky toffee puding and vanila ice cream in a crispy pate sucree rumkin, theres no better. welldone chef, the embarassing part is yet to come when i had to propose to my girl lol i been offered a free bottle of shampagne right after and we wer delighted with the waiter, i can not forget the recitionist,shes been very helpful,the breakfast staff whom had the smile in ther faces at all times even though they had to deal with none educated old couple who thought that they owe the place treating the waitress and the waiter from zimbabwe like a piece a trash. they nearly regreted the day they wer born if it wasnt the hands of my girl on mine to calm me down. after all that both kept smiling and i give u both credit for it. welldone...the funny part is when the house keeper gave me such a fright in the morning when she jumped of her cabinet and screamed CONGRATULAIOOOOOOOON LOL that was so nice of u thank you, u made me laugh all morning thank you again. thank you all for the best experience i ever had and i can not wait to spread the word, thank you...

Looking forward to seeing you again

Sifedine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue-world-tonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

4 of us plus a wee dog recently had a 2night stay at the Lovat. We stayed in the studios which meant we parked at the door and had just to lift our luggage from the car into our own front door, no hassle. Our dog was greeted with his own bowls and a dog chew, so he was well pleased. We ate there each evening and the food was superb. However the main reason for writing this review is that the staff and the welcome were exceptional. One of the party has various food intolerances and this was accommodated without any fuss and the staff remembered the various preferences and they were on the table the next meal without having to repeat anything. Very impressive. The barman, had dry humour and created a really welcoming atmosphere.
A fabulous visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay. Greeted by fabulous staff and a warm fire. Fantastic dinner! Fresh cookies given as we checked out. What more does anyone need? Warm n cozy bed.... I wanted to take the duvet with me. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamajesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing