We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay here at the Lovat on our trip from Oz showing our Grandson some of his Heritage. Everything about the Lovat was cosy. My Husband and I are well world travelled and we both agree that the food and presentation is one of the best we have seen for a long time for such an establishment! So our compliments to the chef! The owner 8 think called Caroline works her butt off a very enthusiastic person!!!! Incase Management from the Lovat do read this, can I suggest, that, although the you g lady on the front reception desk appears very professional in her mannerisms .... Being pleasant and more approachable I feel would be more advisable for this position!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

I will pass on your compliments to the Chef and have also noted your mention of me! Can I ask what the girl on reception looked like? We get so many comments on the friendliness of our team so I would like to get a better understanding of who the person may be and seek an explanation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    216
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
203
696
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york,
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our first stay at The Lovat but we have stayed at the other Gregory family owned hotel, The Torridon, many times. The Lovat is fully up to the Gregory standard. Our room (no 7) was excellent, very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The meal in the dining room was spectacular and excelelemt value for such exciting food. Caroline Gregory is a wonderful, friendly and very hard working hostess. Extremely good value for money and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have just returned from my second stay at The Lovat. My boyfriend and I love the area around Fort Augustus, and stumbled upon this hotel about 6 months ago (when we had another completely 5* experience). When planning our next holiday, it was the first place that popped into our heads - and we weren't disappointed.

When we arrived the staff were lovely and smiley (I think the manager, Caroline, was the one who showed us to our room - carrying my bag and chatting all the way). We booked in for a Brasserie dinner and myself and my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed our food - a real gourmet experience that lends the most luxurious feel to your stay. We stayed 3 nights (and got 30% off our room bill!) and ate at the hotel every single night; we purposely chose different dishes and The Lovat never failed to impress.

Our food and drinks bill at the end of our stay came to £200 (6 two-or-three-course dinners, wine, beer and liqueurs and several lunchtime coffees) which we both thought was more than reasonable for the quality of our meals. We chose one of the more expensive (although not the highest-priced) rooms, which had such a lovely huge bed which was spotlessly clean, and a gorgeous bathroom with a bath and shower. The TV had plenty of channels and the WiFi was faster than our Broadband at home!!

By our second night the staff knew what we liked to drink (sparkling water with ice and cucumber for me, Tennents for my boyfriend) and knew which room we were in so that we didn't have to keep reminding them about our tab. We made full use of the drawing room with the log fire and played many a game of chess and cards in the evenings before dinner.

The staff were knowledgeable about the surrounding area and offered to book us a tee-time for the local golf-course and ring them to ask if we could borrow a bag-trolley. When we left, the lovely man on reception (I've unfortunately forgotten his name) went on the internet and printed out driving directions for us to get home with no fuss at all, and gave us two extra of the complimentary home-made biscuits as we had a long drive ahead of us.

Finally - I work as a marine ecologist and I'm so, so impressed by The Lovat's efforts to be green. They do a cracking job at no cost to the experience of staying with them. I cannot praise this place enough - any negative reviews should be dismissed; this place has to be the best hotel myself and my boyfriend have stayed in.

Room Tip: I emailed The Lovat immediately after booking to ensure we had a bath in our bathroom; they responde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted with some free hairdos [the hearts from Star Mix] in reception. Then, for some reason, we were checked-in at a makeshift reception which was a freestanding desk, despite there being an official reception next to it. The receptionist asked us whether or not any of us smoked [no], and then showed us to our rooms, which although adjacent in number were actually quite far apart.

We were greeted by various "freebies" including 330ml glass bottles of Highland Spring still and sparkling water, some shortbread, a copious amount of square paper and a lovely bag. The rooms were a decent size, they had televisions (one of them even had a television in the bathroom), Sky, and you can borrow a DVD player and DVDs for free from reception. The bathrooms were very big too.

Dinner was very good quality. Unfortunately we were unable to try the 5-course tasting menu which we had been looking forward to, as it turns out that this is not served on Mondays and Tuesdays, but the 3-course dinner which I enjoyed in the brasserie was very interesting and presented very nicely, and probably done in the same style as the tasting menu restaurant. I was amazed by the fact that the £23 steak was included on the "2 courses + half a bottle of wine for £20 deal"! I was very sad to only be dining there on one occasion, as I found that there were several gourmet options for each course which I wanted to try. Coffee and petit-fours was available after dinner, but we declined these as the very tired 8-year-old among us wanted to watch a film in bed, and given that one of us had to supervise her, only half of the family could have sampled this anyway.

The wow factor of the breakfast was the orange juice - freshly squeezed and unlimited! I have to have a good orange juice in the morning, and this was a bonus after having suffered cheap concentrated orange juice at the other hotels which I had recently visited. I was slightly disappointed that there were no pastries available at the breakfast, but they did have some interesting items such as banana chips, and hearty portions of smoked salmon were included. Their filter coffee was quite standard for a hotel breakfast, but I would have expected something slightly superior at this hotel. Perhaps I should have ordered a cappuccino!

When we sorted out the particulars, there were a few little problems, although these were easily corrected (they had not included the steak on the deal as promised, and they 14-year-old among us' soft drink despite him declining his half bottle of wine [for legal reasons, of course!]), and they gave us a bag of fresh cookies for free.

All in all I think that this is a very cosy little hotel, with gourmet food and friendly staff. I have every confidence that I will be returning again in the near future to try their 5-course tasting menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_and_gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeeGee1, Manager at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We pay close attention to all of our reviews as they allow us to see where we can make changes to improve our guest experience. You make a number of interesting points which we would like to respond to.

Firstly, to avoid confusion for any potential future guests reading this review, we would just like to point out that we offer “Haribo” sweets rather than a “hair-do” in reception!
With regards to reception, we are actually in the middle of refurbishing and renovating our reception area. Work won’t be completed until January and we do accept that in the meantime the set up is a little confusing.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the rooms and their extras as well as being able to enjoy dinner in the brasserie, taking advantage of our great £20.00 deal before 6:30pm. We would like to add that steak is not normally included in the meal deal so to avoid confusion we have decided to clearly print the terms of our offers on the menus. We had slight confusion over the number of people within your party eating on this deal, so us tightening up on staff training will also help us avoid any of the minor problems you then went on to encounter on check out with your invoice.

Our orange juice is squeezed freshly on site every day so it’s lovely to know that our efforts are appreciated! Regarding the pastries – we do offer fresh croissants every day and feel that we offer an extensive continental buffet breakfast with cappucinos etc available on request at an additional charge.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay at The Lovat. We are a small team who work hard to provide a high standard of service to our guests so it is lovely to be recognised as being “friendly”. We very much look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future and hopefully to our fine dining restaurant as well!

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Lovat on a short Highland break and were really impressed.
A lot of hotels in this part of the country are a bit tired and exude an air of faded grandeur. Not the Lovat. Even when we visited at the end of the season there was a sense of energy about the place.
We had a lovely meal in the Brasserie. Our room in the 'motel'(described as a studio) was on the small side, but was very modern and comfortable with a superb en suite wet room. The staff were helpful and courteous throughout and, a nice touch, gave us a cookie for our journey when we left
The Lovat isn't particularly cheap, but it is good.

Room Tip: Apparently there are great views from some rooms in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel many times over the past few years. It's a great base to explore the North West from and a very comfortable hotel to sit and relax in. Food is good and I've always found the staff helpful and attentive but not obtrusive.

Room Tip: If you're not going to be spending much time in your room, the chalets offer comfort and quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crieftan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 1 night DB&B and our whole experience was wonderful. A small error when booking over the phone was handled so well it turned into a positive experience, including a room upgrade. The room itself (in the main hotel) was very comfortable with a massive bed and a lovely view across the mountains. All of the staff were extremely warm and friendly and made us feel very special. Scottish breakfast in the Brasserie was a treat, comprising local ingredients cooked and served with care. However the star of the show was the dinner we had in the fine dining restaurant. The food was spectacular: a five course sampler menu with unexpected and amusing combinations, beautifully presented and tasting just wonderful. We have had the fortune to eat a couple of times in Michelin-starred restaurants and this experience was at least as good, if not better.

A big thanks to all the staff, especially the chef, for giving us such a great weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshire_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
389 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing